We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
Ranked #18 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Make sure you read up on this place as it can be misleading. on my arrival I was given a long list of things not to do and given the room key. A few facts, you cannot eat in your room, i know this is a hostel, but that is very draconian. the room i had was very basic, i wasn't expecting 4 stars but surely It should have been better. There was literally a bed and that is it, after looking @ the Kitchen I decided I didn't fancy it. My mood wasn't helped by having the room over the entrance and it got very loud at night. There was literally nothing to do. I would only stay here again if my stay was one night only. i suppose the location is fine, which is the only compliment i can give. There are better places in Chicago to stay.I'm sorry for negative review.

Room Tip: Ask for room not overlooking main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for a week in a private room with my boyfriend and it was ok. I hardly ever saw anyone else though, except for at breakfast. I dont think I would have been too happy if I was staying in a dorm on my own, just because there didnt seem to be any social activities or people to speak to. The kitchen was tiny, but that didnt bother us as we ate out - who wouldnt in Chicago! The breakfast was ample, considering you usually just get cereal and/or toast. The owner seemed a bit eccentric, but nice enough. It was close enough to the city and other transport too. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A great place if you are planning to run the Chocago Marathon. Many guest that weeken dare runners, the race runs in front of hte Hostel, so your team can cheer without going to far. The Hostel serves a decent breakfast. Only bad thing is hte very angry guy (may be the owner) keeping watch of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Be very careful when booking here. You cannot see what you are getting over the internet. The rooms are very shabby. If they would go to a few garage sales, they could update this place. The kitchen is ridiculous ...it's a joke. The tv did not work so that wasn't going to entertain me. When you reserve over the internet, they keep a part of the rate...once you get there and change your mind they will not refund your money. They would not let me see the room first. They like to blame everything on the computer. These people are not Americans. They are in fact parasites. Good luck to you if you read this and go there anyway. Oh my goodness. You will find out like I did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank periodontal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location is ok. It's close to the Blue Line and the Greyhound Station. It's 1 mile to walk downtown. The rooms are not well ventilated. It was warm an sticky in there. You have no cooking facilities - just a fridge, a microwave and a water boiler (no dishes, no water in the kitchen). I hade to change rooms, but both betts were dirty (there have been a lot of hairs in there before I used it). The water pressure in the shower is not very high. If you sit on a toilet, your knees touch the door, which couldn't been locked most of the time. For breakfast you get toast, pre-peeled eegs, 2 types of jam, bananas, cornflakes, tea, water and coffee. That's it. For $33 a night in a 8 bett dorm it''s ... not enough.

Room Tip: Don't book here except you have to take the Greyhound bus in the early morning (3am) like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rudisoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The lady at the reception named Cookie was helpful. She actually managed to reserve me a bed for 5 days when it was available only for 2 days.

Pros:

- Good location to visit sights and get to the metro station
- Friendly environment
- Staff is helpful
- Free wi-fi and breakfast provided
- No curfew
- Walmart and walgreens are very close if you need to get some cheap food


Cons:
- No air conditioning and windows are closed
- Not cheap. $35 per night including tax in a 8 bed room.
- No alcohol is allowed
- The stairs are too high to descend if you have a heavy luggage
- The old manager at cafeteria is rather rude, than polite to all visitors. He scares every visitor and I observed it during my 5 days stay. You need to change him.
- The men's shower is not always clean.
- No hostel spirit at all. Feels like a regular hotel
- Everyone is by themselves and you do not actually come across women to get to know them or just talk.
-Same type of breakfast every day.
- Our room did not get cleaned up at all.
- All staff are very old for a hostel, no nice looking female staff
- Disco bars and jazz bars are very far from this distance if you like a night life
- Wi-fi is slow

Overall, other than the price and the canteen man I have a good impression of this hostel. Recommend it. Almost all hostels I visited in Chicago offer similar or higher prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel with clean excellently priced rooms.Greek restaurant beside with great food also.Would highly recommend a stay here whilst in Chicago especially if on a budget.Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very nice place and close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OirishMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#141 of 192 in Chicago
675 reviews
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#120 of 192 in Chicago
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 60 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chicago Parthenon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chicago Parthenon Hostel

Address: 310 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60661-5406
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: $50 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chicago Parthenon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chicago Parthenon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Chicago Parthenon Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing