We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #115 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Roswell, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was small but comfortable. Noise from other guests in the hallway penetrated under the door. Also, the A/C was quite noisy. There was no coffee machine so you had to go to the lobby for coffee and refills. They need to put a mini-frig in the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timurkilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Timurkilic! We're proud to be Chicago's first eco-friendly LEED certified hotel and, in keeping with our green policies, we don't keep refrigerators in guests rooms. We do, however, supply them at guests requests (based upon availability). Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    617
    333
    144
    120
See reviews for
230
601
165
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel Felix was great from the time we checked in until checkout. Absolutely no complaints. When you walk in the door you are greeted by not only friendly people but a magnificent aroma. Rooms were very clean and decorated very nice. Location was perfect , so convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrisunny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Tbernellis, thank you for your review! We're thrilled you had a lovely stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best part. Located within walking distance to bars/restaurants and Chicago landmarks. Short taxi or train ride to Wrigley. We were prepared for small hotel rooms, but the rooms were completely fine and very clean. We had no issues at the hotel. There is a small bar in the hotel lobby that serves coffee in the morning and drinks at night. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as an affordable option in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review Ckraynak! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location in downtown Chicago. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Upon reading reviews on the Felix we were a little apprehensive on what we would find.
From the moment the taxi pulled up and the doorman took our bags ALL encounters with the staff were pleasant and friendly, the check in was smooth and we were in our room in minutes.
We expected when opening the door to the room that there would be no space at all,Wrong!
Room was clean, bright and modern.
The king bed was great and there was plenty of space around it too(never once knocked into anything). Large flat screen tv and desk area. We had also requested a fridge which arrived 5 mins after we did.
Small closet space but enough storage under the bed for clothes etc. Also enough space to store two large suitcases.
Great large shower in bathroom(no tub) with yes a shallow sink.
Safe,iron & hair drier all in room.
Only negative was no coffee/tea making facility.(Although available in lobby each morning)
Housekeeping do a great job too,really pleasant ladies.
We didn't encounter any issues with noise or slow elevators.
The location of the Felix is the real winner located on the corner of Clark/Huron within two blocks of many good restaurants & bars, a short walk to Michigan Avenue and within a close distance to bus & train stops.
I believe that the negative comments are from US citizens who are used to 'suite' style accommodations. This hotel provides rooms that are perfectly useable spaces, after all as people have said you only really sleep and wash there.If you want more space pay more money!
Incidentally we stayed ELEVEN happy nights at the Felix and would stay again if visiting Chicago in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello tankman10! Thank you very much for choosing us and thank you for your review. We're honored you stayed with us for 11 nights and humbled by your kind words. Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and are so glad you did. We hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you on your next trip to Chicago! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Okay, got a good deal for this hotel using Hotwire. Reserved for two adults (we are not a couple) and basically required 2 beds. Of course never used Hotwire before and you are stuck with what you get for the price you pay. First the negative.. No negotiation with hotel or Hotwire for a 2 bed or even a king. None, which was very disappointing. Only plus about the front desk experience was able to check in at 9:30 am on a Saturday on a holiday weekend. So showing up early does not help your chances in getting the room you need. We ended up with probably the smallest hotel room in Chicago room 310. Queen size bed with zero view of the middle of hotel. You have a shotty TV and two small nightstands, "desk" area, small closet area and drawer(s) under bed. Only enough room to walk around bed. Nice shower but no true counter space. Comes with 1 robe. Where was the 2nd robe? My friend and I made it work but I was disappointed. Needless to say this was a room for 1 and would be tight if it was for a couple or married couple. Parking was steep at $49 per night. But found other garages in a short walking distance far less at $24 per night the one we found on Ohio. Only a few blocks from hotel so our single roller bag each was fine to take back to garage. Positives.. FREE WiFi which was a plus. The room was clean and did have nice finishings. More good things was great location. You are on CTA bus line #22. 2 blocks from Whole Foods and a Walgreens and many great staple restaurants within a several block radius easy walking from hotel. Didn't nor wanted to go to Rain Forest Cafe or Hard Rock but they are very close. There are much better ones must try when in Chicago. Like the Chicago dog at Portillinos (not sure on spelling) and Pizzeria Uno deep dish of course and Eggsperience for wonderful breakfasts. All close walking distance to hotel. We didn't stay much in room as we left early in morning and stayed out late to enjoy Chicago. In which the small room ended up not to hamper our trip. Just wished we did have more room so we could have enjoyed the hotel more.

Room Tip: Was in room 310 ... No view. Tiny room and is snug even for one but for 1 it's sufficient. Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review pamylah. Regarding your room, due to the nature of how our system works we're only allowed to book rooms that are available at the time of booking. We're glad you made it work and took advantage of the many wonderful restaurants nearby - Portillo's is an absolute Chicago classic, and while their Chicago-style hot dogs are what they're known for, next time you're in town get a slice of their chocolate cake. It is phenomenal! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a business trip and booked this hotel last minute. I wasn't sure about this place when booked the room but I was in a pinch and had no other choice. Thankfully it's quite nice! The rooms are smalls but adequate and the restaurant is very pleasant - we dined there a few times and it was also a nice (somewhat quiet) place to take clients.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoolifromhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review hoolifromhouston (great username too by the way)! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and checked out LM Bistro, the French bistro that's adjacent to our hotel. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A last minute plan to travel to Chicago left me with limited hotel availability, of which Hotel Felix was one. I spent two nights at the hotel and can say it was a delightful stay! The staff was great and the hotel itself is located in the great area of North River. Within walking distance (2-4 blocks) there were numerous restaurants and shopping on Michigan Avenue. My room was small but wonderfully appointed. I had read the reviews of others complaining about small rooms and some facing a brick wall . . . but this is typical in most boutique hotels in large cities. Yes, my room faced a brick wall with the adjacent building under construction but I recognized that the discounted room I was paying for wasn't going to be the Taj Mahal! You have to be realistic . . . if you want a larger room with a better view, you've got to pay for it. Complimentary coffee in the lobby was a plus for me and the room service breakfast I ordered came on time and was hot and yummy. Thumbs up for the Hotel Felix

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Cynthia-Ohio, thank you very much for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Isn't room service a fun (and delicious) way to indulge on a vacation? Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#55 of 190 in Chicago
3,563 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 190 in Chicago
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 190 in Chicago
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing