We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want from a hotel stay.”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Montgomery, Illinois
1 review
“Everything you could want from a hotel stay.”
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had a great time in Chicago, and the hotel stay just made the whole trip a huge success. The service was great, the rooms were very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepermint28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    617
    333
    143
    119
See reviews for
230
600
164
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

If I paid the going rate, which was $125 a night, when we stayed at the Felix on December 26th, I would have be disappointed. Instead, we used Priceline's "Name your own Price" feature and got the room for $56 a night, which made the tight confines easier to swallow.

We were in room 1006, a King bedded room.

Pros:
comfortable bed
nice bath products
Whole Foods down the street
Free, fast internet
Great TV

Cons:
ROOMS THE SIZE OF A STAMP. I warned my husband to be careful when walking around the bed, which was a tight squeeze, because it was easy to bang your shin. He banged his shin four times, and it isn't because he is a slow learner. It is because you just don't EXPECT a two inch clearance when you move around in a room.

NOISY HEATING UNIT. We ended up turning it off because of the sound of vibrating metal when the unit ran. The room stayed nicely warm with the unit off.

IF SOMEONE IS AT THE DESK, the other person has to climb over them in order to get past them.

The walk to the el station (Red line) was about five blocks, which is fine in nice weather and LONG when it is freezing and blowing. We prefer to stay closer to Michigan Ave.

If we were paying full fare, this would NOT be our choice. For the same price, you can get a bigger room in a better location.

When we are waiting to see if our 'bid' will be accepted via Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" feature, we usually chant "Not the Felix! Not the Felix! Please, not the Felix!" This time - it was.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandwich, il
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I went to Chicago for concert with a bunch of friends and Hotel Felix was in the best location to our venue.plus so many food options.great time had by our whole bunch!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemons95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

In Chicago for a short business trip (3 days). We were able to book this hotel at a reasonable price through Priceline. Felt right at home and comfortable in this hotel. Rooms are on the small side, but not too cramped. The restuarant next door and onsite lounge were very convenient after a busy work day. Would definitely recommend for a short stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poinsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I got this room through Priceline ($65/night) thinking I was getting a 5 star hotel. While this hotel is nice, it is definitely not a 5 star quality hotel. I was ready for a small room, but the room is REALLY small. We had a room with a queen bed and there is barely enough room to walk around the bed with our bags shoved up against the outside wall. We were in room 1109. From the end of the bed to the wall is 2'. From the side of the bed closest to the window, where there is a small desk, there is 3'. From the side of the bed interior, there is 2' and a small bed table. I hope that gives you an idea of the size of the room. I am a frequent European traveler and I am used to small hotel rooms, but this room is smaller than I anticipated. The TV is awesome.
The room and bathroom are very clean and there is great quality linens on the bed.
The staff have been very nice and helpful. I asked if they had a brochure for the Museum of Science and Industry and they told me that they don't have brochures. This seems odd to me, but since this is a very 'green' hotel, I understand.
Wifi is free and fast. Hotel is in a fantastic area!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leastewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2010

this hotel was perfect for the price. I went with a group of 6 and it was modern and what a great location. The staff was very nice also

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonstark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We picked this hotel as a romantic holiday getaway. As soon as you walk in, you can feel the warmth of the fireplace and were greeted by a nice staff. Hotel Valet is 42.00 but if you park your car yourself in the lot across the street its 32.00. It was a good tip given to us by the bell hop. We used the fitness center which is extremely up to date with all new equipment, tvs attached to each machine. We even paid a visit to Asha Salon which is onsite. The entire hotel was redone so everything is brand new and beautiful. Do not expect the largest spaces in the world, but they did a great job of keeping the decor minimal but modern. The location was extremely close to shopping (state street) and to the Daley center for us to be able to visit the Christkindlmarket and check out the giant christmas tree. We ate dinner at Elate restaurant which is next door to the hotel. You do not have to walk outside of the hotel for it. The menu is not the largest in selection, but what we ordered was very tasty. It was a beautiful stay for my husband and I.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meems07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#57 of 190 in Chicago
3,547 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing