We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, friendly staff, not good for families”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, friendly staff, not good for families”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just completed a stay at his hotel. The other reviewers were right - the hotel rooms were absoluely tiny. We booked this through priceline (130/night), and I would have been annoyed to get this room especially if I had paid full price.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the doormen. The location was safe and convenient (to North Mich Ave). There was no bathtub - so bathing the kids was a big challenge. Adding a crib to the room made things even more cramped. Also the free internet at the hotel was incredibly slow.

We mainly ate at kid friendly restaurants such as Foodlife and Portillo's nearby. The staff recommended 'Yolk' for breakfast - which was excellent.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel - based on size of the rooms and the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    616
    333
    143
    119
See reviews for
230
600
163
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Some of the rooms are so small you cant walk in front of the bed between the desk and the bed you can't fit. That they actually think it's OK to put people in rooms like this. It is just poor business. We come to Chicago every year. We like to try new hotels every once in a while. we will never return to Hotel Felix. We booked via priceline and that might be why we got such a small room. But why they would have a room that small to begin with who knows?
We generally stay at the Hilton Suites on Delaware place much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ocean035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haslett michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We booked Felix on Priceline as a 4 star hotel. The location is great, the decor is beautiful, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. However...the room was entirely too small for a couple to be comfortable...absolutely no room to move/even walk around. Getting in and out of the small bathroom was a constant challenge.

There was no space for amenities such as coffeemaker, water or wine glasses etc

I wondered if the designer, manager, other staff of the Felix had ever actually STAYED in a room ????
I would love to stay there again, but only if there were some way to have a reasonably sized room. We paid $333 for two nights...I guess I I don't understand the star rating system of Priceline

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalpotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Felix for only 1 night and got a great deal through Priceline. They of course put me in a pretty small room but the room was quite comfortable and had all the essentials.
The hotel is only 5 blocks from Michigan Ave and close by a lot of good restaurants and sites. I basically walked around the entire city from my hotel.
One small negative was the front desk staff who checked me in was not the most bubbly person I've met. I was actually surprised as I expected better service from a hotel like this but it might just have been the wrong person at the wrong time.
Overall this hotel has a great location with nicely designed rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJtoSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I booked through priceline, paying more for our room than what was advertised on the hotel's website. I was skeptical after reading TA reviews. However, although the room was small, it was clean. The front desk folks were nice and helpful, wifi and business center were both "free" (no upcharges). We would recommend, just don't do it through Priceline.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hi,

We booked this hotel through Priceline using the "Name your own price" feature. Bid won at $75.

After having checked the review in this website, I thought it would have been a crappy hotel.
Not at all. Even though the rooms are small, the staff is friendly, and the decor is really nice.
Comfy beds and nice bathroom.

Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Prior to my stay I read a majority of the reviews related to Hotel Felix assistance for those of us that used Price Line in an effort to save money not understanding the dynamics that most hotels sale a block of rooms to these 3rd parties, which tend to be a single room. I have to say that a simple phone call and professional coutesy to the Director of Operations resolved the occupancy issue I faced and was provided a double bed occupancy for my stay. The staff were professional and polite my room was clean and anything I needed I received. This is a lesson learned and I believe you pay for what you get...The Hotel Felix will certainly get nothing but praise from me and my continued business when I visit Chicago again! However, PRICELINE NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#56 of 190 in Chicago
3,544 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing