We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roscoe Village Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Extended family trip to Chicago to do a little sight-seeing and baseball. This property was clean and well-kept. There's not really any outdoor space to sit and enjoy the cool mornings, but there are some coffee shops nearby with outdoor patios. We were at the West Roscoe location and within a short distance of Riverview Tavern, Four Moon Tavern, Robey's Pizza Company, Kitsch'n, and Orange. We enjoyed all the restaurants very much and esp. Robey's. Paulina Station is within a few short blocks and from there you have easy access to the whole city.

We were not able to connect to the internet, but there's was a Starbucks down the street (where isn't there a Starbucks?) and we quickly ran down there when we needed to get online.

All in all, it was a lovely time and this property is just as advertised. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MichelleKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed at the condo/apartment on Altgeld Street in Lincoln Park. The location was excellent. Just a short 2 blocks away from the "El" to take us into downtown Chicago. The condo was amazing. Everything was done in great taste, modern decor and everything upgraded, fresh and new. All the conveniences of home. Beds were extremely comfortable and all had down comforters on them. The condo was within walking distance to small theatre and great stuffed pizza place. Plenty of shopping and things to do in Lincoln Park area. It was great to park our van without the additional expense of hotel parking and having all that space is just so much better than being crammed in a hotel. No problem accessing internet. Condo owner was easy to communicate with and extremely nice. You would not be disappointed staying here. We also posted a review on VRBO.com.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifeisgoodpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The apartment we stayed at was on the third floor, up two narrow and winding flights of stairs. The space was beautiful as was the kitchen and furnishings. Street parking was very easy and it is within walking distance of shops and dining. But, the shower was too small to even turn around in, the bath did not drain and it was lacking the little touches that would elevate this apartment to excellent. There are probably better values to be had.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank wadsworth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We loved staying at this home! We were supposed to stay in another place just south of downtown but it was flooded out from heavy rains the day we were supposed to check in. In a panic, we tried to find a place that would accommodate the 5 of us immediately. I called Joe and he was so helpful to get us in quickly. It had more than enough room for us...the kids were thrilled to get their own bedrooms which never happens. Roscoe Village is a really cool area to stay, I would definitely stay here again! Great shops and restaurants along the street, but still has the quiet residential feel. It's only 15 minutes max drive to downtown. We are now happy our original place was flooded because our stay in Roscoe Village was much more enjoyable and we will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Chicago. Thanks to Joe and Dave for all your help!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriBale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at Roscoe Village on probably one of the busiest summer weekends in Chicage: July 4th. The Cubs were in town as well and it was the first day the weather hit over 90 degrees. Nonetheless, the location was perfect. We didn't have to deal with a lot of crowds or parking issues. We chose to use the parking garage behind the unit ($10/day) because we just didn't want to deal with finding a place on the street with two small kids and all of the things we had to lug around for them. But, street parking seemed like a good option. We stayed in the 2 bedroom guesthouse with two small children (a 1 year old and 3 year old). The bedrooms were spacious and there were two seperate baths. The kitchen/livingroom/dining room area was nice and open and very well-appointed--plenty of room for the kids to run around, all of the appliances we would need to cook and entertain there. There was a nice little backyard with a patio that we didn't use, but would be good for just to hanging out, grilling some food and have a drink. The location was great. The neighborhood was very safe and perfect for any type of group that is visiting (families, singles, couples, young and old). We walked all over Roscoe Village which has a lot of unique shops and restaurants. We had perhaps the best Italian at Piazza Bella since our trip to Italy (a little place just a few steps from the condo--food and service was great--an upscale atmosphere that was very kid-friendly). There is a great park nearby for the kids and places to walk to if you need groceries or conveniences (Whole Foods, Walgreens). We didn't use the public transit system, but a stop is close by within walking distance. We drove into downtown which only took about 15 minutes as well as the Lincoln Park Zoo and Beach. We spent most our evenings in Roscoe Village. Dave and Joe were friendly and excellent to deal with.
We would definitely stay here again. My extended family and I are already planning a trip to Chicago in the future and renting the 3 bedroom unit.
The amenities, service and cleanliness were outstanding. We arrived a bit early when they were still cleaning and they didn't mind having us hang out until we were done. We too had a bit of trouble trying to ge tthe TV to work, but figured out everything was in the closet and needed to be turned on.

The restaurants in the area were great, many with outdoor seating. Some were closed on Sunday either because it was a holiday or because it isn't part of their regular hours. There were plenty more we wanted to try but we the ones we did we highly recommend: Piazza Bella (just a few steps away, great food and service), John's Place (just on the corner on rRscoe--great food, huge portions), Wishbone (a few blocks, next to Whole Foods--very kid friendly with excellent breakfast). Tehre were also plenty of pubs and taverns within walking distance as well as a few wine and tapas places.

Overall, I would highly recommend Rocoe Village Guesthouse as a great place to stay. Thanks Dave for making our first official "family vacation" a memorable one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrealw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We recently completed an long weekend stay a Roscoe Village Guesthouse condo. We traveled from California to watch the Angels play the Cubs. The accommodations were excellent and well located. The neighborhood was very nice. Everything in the unit was as promised. We rented a 4-bedroom condo that was sparkling clean and well furnished. We had all the comforts of home. Everyone had a great time, including my teenage boys (not the easiest to please). The service we received from the management was curteous, prompt and efficient. I would highly recommend Roscoe Village Guesthome. I would not hesitate to rent from them again when we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAAngelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the lovely Roscoe Village guesthouse. Service was excellent, townhouse suite was nicely appointed. We had trouble with all of the media in both suites that we stayed in though--neither the PC user or the MAC user in our group could connect to the internet and it took awhile to figure out the t.v. system. So, if this is important to you you might want to inquire with the owners about usage/connectivity.
Roscoe Village is great! Great restaurants (Italian, upscale bar food, vegetarian breakfast/brunch place) and walking distance to Whole Foods and Safeway (I think) which was super. Great neighborhood for a morning run, and two blocks from a nice kids park.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewaneeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 192 in Chicago
537 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
968 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#73 of 192 in Chicago
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe Village Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe Village Guesthouse

Address: 2104 W Roscoe St, Chicago, IL 60618-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Roscoe Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: $190 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roscoe Village Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roscoe Village Guesthouse is a new contemporary urban inn, tastefully decorated and located in one of Chicago’s most desirable neighborhoods, Roscoe Village. The area derives its distinctive character from charming boutiques and popular restaurants and bars. Only 4.5 blocks from the “El” that will take you downtown to all attractions 10-20 min. The Guesthouse has six suites, either 2 or 3 bedrooms with 2 baths, full kitchen, fireplace, stainless steel appliances, and granite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roscoe Village Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe Village Guesthouse Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing