We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Ronny's Original Chicago Steakhouse
Ranked #686 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Pelham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ten of us (all guys) went for breakfast. Great start to our trip to Chicago. I had a T-bone meal for under 10 bucks, it was a thin steak, but good baked potato and salad. They charge extra for sour cream. They had several good deals by the looks of it. The other guys like the Polish sausage or egg topped steak. Generous servings. I saw a lot of locals chowing down on big meals in the morning. Love the fresh pink lemonade they push at the cash register - get one! Atmosphere is bad - 70's style decor is amusing. A little bit of a dive but not quite seedy. It's all about the value. Real food for rock bottom prices. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philipengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    59
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, mi
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
797 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“My favorite "Cheap Eats" in downtown Chicago”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located at the Blue Line Clark subway station, Ronny's is a great place to eat when you arrive in Downtown Chicago from the O'Hare Blue-Line train. The prices are low, and the food is huge and tasty. My wife and I always eat here whenever we visit downtown Chicago. This restaurant is located in the South East corner of the State of Illinois building, (the exact center of Chicago). The elevated 'L' train goes by, right outside the East side of this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Think MCL Cafeteria in a New York Deli style Setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Go to Ronny's for lunch or an early dinner if you want ribs or just some decent stick to your ribs urban food, that's not "too" urban. This place should not really bill itself as a Steakhouse.
Its menu consists of rib / rib-tip specials, BBQ chicken, smothered pork chops, etc. Sides include corn on the cob, mac-n-cheese (the good kind, baked) and mashed potatoes as well as a few others.

I think the restaurant is black-owned and the clientele is generally urban and ranges a good part of Chicago's socio-economic scale. The location is surprising (good) for its menu, which I think helps it. Speaking of location, the ACTUAL ADDRESS is 160 W. Lake Street, NOT 100 W. Randolph. We had to call there after we had gone too far west on Randolph. The restaurant's website even shows the wrong address.

My wife and I ordered the rib special, which included a "T-bone", and split it ($18.99). I had to get the mac-n-cheese on the side (quite good, ever-so-slight kick). With (soft) drinks, we were under $30. (They do serve liquor.)

When we ordered our meal, the cook asked us how we wanted the steak, "medium", "rare" or "well done". When it was plated (2 minutes later), it looked kind of gray and pretty thin. It was "shaped" like a T-bone, but that's as far as that resemblance went. Think Denny's. I actually had two other thoughts. One from a radio spot with (deceased) Duane Gay from Milwaukee on the Bob and Brian show talking about Duane's tenure as a short order cook at Highland's Cheese Food. The other was from the movie, "My Cousin Vinny" when Vinny & Lisa arrived at the local restaurant and, after looking over the menu, Vinny asked Lisa "breakfast?" (The menu had three items - "breakfast", "lunch" and "dinner".)

Okay, all kidding aside (although those thoughts did come to mind), this is a good spot to get off your feet and take a break from shopping, especially at an off time, like after 1pm. Get there before 3 to get the $7.99 lunch special. The restaurant was clean and the service was competent and friendly, even at a higher cafeteria-style pace. (They seemed accustomed to moving people through lines fast.) The clientele and staff was more diverse than you typically see in a Central Business District, Chicago restaurant, which gives you a better feel for the "real" Chicago, well away from Michigan Ave.

If you like ribs and kind of heavier "stick to your ribs" urban fare, you can dine here more frequently without going broke. Otherwise, you will probably find that once or twice is enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urbane_Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a deal!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

You had to roll me out of this place. $18.99 for a T-BONE, half slab of ribs, GIANT baked potato, salad and garlic bread. This place was great, come in, order and watch them cook it for you on the spot. Ronny's has character and I will be back! They have a variety of so much I am sure breakfast would have been great as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical diner / deli”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Tried this diner-style deli for dinner, which is not its normal crowd, as it caters more to the lunch folks. After ordering at the counter, you seat yourself. Food was pretty typical. Corned beef on rye was on the smallish side, but acceptable. Generic fries. Wife had steak burrito and was very please with the grilled peppers. The place is sort of grungy, a la well-used diner, but seems safe enough.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronny's Original Chicago Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ronny's Original Chicago Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing