We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
mississauga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

rooms and all around the hotel were beautiful and clean. staff was extremely friendly!!! walking distance to hop on hop off bus stop and also walking distance to the best breakfast restaurant on the planet lol The Yolk..an absolute must visit for chicago.. recommended by the front desk staff when we asked them where to go for a close by breakfast. We loved this hotel and would definitely return if we come back to chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanesssxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi vanesssxoxo - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your kind remarks, and are glad you enjoyed your breakfast! Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    625
    336
    144
    121
See reviews for
231
607
166
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Some say the room is small but we found it perfect. Service and cleanliness was great. My only critique is desk service does not know bus schedule. We came in sat morning and told to take a bus that does not run weekends. As this was our first time in the city it created some confusion. We ended up taking a cab. Next day we were told to take the #3 bus which did not exist. We loved this hotel but directions could have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi Buckeye G - Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent visit to Chicago! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback regarding the bus information from the front desk. We definitely also recommend visiting the CTA website to look up schedules and plan a bus trip. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel Felix is a small budget hotel north of the river and west of Michigan Avenue/Water Tower place. My room on the 10th floor and was clean and well kept. The bathroom had a walk in shower that was very spacious. The room itself was small and and most of it was taken up by the bed. There was a small desk and chair but no armchair, a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board but snow in room coffee maker. Coffee was available in the morning in the lobby. There was a bistro next door that provided room service but I didn't use it. Staff were courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to the budget traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Bromsgrove-Rover - Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Felix Chicago! We appreciate your kind remarks. In keeping with our eco-friendly policies, we do not have coffee machines in our guests rooms. Household appliances like coffee machines continue to draw electricity when plugged in, even if turned off. We are happy you were able to take advantage of the complimentary, fair-trade coffee and tea in the lobby every morning. Thank you again and come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, the rooms are small.. it's a boutique hotel. It was our second stay within the year, and will consider it again. Got a great last minute deal online. Love the location, everything we needed was within walking distance. Bed was comfortable, had no problem falling asleep. There were some loud conversations in the hallway during the night, again its a hotel, with people coming and going, was expected. We found an online parking deal at the lot 300 ft from the front door, saving us $20. There might be a rewards program, but we haven't found it and staff at the front desk hasn't promoted it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIcalobeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi MIcalobeco - Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent trip to Chicago. We are always happy to see return guests and we agree - our location can't be beat! We encourage you to visit hotelfelixchicago.com to sign up for e-mail offers. Thank you again and we hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I booked this room via Priceline and was a little concerned by the reviews here. However, I found it to be a very pleasant place to stay. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. My room on the 11th floor was very quiet; no inside or outside noise. The room was clean and in good shape. The lobby, too, was small but nicely decorated. My only complaint: the free coffee was weak and a little bitter; not worth the trip down to the lobby. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Although the nearest train stop of the Chicago metro was about four blocks away, it was easy to walk from the hotel to the Magnificant Mile, the downtown "loop", etc.

Green Features: Each time the housekeeper came in, she threw away the plastic cup I was using and the open bar of soap, meaning that I had to unwrap and use new ones each day. Seems very wasteful to me.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomervilleReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi SomervilleReisender - Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent trip to Chicago. We will relay the message regarding the complimentary, free-trade coffee offered in the lobby each morning. We appreciate your kind remarks and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had high hopes for Hotel Felix for a 5 day stay in mid-March. The rooms were minuscule. Barely enough space to put a large suit case and still walk around the bag. I easily forgot the bed was comfortable because the walls are like cardboard - I could hear my neighbors conversations perfectly and could barely sleep because they were in and out at all hours. The free coffee in the morning -- well, you get what you pay for. And the drink do you pay for is made by an amateur - big ice, little glass. I read this book by the cover, a mistake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi boolouis - Thank you for posting your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts, including our complimentary, free-trade coffee in the lobby each morning. We hope you were able to get in touch with the front desk regarding the noise coming from other visiting guests during your stay. Bartenders will be happy to offer less ice should you request it. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I'm at the hotel now (well as I'm writing this). It's 1:07 am and the amount of noise coming into my room from the hallway and the room next to mine has woke me up. Yelling. Laughing. Chitter-chatter. Doors slamming shut. I'm not happy :( Tiny rooms. The beds take up the entire room. There isn't even a closet to store the suitcases in, so they are shoved under this tiny sitting desk that takes up whatever room the beds don't. No dresser. Just 4 under the bed drawers the I keep nailing my legs and feet on. On a positive note...the beds are actually comfortable and the hotel is clean. The staff is friendly and the door men are super nice :) I have my kids with me....this is NOT a kid friendly hotel. It's almost embarrassing to go through the lobby because of all the stares we get (and trust you me my kids are being QUIET and behaving themselves....they've been warned). Honestly....if I thought priceline.com would give me my $$$ back for the next three nights that I have booked at Hotel Felix...I would take that money and go to a TRUE 4star hotel down the block. Oh yeah....the location isn't that bad either AND don't drive a "large" vehicle here and expect them to park it...we were told our truck is too large for their parking area and my hubby had to go find parking elsewhere!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi E M - Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We hope that you were able to contact someone at the front desk regarding the noise coming from other visiting guests that evening, and our parking attendants do use their best judgment when it comes to our parking area.

We welcome families always here at Hotel Felix, and are very happy you had a positive customer service experience during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 190 in Chicago
3,617 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 190 in Chicago
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing