We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy chicago dog” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #57 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy chicago dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was a perfect place to grab lunch. The Chicago dog was awesome. The service was great. The line moved quickly. What more do you need in a hot dog place. Go! You'll be glad.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelCMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,475
    1,345
    383
    70
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Chicago style hotdog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I loved going to Portillos when I was visiting my hometown and I make a trip to Chicago. The atmosphere of the restaurants are all different depending on which ones that you visit. The Chicago style hotdog is fantastic and they have crinkle cut fries which brings back memories of grade school lunches. I no longer have to dream about the next time I can go to Portillos in Chicago however because they built 2 in Phoenix AZ where I currently live.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must Have ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Portillos Hot Dogs is a must have every time I visit the Chicago area. The only problem is that I can't decide on the Hot Dog or the Italian Beef sandwich so I usually have to eat there twice on every trip.

Helpful?
Thank ARbusinesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Dog & Beef Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Portillos was an experience in itself. It is a little confusing with 2 restaurants in one and a little like a cafeteria style line. I do not know how they keep the orders straight. It is reasonably priced. The beef sandwiches are excellent. The Chicago dog was good you must get one here while in Chicago.
It took us 30 minutes to find a table but we found a table and got our food about the same time, so it worked out perfect. We would go back again and again while in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stop while in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stopped by Portillo's for Italian Beefs to go. Before going, we checked out the online menu and thought we had prepared well to order. However, the ordering process was still a bit confusing but the staff was very helpful and quick.

The interior had an interesting appearance similar to a food court. There were different windows for ordering different types of food (Beef, Salads, Drinks, etc.) and a lot of tables to choose once you placed and received your order.

The food was amazing and far exceeded my expectations. I am really glad we stopped here before leaving Chicago and hope to be back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dxtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing