We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Elske

Elske
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 10/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #659 of 11,265 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West Side
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about this place is A+! The bartender makes the best drinks ever! And he will make you anything, on or off the menu! The greeters and servers are incredibly sweet and helpful, especially when selecting items from the menu that were new to us. From our experience, I am sure there is not anything that isn’t supura! This restaurant is a little out of the normal tourist area, but it is worth it to Uber it over!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019

Elske is truly a unique find in Chicago's fine dining scene. It serves Scandinavian-fusion cooking, inspired by the tastes of Sweden, Denmark and such, but with a light, Alice Waters inspired California spin. We ordered from the a la carte menu and enjoyed the six medium-sized plates that we were served. Elske doesn't shy away from serving more unusual fare such as duck hearts; they were absolutely delicious. Don't miss the Publican bread served with rich, slightly sour cultured butter....absolutely delicious. They even provide a Swedish wooden butter spreader with the course.

The service was also reminiscent of an Alice Waters restaurant such as Chez Panisse: attentive but relaxed and knowledgable. There were a few too many different waiters delivering the plates for my taste, but that's a minor complaint.

The setting is beautifully modern and reminded us of Southern Californian restaurants we've eaten in: elegant, light and open. There is a beautiful outdoor patio when the weather permits and the windows and doors were open and hidden on the night we dined there. Luckily the restaurant is located at the quiet end of Randolph Street in the West Loop, so there is very little traffic or noise.

Worth a visit and a return.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimSeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

Six friends visited on a beautiful August evening. The outdoor area is so charming...but not room for six people. However, restaurant sides were open, so we had a lovely semi-outdoor experience. Service and food were excellent. We shared several dishes - cheese & crackers, Publican bread were both fabulous. Belgian endives salad was outstanding. Also absolutely loved the grilled tuna, rigatoni with sweet corn, pork belly, soft shell crab and grilled wagyu. Save room for excellent desserts - sorbets, sunflower seed parfait and milk chocolate custard were so worth the calories. Come with several people so you can sample many dishes...it would be hard to choose only three or four.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IllinoisLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

Mid-week business dinner in upper level private dining room. Classy decor with great ambience. Understated, friendly and helpful waitstaff. The food was superb. Wonderful flavours - not too heavy - all beautifully balanced. Enjoyed some beautiful wine as well. Can highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank 99TedP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had an exceptional visit to Elske. It was a midweek early dinner outing right before Valentine’s Day to celebrate a birthday. We chose the prix fixe menu and wine pairing.

The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The wine pairing was memorable, and very thoughtfully put together.

We found the decor wonderfully minimalist and reminded of a restaurant one might find in Tokyo — slightly retro and elegantly understated.

As good as the food was, we enjoyed the service even more. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable, confident, and calm. I think at least six different servers came to our table to present food, wine, or water, and not once was there a single falter in the level of service.

A very special place. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank browns888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elske also viewed

 

Been to Elske? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing