We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Felix
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$189
The James Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$595
$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$373
$315
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$194
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,670)
Filter reviews
1,670 results
Traveler rating
401
653
349
144
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
653
349
144
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallboutique hotelwhole foodsfew blocksriver northmichigan avefront desk staffbed was very comfortablefree coffeedowntown chicagolocation is greatthe magnificent milemag mileupon checknavy pierlobbydoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,670 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

What a great little hotel in a great part of Chicago! I like live bands, good food & cool clothes so the hotel Felix was where I needed to be. The room I stayed in was small but comfortable, I only slept there, so not a hassle. The LM bistro was excellent, from their French cuisine, atmosphere & service. Say hello to Adeen he is five star!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello Allan W! Another Australian taking time to review us - thank you! We truly appreciate it. Live bands, good food and cool clothes are some of our favorite things as well so we're glad you found us! We hope to see you again soon, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found Hotel Felix's greatest perk was its location. Only a few blocks from Mag Mile, which means being close to restaurants, shops etc, this was great. A further walk will get you to the Millennium park. Nearby was a 'whole foods' which is an excellent supermarket.
The servicedesk and other staff were very nice and friendly.
Room was clean and fine for us but could be a bit small for others (standard queen). We had to put one suitcase on the floor, between bed and window as there was no other space for it. Not a major complaint, you get what you pay for!
Only other comment is that our room needed a bit of TLC, some of the shine was coming off in a few spots here and there (i.e. bathroom sink has lovely timber veneer that was just starting to peel at the edges).
Overall, nice little hotel that's very serviceable for people who aren't going to spend a whole lot of time in the actual room. Chicago's great and the hotel is in a great spot.

Room Tip: We were in room 411, standard queen. Room is quite small, little room to put 1 or 2 large suitcases. Very quite though so great if you need some sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review ZhelterTravel, all the way from Australia! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This "hotel" was a mess. We went on Priceline to book the room which is somehow rated as a 4 star hotel. What a joke! Granted the design was very modern for the rooms and rhe tiny little lobby looks nice but the quality is that of a motel. The tables and mirrors and bed were all peeling and chipped and falling apart, the room itself is so small it feels like they stuck us in a box! The sink was so small in the bathroom that we couldn't wash our hands without touching the bottom of the sink! Not to mention the fact that there was no place to set your hair dryer or makeup to get ready and the window was a tiny little window that had a wall half covering it. The only positive i can think of was that the bed was comfortable but so not worth it.
I cannot even begin to describe how ripped off we feel, what a dump! You couldn't offer me a room there for free to get me to go back we hated it that much!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djananan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello Djananan, thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and hope you have a nice day. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

When Looking into hotels for Chicago I read some complaints that the rooms were small (which they were). However saying that they were also well laid out, very clean, stylishly decorated. All in a property that is in a central location, with great service and Eco-friendly. I loved it. I would stay there again and I would recommend it to others! Also want to send a particular thanks to the lobby bartenders both Kurt and Gary were lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello GabCarr, thanks so much for your review! We truly appreciate it. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your shout outs to Kurt and Gary! That's very kind of you. We hope to see you again soon, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Through priceline we got the hotel felix for $125 where going rate in the area was $160-$190. We arrived by train and it was a quick and cheap $8 dollar cab ride to the hotel from union station. The staff was great...doorman helped us with taxis, front desk staff with recommendations, even the maid asked us how our day was and if theres anything we needed. I know some people here complained about staff, but i did not experience it at all.

Our room was normal size. Everything was modern, nice and clean. The walls do seem a little thin, can hear noise from neighboring rooms. We walked everywhere. Day we arrived it was raining so we cabbed it to water tower place shopping for $8. But after weather cleared, with an 8 yr old, we walked complete michigan ave, we walled to navy pier, we even walked to shedd aquarium (but took water taxi back to pier). Lots of restaurants nearby, including breakfast places, hard rock, rain forest cafe, mc d's for those with kids. Wife used the gym...it was simple but she said equipment was new and quality.

Great stay in chicago and great stay here. Would stay at hotel felix again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi K_Canuck_2011, thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're so glad our hardworking staff helped make your stay a pleasant one. Our hats off to you for all the walking you did, it sounds as though you truly took advantage of our downtown location. Thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews