We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”
Review of The Bristol

The Bristol
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bristol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #423 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Cross street: Damen & Webster
Description: The Bristol is an American restaurant located in Chicago's Bucktown Neighborhood. The Bristol has become a staple for Chicago's local dining crowd, off-duty chefs, and visiting gastronomes looking for a great dinner or Sunday brunch. The menu features handmade pasta, charcuterie, farm-fresh produce, and a nose-to-tail approach to cooking. Beverages include handmade cocktails, a wine list featuring over two hundred producers, and beers from around the world. The Bristol's second floor features a spacious private room built for any number of events, from business dinners to wedding receptions. Your experience at The Bristol will be met with a smile, warmed with hospitality, and filled with great food and drink.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

From the moment you walk in, this restaurant is a joy. Staff is warm and friendly. Food is outstanding -- farm to table. Very creative and delicious. Worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arthshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    43
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st Trip Brunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Found The Bristol online and put it on the list. Finally had the opportunity to try brunch. Lesson learned: Do not wait for the opportunity; go there, go there now. Greeted before we could open the door. Correction, not greeted -welcomed. The host slipped us into a table for two w/o reservations. (Given the makeup of other tables, it was our luck to be a party of only two; the larger tables were packed, ans it was apparent that this is a place to meet for many in the area. Our server was warm and friendly (not cloying, not smarmy, genuinely warm and helpful). The food: My wife usually finds eggs more appealing in theory than in practice, but she tried the Benedict and loved it. I had the hangover breakfast; the best noodle bowl I've had since over a year ago at Momofuku. Next visit, dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russ r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Outstanding Service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everything about our visit to the Bristol during our trip to Chicago was excellent. Though not predictable we would recommend this place to anyone who wants an artistic meal with impeccable reception.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tremendous place!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our experience at the Bristol was terriffic. We visited Chicago a week ago for a business conference and took a colleague out with us. The Bristol is only a short cab ride from downtown. We had to wait a small while for our table, but the staff was considerate and brought us drinks and appetizers. They eventually sat us at a window table and gave us 2 free appetizers as compensation for the long wait time. We had the chicken and the ravioli, both which were out of this world. The bill ended up being basically free because the staff still felt bad about our wait. Obviously this was a unique experience, but it ended up being our favorite place we ate in Chicago. (We are major foodies from Santa Fe NM). Would highly recommend for a social outing. The venue is too loud for intimacy, but the tables at the periphery would be acceptable for a quieter gathering.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had a wonderful Sunday brunch! Very much enjoyed the cinnamon & sugar doughnuts with apple butter and the scones that are served with Devonshire cream. My husband loved the shrimp and grits with a poached egg. Fun place with great food and service

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jewell968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bristol also viewed

 
 

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing