We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Architectural City Break”
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Loop Hotel
Ranked #102 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I chose this hotel on the basis of TripAdviser comments and was not disappointed. It was close to the Quincy and Adams stops on the Orange line from Midway airport (about half an hour's ride). The hotel is located in the business rather than the tourist area but, importantly, in close proximity to the Chicago Architectural Foundation office where many of their tours start and where there is a large 3D model of the city, 20 minutes walk from the dock where their boat leaves for the river/lake architectural cruise, close to the Sears Tower (so I could easily get there early to avoid the queues; the hotel gives a discount on tickets), the Art Institute, Grant (great free outdoor concerts) and Millennium Parks, and near many of the original "skyscrapers". I felt safe in the neighbourhood although there were limited dinner opportunities appropriate for a single person. However, I found a few lighter options amongst the bangers and mash and steak pie on the menu at The Elephant and Castle on the ground floor.
Complimentary wi-fi was great. The only disappointment was that even though I'd requested a room on a high level, I was on the 5th floor and the bottom half of the window was frosted due to the close proximity of neighbouring buildings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurza_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to a wedding. We had stayed in the Club Quarters in NYC, so we knew basically what to expect. Unfortunately due to flight delays, we didn't arrive at the hotel until 4AM (and only ended up spending about 6 hours in the hotel total) There was a friendly staff member there to help us check in. Nice comfortable room, very clean. Yes, the rooms aren't huge, but do you really need that when you're visiting a city? There was a water machine in the hallway, as well as a closet with extra pillows, blankets, coffee, etc. Great value! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauracg524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Friendly staff, helpful with directions. Average rooms. Nice workout area and lounge. Difficulty sleeping due to tapping on wall and spraying sound. convenient checkout. Some difficulty printing boarding passes. Computers were slow during designated time and no one on computers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while I attended a conference. The room was a bit snug, but considering we spent most of our waking time out and about, it was just fine. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. You can't beat the location--walking distance to so many sights like Willis Tower, Art Institute, Grant Park, and more. Two stops of the Orange Line are within a moment's walk. The chilled water stations in the hotel are very handy.

On our checkout day, our flight wasn't until late afternoon. The front desk was wonderful in holding our luggage after check out so we could go explore a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On our North America tour we decided to stop by at Chicago. The city was just gorgeous; it was my first time visiting Chicago. We stayed at Central Loop Hotel which was a great location choice because it was in Downtown Chicago. The space might be tight a family stay or even a couple but great for business travel or by yourself. The check-in and check-out procedures were efficient. The subway station (metro) is steps away from Central Loop Hotel. You might be able to find a better hotel for the price of this but I don’t think it will be in Downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrtie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We liked this hotel very much. The room wasn't huge, but we weren't in it too much. We liked the 12 noon check out time, and the restaurant/bar downstairs was great. I would recommend using their valet parking if you are driving because it is only a little more expensive than the deal with the garage they have, and the garage is not an in and out service whereas the valet parking is. The staff at this hotel was so helpful and friendly, giving us directions to places and recommending places to eat. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The Club Quarters Central Loop is nicely located in the heart of downtown Chicago. Located off of Adams street it's only a 3 block walk to millennium park and grant park as well. The location is key for me. The parking garage is also 3 blocks away if you choose to not do valet which is $35. A little let down when you have to walk with all your luggage. The hotel itself is rather nice with a friendly and helpful front desk staff. The Elephant & Castle bar attached to the hotel is convenient for a drink and good food. The rooms are nice but a tad bit small. Overall very clean and affordable hotel for the money with a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Photofox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 191 in Chicago
1,152 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#143 of 191 in Chicago
2,074 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Loop Hotel

Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Loop Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of "the Loop," the contemporary Central Loop Hotel is steps from all of Chicago's major business and cultural destinations such as Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Grant Park, the State Street shopping district and the Art Institute of Chicago. Tailored for seamless business trips and leisure travel alike, the Central Loop Hotel provides an array of thoughtful amenities, including free, fast WiFi throughout all areas of the hotel, free chilled, purified bottled water, an inviting Living Room/lounge area for relaxing, socializing, and working with work stations and wireless printing capabilities. Well-appointed guest rooms and suites are outfitted with premium bedding, multipurpose workspaces, LCD TVs, and convenient recharging outlets and USB ports at bedside and desk. We proudly offer the comfort and class expected by the most discerning business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Central Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing