We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European style, 'green' hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #123 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Our room was not ready at check in, but by 5 p.m. they did have the room we reserved, a two double bed room. We were expecting the small room size, tiny closet, no sitting chairs and no counters in the bathroom because we had read the reviews on this site. This is a small room hotel. If you are not going to spend time in your room it is a very comfortable place to sleep (although the air conditioning blew on me off and on all night). Be forewarned. Don't pay full price. Enjoy downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iowajeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Happy. Naturally. from the Hotel Felix. Please accept our apologies that you were delayed in getting checked-in & settled into your room. However, it was good to hear that once there, you found the room comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

I will be staying at Hotel Felix in two weeks and I'm already dreading my stay! They were just so rude to me on the phone, and they made me very aware that b/c I'm a Hotwire customer I'm a second rate customer. I made a mistake I'll never make again: I booked a room at Hotel Felix through Hotwire. If you're clever with Hotwire, you can pretty much figure out which hotel you'll get during the booking process. I was initially very excited to land a room at the Hotel Felix ... then I called them and it was all downhill from there.

I've been a big fan of Hotwire for years: I like an adventure (never know exactly where you'll stay until your credit card is already charged) and in these times we all needs to save a few bucks on a hotel - hey, I'm a librarian, and we don't exactly roll in the dough! I've never had a problem getting a two bed room for two people with a Hotwire reservation (I usually travel with library colleagues): make your reservation via Hotwire, call the hotel to confirm and select your room type, and you're good to go!

Not with Hotel Felix. I was told my reservation was for a single queen bed hotel room and they would not honor my request for an "upgrade" to a two bed room. Per the Hotwire terms of service, Hotel Felix informed me, all that they had to do was provide me with a room that would accommodate two people, and that could even be just a full size bed. Basically, Hotel Felix conveyed that b/c I made a reservation via Hotwire, I'm a second rate customer and eligible only for the smallest, least popular room type. I inquired about availability of two bed rooms and was told that there were plenty, but they wouldn't be "upgrading" me b/c they didn't have to.

I called Hotwire, and they just referred to their terms of service: "Room type will be determined by the hotel based on the number of guests provided at time of booking. All reservations are booked for stays in non-smoking rooms (subject to availability). Hotel room assignments are determined at check-in and upgrades are not available." A Hotwire agent, Don, did try to contact the hotel but they were unwilling to budge. Don let me know that I might be able to "upgrade" when I arrive, but not to count on it. There's fine print, and then there's customer service, don't you think?

So now Hotel Felix has my money and Hotwire has its fee and I'm arriving in two weeks and just dreading it. Both Hotwire and Hotel Felix have forever lost my future business as well as that of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
4  Thank hollybry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The Hotel Felix is brand new. The room was quite small, with two double beds, and not much room to put suitcases, (i wouldnt recommend for 4 people, two is okay though) however the bed has built in draws, which were excellent. The beds were very very comfy. staff were very friendly and there's free tea and coffee in the bar of a morning. Very clean also.

The location was great, we walked from the train station and back to the airport was a $35 cab ride. We walked to areas all over the city including millenium park and the Mag. Mile shops. Best value to get the 3 day $14 transport pass which does buses and trains.

The air con was a little noisy from time to time, but not enough to complain.

Chicago tips: hire a bike from North beach and ride along the lake shore, Lincoln park zoo is free and excellent, and eat at Maggianos (Italian), its absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2009

Happy. Naturally. from the Hotel Felix. Thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel, staff, beds & location. We are so happy (naturally) to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I got a great deal to stay at Hotel Felix for a long weekend. We were impressed with the sleek, eco-friendly design as well as the friendly, helpful staff .

STAFF: The staff was responsive and always greeted us with a smile. The front desk was always willing to print out directions to local restaurants and attractions. Housekeeping was friendly and always did a great, thorough job.

LOCATION: Hotel Felix is only a walking distance from the Chicago brown and red L lines just outside of the Loop. There is a Whole Foods and 711 within a block of the hotel and the Magnificent Mile is only a few blocks away. A few more blocks past that is the lake shore. Millennium Park is only about a 20 minute walk from the hotel with lots shopping and restaurants on the way.

ROOM As in most big cities, our room was pretty small, but extremely clean and comfortable (especially the fluffy, queen size bed). There is a flat screen HDTV with cable and an alarm clock radio complete with an ipod dock. The room is designed to be space efficient with storage drawers under the bed, a small alcove to hang a few clothes, shelved night stands and a cabinet in the bathroom. The bathroom was also very modern looking with a well sized shower stall complete with a rainfall shower head and nice variety of H20 bath products. The room was noise proof and we never heard neighbors or people in the hall.

FACILITIES The funky lounge was a great area for guests to hang out or enjoy coffee and tea in the morning. There is also a small gym on the 2nd floor and an Aveda Spa. We were pleased that the hotel offers free wi-fi, but found the connection to be very slow.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank laratada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Happy. Naturally. from the Hotel Felix. Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your kindness as well as the many details you included in your review. There are so many wonderful things about the Hotel Felix & I'm so happy that you enjoyed so many of them.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The hotel staff was great! Everyone was so helpful, and nice, and full of information. This is a new property, and the only silver LEED hotel in Chicago. The restaurant is not open, but there is everything that you could imagine nearby within walking distance. So, have very comfortable shoes. The room was small, but very comfortable. No tub, but a very large shower. Can't wait to return!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Happy. Naturally. from the Hotel Felix. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very excited to be the first hotel designed to be Silver LEED certified in Chicago! We look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Not sure how this hotel was reviewed so kindley? My cousin and I just stayed last night, 6/20/09 and booked through Hotwire.com. Payed a rediculous amount for this supposed 4 star hotel that had NO resturant on site (currently under construction), and a room so small.... you can whisper to someone on the toilet while lying in bed. Speaking of the bed... lumpy is how we best described it. We stayed on 2nd floor facing front of hotel and could hear Valet attendant or "person with top hat" (they said they didn't have a doorman) talking loudly very late and then at the crack of dawn. An alarm clock in the room went off at 0620 am and we certainly didn't set it! Stayed in much... better for alot less. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2009

Happy. Naturally. from the Hotel Felix. I'm so sorry to hear that we were not able to make your visit to Chicago an enjoyable one. While we hope you reconsider staying with us again, please don't hesitate to contact us if we can assist you in finding accommodations that meet your needs better. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voelkerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelixManager, Hotel Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,140 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#100 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 192 in Chicago
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing