We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Halsted St Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dawali Mediterranean Kitchen - CLOSED

Dawali Mediterranean Kitchen
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Greek, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Halsted St Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I live close to the 1625 N Halsted St location. Most of the restaurants in this area are overpriced due to the location near the Steppenwolf and Royal George Theaters (or maybe its the closeness to Alinea...) but this is the exception.

You can get a lentil soup and lamb shish kebab sandwich for sub-$10. I love that meal. The lamb meat is flavorful and the garlic sauce that comes on the side is always licked clean when no one's watching.

I've heard others like the bread pies here, but honestly I've never been a big fan, and I've ordered most of them. The cheese and lamb seemed a bit dry to me, and the spinach was only a little better for me.

I did really enjoy the Knafeh dessert, but its definitely made to share. Made with haloumi, filo, carrots and syrup it was delicious.

It is BYO

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a groupon and decided to go here, parking is a pain in this area, so public transport is the way to go. It has a decent interior space with high ceilings. As we started ordering food, we realized how delicious it was. Everything was extremely fresh and really tasty. Seriously one of the best Mediterranean foods I have tasted in a long time.
The staff is nice, the owner was nice enough to walk around and ask. people if things were fine. Overall a really good experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lincoln park getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Due to restaurants.com this is what lead us to this ethnic eatery.
What a treat it was. A good neighborhood joint.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aimee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful experience eating at Dawali.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a wonderful experience eating at Dawali. Even though it is located in a strip mall and not full of atmosphere, there is plenty of natural light and it is clean and the staff is very attentive. One server had the entire place and she did an excellent job serving approximately six tables.
We are lovers of Mediterranean food and Dawali didn't disappoint. The lentil soup was outstanding, smooth and packed with flavor. The fattoush salad was a generous amount, fresh and very tasty. We both ordered the falafel sandwiches which were huge. The whole pita was filled with plenty of falafel and veggies. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the "yougarty" bland dressing that went with the sandwich but it wasn't bad enough to ruin the experience.
The prices were fabulous--two ate for under $20 plus tip. We will definitely eat there again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Tasty Food at ridiculously low prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Initially apprehensive about eating at this joint due to the location, we couldnt resist after the number of times we heard about the place. When we got there we were a little worried about the poor quality of the decor and it being in a strip mall.. but we went ahead and ordered a couple of starters and sandwiches..

The owner was on hand and came over and spoke with us. He let us customize one of our sandwiches. When the food came out it was AMAZING. We were expecting good food but it surpassed our high expectations. Falafels like I had eaten in Israel and Turkey on my last visit. The salads were fresh and hummus was clearly homemade. Hot Pita's and the sandwiches were very very good too. All in all a quality meal. One of the best middle eastern meals i have eaten in chicago without a doubt.

And no one had told us about the prices. This place is cheap... We spent under $25 for the both of us and stuffed ourselves. How this place makes money is beyond me.

Do not expect a good decor or well done interiors. This place is a hole in the wall. They have a location on Halsted too which is a lot more 'classy' in terms of decor. It is a little pricier (like a dollar more per dish so maybe $5 total) but still cheap and great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickiS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawali Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing