We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but beware of the bums lurking on street corners”
Review of Central Loop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Loop Hotel
Ranked #92 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok but beware of the bums lurking on street corners”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Location - easy to get to from O'Hare Airport. Just take the Blue line on the CTA system which will take about 35minutes and cost $2.25. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the subway exit. However, be prepared to be greeted by a bum standing on most street corners begging for money.

Amenities - Starbuck's next door, 7-Eleven across the road, McDonalds 2 minutes walk away. There's also a few cafe's and restaurants located nearby. There's a couple of Walgreens close by as well.

Checkin - very fast. They use an automated system which you insert you credit card into which finds your booking. It only takes 2 minutes and you are issued with a card key.

Room - I had a small Queen room. It was reasonably clean apart from some of the staining on the walls (coffee spils / scuff marks) but the main things you look for, i.e. clean bedding and bathroom, were to a sufficient standard. There's a coffee maker and a folder of restaurant menus. Flat panel LG TV. Aircon controls on the wall. Free wi-fi internet that works well.

Facilities - bottled, purified tap water available by the lifts. Free self-service laundry room on the 3rd floor including free detergent. There's also a small gym with running machines, steppers and some freeweights. I think it is temporarly located on the 3rd floor.

Overall I cant really complain for $95 a night considering the location. Just dont expect any frills.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3rd floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevieG489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    260
    67
    9
    16
See reviews for
67
192
88
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just checked in and so far i would say it is the worst room i have ever stayed in. The room spells like vomit and too much cleaning product to try and cover it. The hotel is booked out with no available rooms to change to. Hopefully after this repulsive night they will be able to change our room. But so far i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ambaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

My husband and I planned a weekend in Chicago and were looking for a hotel that was centrally-located for all the sites and museums we wanted to see. As the name implies, it is right in the middle of the "L" loop; and subway lines are very close. Grant Park is just several blocks West and Willis Tower is just a couple blocks to the East. They call this a "boutique hotel" and that is a great classification. The room was on the smaller side, as well as the bathroom, but it's perfect for either a businessman or a couple. All we wanted was a place to collapse after our days of walking and touring the city. It was SO CLEAN, and has a very MODERN design. My husband loved the nice flat screen TV and free wireless internet connection. It's just the best value we could have hoped to find!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmaB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Good value, clean, very helpfull staff, good location, good restaurant, stayed for our anniversary and would stay again.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJoe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed here with my husband in March 2011. He was working in the states and i was travelling to meet him for a weekend away are we wanted a base which would be quiet enough to enjoy but close enough to everything to be convenient and this ticked both boxes.

The room was a good size and very clean. We faced over the back courtyard so it was very quiet. The only slight complaint is that, whilst they provide tea and coffee facilities in the room it was lacking a couple of things - teaspoons for example! An only enough to make one of each. Other than that it was fine, very comfortable and secure as everything needed key card access.

Close enough to walk most places and also need the El so had lots of options. The only thing this part of town lacks is decent places to eat! Would definitely recommend if you want a central location without the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

The staff at this hotel can not be beaten. Their advice was excellent, but mostly they were so friendly.

The room was a bit small, and had no fridge but that was it.

The location was great, and the hotel was in great condition.

The staff make this hotel exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSet-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Great service, everyone was extremely friendly!! The room was perfect for two people. It was very clean and it served its purpose (bed and bathroom)
The location was great. It was in a quiet corner and close to everything!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLopez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Loop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Loop Hotel

Property: Central Loop Hotel
Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Loop Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of "the Loop," the contemporary Central Loop Hotel is steps from all of Chicago's major business and cultural destinations such as Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Grant Park, the State Street shopping district and the Art Institute of Chicago. Tailored for seamless business trips and leisure travel alike, the Central Loop Hotel provides an array of thoughtful amenities, including free, fast WiFi throughout all areas of the hotel, free chilled, purified bottled water, an inviting Living Room/lounge area for relaxing, socializing, and working with work stations and wireless printing capabilities. Well-appointed guest rooms and suites are outfitted with premium bedding, multipurpose workspaces, LCD TVs, and convenient recharging outlets and USB ports at bedside and desk. We proudly offer the comfort and class expected by the most discerning business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Loop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing