We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chicago Parthenon Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$475
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$275
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$211
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$239
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$604
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
30
79
42
18
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
79
42
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsbathrooms and showersamtrak stationbunk bedsblue lineminutes walkingdorm roomdecent breakfastlocation is greatplace to sleepfirst floorwould stay here againgreektowndowntownuicearplugslinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 186 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The only thing I would reccomend about this place is the location, but there also nicer hostels near by.

I almost canceled my booking when I was charged a deposit even though the mobile site said I wouldn't and got a less than stellar response from the lady at the desk.

Then they lost part of my reservation and I had to move on my third day.

I think the traveler who wants a quiet hostel would appreciate this place. Its dead at all times.

The common room is lacking and the only way to cook anything is via a microwave so people have to go out to eat.

I personally like the opprotunities to meet and mingle which is part of why I like hostels Tried moving ro the international hostel, but they were booked.

Will not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abirnbaumjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place gets 5 stars purely for value: it is significantly cheaper ($63 a night for a private room versus the Crowne Plaza 3 blocks away at $209 a night). Granted, it is NOT the Crowne Plaza - bathroom and showers are shared. But it's clean, safe, has hot showers, serviceable free wifi, and a really great location. It was intrinsically quiet - some of guests could make a racket, but quieted down when asked. I stayed here for a week for a conference at the CP and saved over $400. Free breakfast, too!

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the street & bar underneath. No elevator, though.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstronomerGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everyone saying this place is n a bad locale is lying. I don't know what the hell they're on about, this place is fine. Sure there's some crazies around but name a city that doesn't have them.
The place is clean and nice, and the staff are very helpful.
The only thing I have to say here - something that everyone one else seems to be missing - is the fact that there's no elevator in this building so fair warning, you're gonna be lugging your baggage up a lot of stairs even if you're on the first floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleech2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I slept in a room of 8 for two nights. The staff was friendly and they allowed me to check in earlier than 3pm. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and convenient. Location of the hostel is very good; it is safe area, quiet, and close to the Loop.

I can warmly recommend this hostel for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NooraH376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in a double room at the Parthenon Hostel in October 2008, room was very nice, and as we were on a budget, it was cheap and affordable.
We were greeted with a smile and a drink at the bar which was nice after a long journey.

It was a shame that the room next to us was occupied by a large group of chinese travellers who had no idea how much noise they were making and that there were other people in the hostel wanting to use the shower rooms... but i suppose we just had a bad experience with other residents.

The hostel was in a great loaction and the staff were very helpful with where to go for food and places to visit etc.

I'd reccomend a visit to Millenium Park and the Chicago River.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews