We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very solid hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #117 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Venice Beach, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very solid hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Amazing location!!!
Close to everything fun...
Rooms are incredibly small so just know that and I got a great rate online but wouldn't pay more then 100 a night.

Staff was friendly and I ended up staying for 2 weeks and it was very enjoyable and has a lot of zip cars nearby.

Other then tiny rooms, good hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thelinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi thelinmd - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent stay in Chicago. While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts.We truly appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    596
    326
    143
    119
See reviews for
225
591
159
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Felix for a 2 week period of time while I was in Chicago for work. I really enjoyed my stay here for several reasons.

Although the rooms are very small they are comfortable. Since I was here by myself it was the perfect size. I was staying in a room and something was wrong with the lock so I couldn't get into my room several times, which they eventually switched my rooms and gave me a suite which was great!! The only problem with this room was the toilet would run for a short period of time about every hour. It was quite loud but not terrible.

The beds are EXTREMELY comfortable!! All the staff that I encountered were super friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean and the cleaning service was great. They would leave plenty of extra shampoo, conditioners, and soap. I only realized on the last day here that hiding in the bathroom were cotton balls, Q-tips, and makeup remover! I wish I would have known sooner but I guess I didn't search good enough!

The location is great, very close to everything. I agree the rooms should have a fridge/microwave. But here for business, it wasn't too terrible not having one.

Overall a great experience. Very comfortable, friendly staff, and great location! Would be nice to have some of those extra amenities though. I would definitely come back here in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey1023S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Kelsey1023S - Thank you for posting your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Chicago during your business trip, and are happy you were accommodated with the suite upgrade. In keeping with our ecofriendly policies, we do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators or microwaves. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred. Something to note for your next trip! Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Room is quite small, no mini bar no fridge. maybe acceptable for business traveler,definitely not for vacation goers
I wrote to the hotel to accept an online purchase before checked in and got positive response. It's delivered before 8pm on Monday. The duty manager locked it up and took a leave for 2 days. We were told it would not be available until Thursday. The director of front desk expressed no apology but defended the front desk manager's act as precarious. The hotel received the package on behalf of the guest. The package did not address to specific front desk manager. The lack of basic common sense of the hotel management is very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Tom Y - Thank you for your review as we certainly appreciate hearing feedback from guests. When packages arrive to Hotel Felix addressed to a non-registered guest and the package has value, we will secure it until we find who the package is for. We do this to keep delivered items safe, and the package gets to the right hands. Thank you again for your feedback, and hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Saint Onge, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Silver LEED certified boutique hotel in good downtown Chicago area with numerous quality restaurants nearby. The staff was very pleasant, the rooms and public areas were clean and modernly decorated, but my room was super tiny. There was only about 18 inches of clearance between the bottom of the bed and the small table/TV area. I bumped my knees 5 times on the wood extending from the corners of the bed! In addition, though I was there 3 nights, I cancelled housekeeping service because there was no space to put my things to get them out of the way. The room was very well insulated and I could barely hear outside or hall noise, but the smallness was almost claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Look at a floor plan of the rooms (they have them) and make sure they are not giving you one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Kathryn K - Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for a single night after booking on HotWire while we were flying through Chicago.

Great location in River North, close to bars and restaurants and trolley tour stop.

Clean, modern rooms, very small (think two feet around the bed with a small bathroom). Good for a single night where we weren't unpacking though we barely had room for our suitcases (coming from a two week tropical trip).

Would stay here again, the hotel bar is good, and the location could not be beat. Though I wouldn't stay for longer than a night or two.

Downsides besides tiny room, the hotel wireless is awful, and cleaning staff are loud in the mornings. But we didn't seem to find walls as thin as other guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in 212 at the end of a hall and were pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digerati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi digerati - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent stay in Chicago! While our rooms are cozy in nature, as Chicago's first Silver LEED certified hotel we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Glad you got to enjoy the hotel bar and surrounding attractions, too. We very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Room was very reasonable (albeit I visited in early March- Brrrr). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was very small but very clean. Boutique hotel. Had a cute lobby bar and they guys who take care of your car are amazing. Will definitely return this summer!

Green Features: This is a VERY eco-friendly hotel. In fact, that's what they're known for.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mthede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi mthede1 - Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind remarks, and are glad you were able to take advantage of the lobby bar, as well as parking. We are also very proud of our eco-friendly efforts and Silver LEED certification, so thank you for that comment. We look forward to seeing you again when the weather warms up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is excellent; very good location, gives complimentary WiFi in all the areas of the hotel, including the rooms.
Gives complimentary tea and coffee during breakfast time, and also has a very nice restaurant in the ground floor.

Green Features: the hotel has the Silver LEED Certificate, the only one in Chicago.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarissarech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi clarissarech - Thank you for choosing Hotel Felix during your recent visit to Chicago! We appreciate your kind remarks and are very happy that you enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi, as well as the complimentary coffee and tea during breakfast. We noticed your note about our Silver LEED certification - we are very proud of our eco-friendly efforts! Thank you again for review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing