We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice. Rooms are small, but very nice and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #118 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice. Rooms are small, but very nice and clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

I got this room through Priceline ($65/night) thinking I was getting a 5 star hotel. While this hotel is nice, it is definitely not a 5 star quality hotel. I was ready for a small room, but the room is REALLY small. We had a room with a queen bed and there is barely enough room to walk around the bed with our bags shoved up against the outside wall. We were in room 1109. From the end of the bed to the wall is 2'. From the side of the bed closest to the window, where there is a small desk, there is 3'. From the side of the bed interior, there is 2' and a small bed table. I hope that gives you an idea of the size of the room. I am a frequent European traveler and I am used to small hotel rooms, but this room is smaller than I anticipated. The TV is awesome.
The room and bathroom are very clean and there is great quality linens on the bed.
The staff have been very nice and helpful. I asked if they had a brochure for the Museum of Science and Industry and they told me that they don't have brochures. This seems odd to me, but since this is a very 'green' hotel, I understand.
Wifi is free and fast. Hotel is in a fantastic area!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leastewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    596
    326
    143
    119
See reviews for
225
591
159
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

this hotel was perfect for the price. I went with a group of 6 and it was modern and what a great location. The staff was very nice also

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonstark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We picked this hotel as a romantic holiday getaway. As soon as you walk in, you can feel the warmth of the fireplace and were greeted by a nice staff. Hotel Valet is 42.00 but if you park your car yourself in the lot across the street its 32.00. It was a good tip given to us by the bell hop. We used the fitness center which is extremely up to date with all new equipment, tvs attached to each machine. We even paid a visit to Asha Salon which is onsite. The entire hotel was redone so everything is brand new and beautiful. Do not expect the largest spaces in the world, but they did a great job of keeping the decor minimal but modern. The location was extremely close to shopping (state street) and to the Daley center for us to be able to visit the Christkindlmarket and check out the giant christmas tree. We ate dinner at Elate restaurant which is next door to the hotel. You do not have to walk outside of the hotel for it. The menu is not the largest in selection, but what we ordered was very tasty. It was a beautiful stay for my husband and I.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meems07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We went to the city to see a concert and hotel Felix was in prime location!The staff was great loved the decor.Plus the bed was like sleeping at home. Best hotel bed EVER!! Super soft and cozy plus clean!!! great job hotel felix

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heckler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed here with my wife in October 2010 for 1 night. We got the room from priceline for $75 a night. What a great hotel! The rooms are small but let's be honest, it is located in the heart of the city. I've stayed at the hotel felix, inn of chicago, and best western river north and all 3 have tiny rooms! Hotel Felix has a leg up on the other 2 because of the great beds! Just booked another trip to Chicago and will be staying at hotel felix. Got 4 nights for $60 a night!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrb953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I thought it was great! The decor is very modern, the rooms were clean with comfy beds and large walk-in showers and the staff was friendly. They had free internet in-room and we used the business center to print boarding passes before we left. The location was just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue, with great bus routes closeby, plus there are some good restaurants right around the block. No, the rooms aren't huge but our Queen room had plenty of space for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Very hip, cool decor, great shower, quality furnishings, cool lobby, very friendly front desk staff, close to River North action.

Only the room size was an issue, but the rooms are actually very efficiently laid out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#51 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing