We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #121 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've just returned from Chicago and 5 nights at the Hotel Felix; the place was clean, well run, affordable, and well-situated for travellers.
The hotel is close to the CTA Red Line, and an easy walk to the gallery district, Whole Foods with it's breakfast bar, Michigan Avenue and the river.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith6276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Hello smith 6276, thank you for composing your review following your stay with us. We hope you have a great day! Come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading some reviews, I was quite sure I would stay in a closet-size hotel room. I was really surprised to find out that the hotel room has a very decent size. My husband and I stayed in a 4-star hotel room that is much smaller than this when we were in Paris last year. Hotel Felix is better than expected. We both walked around comfortably around the comfortable queen size bed. The room and bathroom were very clean. We loved the shower gel, shampoo, and body lotion. The location is excellent; it is within walking distance (from 1 to 10-minute walk) to all kinds of good restaurants, public transportation, Whole Foods, Walgreen, and Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1LittleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review 1LittleTraveller! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have never been in such a small hotel room. It is so small everything had to be attached to the wall. There is no dresser in the room, so you have to use the drawers under the bed, which means the bed frame extends beyond the mattress and I was constantly banging into the corners because the room was so small. My calfs are black and blue. The distance between the desk and the bed was about 3.5 feet so it was difficult to get in and out of the chair with out hitting the bed.

Then when I arrived there were no glasses or plastic cups in the room. Something simple like plastic cups were unavailable. I had to call down just to get a drinking cup. The first room I was put in had a ventilation system that was so loud I had to request transfer to another room to sleep. And no one came to help me, I had to go all the way down to the registration desk with my suitcase and briefcase to get a new key and then lug all my stuff to the new room.

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Most of the 3 stars I have stayed in were much much better, at least you could walk around the bed in the room. Look else where if you are going to Chicago. There are dozens of choices. The Fairmont is a 4 star and always delivers.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your review ValerieGA. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and amenities. We also do not use plastic cups in keeping with our eco-friendly policies. Thank you again and we hope you have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We live in Miami, but are from Chicago. We came up to the city to go to the Ryder Cup in September and thought we would try a different hotel since our faves were booked that busy weekend.

Mistake!!!

The Hotel has a great location.....but.....

The rooms are horrendous! The rooms look nothing like the pictures on the site. They are rundown and tiny, dark, and depressing looking. The first room smelled so bad that we were immediately going to check out, but they gave us a different room. It didn't smell AS bad, but the room was just as sad. You looked out of the window in the room and directly upon a wall six inches away from another part of the building. The bathroom has no tub and a tiny ledge on the floor which does nothing to prevent the water splash all over the sink and toilet. It was gross.

The room reminded me of a jail cell and jail toilet area.

We were finally able to find a vacancy at our favorite nearby hotel and were able to checkout. We would've given the hotel 1 star, but they let us leave without charge for early departure, so for that we give them 2 stars for their service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKB041513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi RKB041513, thank you for your review following your stay. As Chicago's first LEED-certified eco-friendly hotel we're proud of our green efforts and amenities. Thank you again and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here from 25 April for 7 nights. The hotel is excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was a good size, bed extremely comfortable and a good shower room. We didn't hear any noise at all. We were beside the lift on the 9th floor and weren't bothered at all by anyone coming or going. The tea and coffee located in the lobby each morning was very welcome.

The television in the room was also great, could not have been happier with the location and the price we paid for the week was very reasonable indeed, compared to other hotels in Chicago.

Will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again when we go back to Chicago, which we will as it is a wonderful city and the people are the friendliest I have encountered in any big city).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review poppyforever! We're honored to have you as our guest all the way from Northern Ireland! Chicago is such a wonderful city and we're proud to be here. We hope to see you again soon! Have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. This is not one of those hotel with huge rooms, so bear in mind it's a boutique hotel before booking it. Excelent staff. Complimentary wifi. Only 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave and all its stores and a 10 minute walk to the loop. Subway only 4 blocks away. I took breakfast once at the hotel and it was great. If I could say something negative about the hotel is that the rooms do not have a fridge. The only way to drink something cold is get ice from the machine. Coffee and tea are complimentary too on the lobby. I recommend!

Room Tip: Take into account this is a boutique hotel. For enormous or huge rooms, go someplace else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello Alex1426, thank you for visiting us a long way from home (Buenos Aires, wow!). We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. As Chicago's first LEED-certified eco-friendly hotel, we do not have refrigerators in guests' rooms in keeping with our environmentally-friendly standards. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good hotel. The beds were very comfortable. Front desk staff was quiet, but not, not friendly.The only bummer was the room view. We looked into the construction of the next building and got a glimpse of the Sports Authority (woohoo). One other thing that was a bit troublesome was the lack of power outlets. I had to charge my iPad in the bathroom which was a bit odd. The outlet at the desk only has 2 plug-ins available. Overall a good experience, and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for any room NOT facing west. You look into a building that is ucrrently under construction tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChicagoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your review ChicagoCody. Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay with your friends. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#75 of 192 in Chicago
1,124 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,666 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#60 of 192 in Chicago
3,948 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $83 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing