We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Neighborhood Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portillo's

Portillo's
Ranked #57 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Description: Home to America's favorite Chicago-style hot dogs, Italian beef, burgers, salads, and chocolate cake.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love how they cook the food, they grilled polishes and hamburger on a big grill, thier french fries are delicous, also I loved the fact it is right in my neighborhood.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,475
    1,345
    383
    70
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Within 2 hours of being in Chicago I went to Portillos. First I had the original hot dog with all the trimmings. I actually like it better than I thought I would. Then I knew I had to get the Italian Beef I've heard so much about. It was a pretty good, messy sandwich.

I love the ambience in there & liked how the worker made a jingle with every order number called out. Quick service too & plenty of seating even though they were busy. I would definitely go again!

Helpful?
Thank davehead75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classic Chicago Hot Dog Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Each choice I have ever chosen, I've never been disappointed. I try something different almost every time. And depending on if you get a "veteran" crew, they will be yelling and hollering for fun calling out customers names for orders.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jabrjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home style with flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We go here every year with a large group of family members just before new year's day. I understand that they have a number of locations. We go the location near Barrington IL. This is an incredibly interesting place to me. You have an assortment of 50's memorabilia and decor. The menu consists of a blend of american fast food items and italian. This isn't gourmet food, but it is all fresh, clean and delicious. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely reccomend this for any family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaviorPeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Required of any proper Chicago Trip - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were at Willis Tower(fantastic) and I did a good search from our location for Chicago Hot Dog. Portillo's was first on the list, so we went. It was January 1st, 2013. Portillos should be a mecca for anyone looking to experience a great chicago hot dog or ribs. We were greeted at the front of the line by a man who wrote the order on our bag. We took the bag to the registers, paid, and they filled our order in the same bag. We picked it up at the window when they called our number - Extremely efficient! The hot dog was delicious - i'm craving one now - just writing about it! we got 2 hotdogs, a large fry, and a large coke, and it only cost us $9.00. Fantastic! We wished that we had eaten there for our New Years Eve dinner, instead of going to a fancy restaurant near Millenium Park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portillo's also viewed

 

Been to Portillo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing