We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, "Cozy" Rooms”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #116 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, "Cozy" Rooms”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We got a good deal on a room for two nights over St. Patrick's Day. It was a great time in the city, and Hotel Felix is in a great spot. The ONLY downside is the small rooms. There was a queen size bed, and that is about it. The dresser is actually under the bed... there are two drawers that slide out. We spent very little time in the room so it was really no big deal. There was street noise (we were on the 4th floor), so that wasn't awesome, but it was not something that would prevent me from returning.

If you get a good deal, it is a great little place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
John, thanks for your review. You picked the best city to celebrate St. Patrick's Day. We hope you caught a glimpse of the green river - it's quite a sight to see! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    625
    335
    144
    121
See reviews for
231
607
166
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here overnight on a business trip. The staff was friendly, and helped me obtain a receipt after I had returned home (forgot to get one while there). The front desk staff was friendly, though not available after hours; likely due to this being a relativity small hotel.

The room felt very upscale, though a little cramped. The view out the window was of an alleyway. The bed was comfortable, and a robe was provided, along with a small desk. Overall the room was very nice, had a 'like new' feel.

There is no parking at the hotel, though I was able to find a lot nearby (for a fee). Valet parking is available, but quite expensive.

If staying in downtown Chicago for business, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you Nick for your review! We are thrilled you chose to stay with us during your business trip here in Chicago. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The rooms are tiny. The walls are paper thin. Apparently, they have no security on site. It took over 30 minutes for Chicago Police Department officers to arrive to evict the drunk in the room next to us. The sink is tiny and there is only a shower. Felt very unsafe in this hotel. Parking is $49 a night. Staff was unaccommodating and rude. the bed was tiny and one person can fit between the wall and the end of the bed. There is no room for luggage. It felt like a cabin on a cruise ship. Bad value for price and accommodations. I realize it is a boutique hotel but this was too small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Tommicki, thank you for your review. Regarding the incident you described, we worked closely with the police department to have them on the scene to handle the situation. Unfortunately we could not control what time the police arrived but they came as quickly as they could. We hope you have a nice day and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Clawson, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

In Chicago for a couple of nights for my stepson's birthday. We arrived late morning, hoping only to leave our bag somewhere until check-in time. We were surprised to be able to check-in straight away.
The room and bathroom were spotless and well laid out. On the small side for the US, but acceptable to a Brit!
Complementary coffee and tea in the mornings in the small bar. The food in the attached French Bistro was good at both breakfast and evening time.
Five blocks from Michigan and one block from La Salle, so a good location and not too noisy. Free high speed wi-fi internet access.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Kevin_Tilley! We appreciate it. Thank you also for staying with us while you were in town celebrating your stepson's birthday. We love LM Bistro as well (the French restaurant adjacent to us) and we're thrilled you enjoyed it too. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After seeing some previous negative reviews, we arrived with open minds and discovered that this is a European-type boutique hotel. Yes, the rooms are small but very clean, updated bathroom including a nice shower head, had shelves in the bathroom to put our tolietries on, the night stands on both sides of the bed also had shelves. We did request and receive an additional luggage stand for my husband to use. We stayed on the 11th floor & for first time ever, had the most quiet stay in Chicago...didn't hear a single siren off the street, etc. Enjoyed the attached French restaurant. Only had the breakfast but it was delicious..the baked egg dish (cocotte) was excellent. Loved the location as well...not as noisy as being right on Michigan and yes very easy access to Michigan Avenue, CTA bus lines, etc.

Room Tip: we asked & received a room away from where construction was going on next door; never heard anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review auntiekat! We're pleased you enjoyed your (quiet!) stay with us. Isn't LM Bistro great? They're the restaurant adjacent to us and have such a fantastic menu. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My fiance' and I arrived in Chicago via Amtrak from San Francisco a bit earlier than checkin time, but fortunately, the hotel was able to accommodate us immediately. The decor of the hotel is fantastic and the room was quite nice with good bath products. Only negatives were the bed frame stuck out a little far and I hit my knee on the corner twice and the heater was a bit loud. The mattress however, was perfectly comfortable.

The hotel is about two blocks from the red line "Chicago" stop and for $2.25 the "L" will get you pretty much anywhere you want to go. You can't beat that. Also, prior to arrival, I emailed the hotel's rooms manager to inform him I was planning to get engaged in San Francisco just a few days prior to arrival at the Hotel Felix. I asked for some recommendations on surrounding restaurants, requested a room upgrade if possible and a nice amenity waiting for us upon arrival. He went above and beyond... answered my questions, lined us up for a late check out, had 4 bottles of the local Goose Island 312 beer on ice, a few cinnamon rolls and a very nice, plump arrangement of grapes. Since we were about 2 hours earlier than planned, they weren't waiting for us in the room, but I give them the benefit of the doubt and assume they didn't want the food and beer sitting in the room for a few hours getting lukewarm.

If you're in Chicago and looking for a nice hotel to stay in that's budget friendly with good customer service and a bartender who knows how to make a good Manhattan, the Hotel Felix is right up your alley.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all the rooms were deluxe. Just watch your knee on the bed frame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruschmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your review Ruschmoore.We're honored you and your fiance chose to stay with us during your cross-country trip. Kudos to you for taking the train here from San Fran and also for taking public transportation here in Chicago. As the city's first eco-friendly LEED certified hotel, we love to see our guests make an effort to go green when they can. We're very pleased you enjoyed the Goose Island 312's, cinnamon rolls and grapes! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

As a lot of the reviews state the rooms are quite small at the Felix. Comparable rooms in the area are bigger. The hotel was clean, hip, and in a great area. Not bad for $99 on a Friday night. There are 100 restaurants in a 6 block radius.
.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmodaff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your review, jmodaff52! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. We agree that there is no shortage of fantastic restaurants nearby - we're very lucky! Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 190 in Chicago
3,610 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 190 in Chicago
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing