We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
250
55
17
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
55
17
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds empanadas slot cars ping pong air hockey sports theme hotel hostel communal kitchen game room downstairs lobby cafe individual lockers fun game room shuffle board sleeping arrangements free cookies fun place to stay dorm room
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 341 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Great place, especially for families. On site laundry (byo detergent and softener); full "community" kitchen, game room, free wifi, and all around neat atmosphere. Can't beat the value here! Staff was very helpful as well.

Only down sides: no on site parking, and we could hear every time the people next door dropped something on the floor or moved the desk chair (not annoying until after midnight--and only because we needed to wake up early).

Overall--really cool place with fantastic staff.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jennfier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

The building itself is a rustic brick structure that used to be the Borden plant. We checked in and got Room 109, right near the front desk and a fun gathering room, but with thin walls and people having fun at 2 a.m. startled us awake. (Had I been 30 years younger, I would've joined the revelers in the hall) For families and people my age who prefer a quiet life, avoid Room 109. We asked to be moved to a quieter room for the rest of our stay. They cheerfully accommodated us. Staff was young, friendly and professional. And to their credit, they had tried to corral the partiers down to the basement rec room.

Bunkbeds!!! Our 10-year-old loved his first experience in a top bunk! Comfy and solid!

Decor! Some excellent designer must have raided every estate sale and used sporting goods sales and architectural salvage to gather all the cool items attached to the walls and ceilings. I spent a few hours walking the halls enjoying all the items and art installations. Fun! Well done!

Games! We enjoyed rousing games of pingpong, foosball and air hockey. There are some classic games stored in cupboards in the dining room. We picked Monopoly. Sadly, the slot cars were not available. That was a bit of a disappointment. Gotta get that going by the time we return to Chicago because we intend to stay at Fieldhouse Jones again.

Kitchen! The kitchen/dining hall is large and well equipped. Just be ready if you leave leftovers or provisions in the community fridge that you do so at risk of someone partaking. Guests sometimes leave their dishes in the sink, too. But if you've ever had roommates, then you'll take these things in stride or find ways to work around it.

Convenient location! Close to the El and a nice walk to downtown and the lakeshore. We enjoyed eating more than once at Big and Little's just a block over. We meant to try several restaurants, but will get to that on the next trip. Whole Foods is a short walk away.

With a few minor rough spots, that I'm confident will be resolved soon, this is a fun place to stay! I want my family to stay there again!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms (opposite the el) on the 2nd floor away from the front were quieter than rooms on the 1st floor near the entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmmorris2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my two little ones and everyone loved it.
The place is very clean and organized. The staff is super friendly, always there to help.
They serve breakfast. Its simple but it's what you need.
There are games for the kids (foosball, air hockey, ping pong and stock cars)

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Alci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend. Friendly staff, clean establishment, and welcoming atmosphere. The beds were comfortable and roomy. The game room area was great and kitchen was very nice. Easy to get too and great location.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank Kbrovold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017

We chose this hotel based on its price at the time relative to its competition. The choices were dirty but normal or clean but smaller. It was definitely clean with a hip decor and the room was small as expected. What I didn't expect was how much not having any closet, dresser or desk and only one chair would be an inconvenience. Everything went on the floor in a closed-off hallway that led to another room because that was the only choice. The desk part would be easy to fix and fit in with their decor; just screw a hinged flat surface to the wall with a single hinged leg that would fold down into a writing surface and it would help a lot.

There were 4 doubles in the room and we stayed for 3 nights. But there was no housekeeping for the beds. They'd clean the floor and bathroom if you wanted, but that was it. I can sort of see this because it would be a waste to change 4 beds every day for 4 people, one the other hand, it's a housekeeping hotel so it didn't exactly appeal. Perhaps a compromise of every other day or every 3rd? We opted for no housekeeping since the floor was vinyl and there wasn't much to get dirty. Also, the toilet was a high-pressure affair thing that would wake the whole family if flushed in the night.

The other disappointment was breakfast--bagels, coffee, milk, frosted flakes, apples and packaged oatmeal. No juice, yogurt, waffles, eggs, whatever that comparable hotels at this price point offer. For those that enjoy self sufficiency, there were large, community refrigerators for the guests and a community kitchen, but the room was a little small for this size hotel and would get crowded so I couldn't see myself actually using this amenity. We opted for eating at a local diner.

It's located right next to the "L", but there was no annoying noise from that, at least if you're in an odd numbered room on the other side of the building. You can park under the L for extra per night if you want to and this worked well.

Room Tip: Go for the odd numbered rooms across the hall from the subway.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EricSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews