We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #119 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I loved the modern feel of this hotel. The decor was very cool. Service was great. The rooms, hallways and elevators are kind of claustrophobia small. We stayed in a room with a large bed and the bed took up the whole room. When we first checked in, our 1st room was disheveled so we had to go back downstairs to get a new room. Our 2nd room had makeup stains all over the comforter so that was pretty gross and made us wonder if they washed the blankets or sheets before we got there. All in all it was fine for a one night stay but I don't know that it's worth the money to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hi Danielle,

First, Happy Birthday! We're happy to hear you chose Hotel Felix and thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on a clean, comfortable guest experience and we'll look into the concerns you mentioned. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future, perhaps for your next celebration.

Thanks again, Danielle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked on pricline for $50 a night (before taxes). After reading some reviews we were very suprised at how nice the hotel was overall. Very chic and modern decor. The room was dominated by the bed but the comfort of the bed made up for the cramped quarters. Great location w/in walking distance to pretty much ANYTHING, especially the brown line. Room and bathroom was very clean and I was particularly impressed by the water temperature and pressure in the shower. I would recommend this Hotel for couples and not families w/ children.

My only complaint was that the lobby seemed to always be filled by loiterers who were definately NOT guests. When we got back after dinner and going out at about 1 am on a Saturday morning the lobby was occupied by 5-7 young men in thier 20's who seemed to be yucking it up w/ the front desk staff and security guard. This wouldn't have bothered me except they were very loud, rude, and hit on my wife the entire time we walked to the elevator. The security guard said nothing and the woman at the desk thought it was hysterical. Not sure why the hotel would encourage people to "hang out" and intimidate thier guests.

I would definately stay here again ESPECIALLY if I could book through priceline at a discounted price. If I had to pay full price I could think of many other hotels further North that i would rather book.

Room Tip: Have them call you a cab before you step outside. The lobby and sidewalks in front were constantly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit and we're certainly happy to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and convenient location. We love being so close to the Magnificent Mile, the Loop and all the great city of Chicago has to offer. We will talk with our team members regarding the additional patrons at the hotel and conduct any remedial training as appropriate.

Thank you again and we hope to see you and your wife soon. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

we booked a room thru priceline and after reading some of the reviews we were a little worried...
however, we could not have been more pleased.
this is a slick little hotel that offers a lot for little $.
if you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with a great location, but doesnt sacrifice on quality then this is a great choice. the room was exceptionally clean and updated nicely. while yes, it is a little on the small side it is by no means tiny (we asked for a king size bed and the GM had no problem upgrading us - free of charge).
the staff was courteous and helpful (and quite pleasant) from check in to check out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review- we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We also will pass along your kind words to our courteous (and quite pleasant) team members. We appreciate your comments and hope you can visit again soon.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just spend the weekend at Hotel Felix. Location is fantastic, close to red and brown lines, and many good restaurants. The staff at desk were welcoming and we got our room quickly (got it through Priceline for 78!). Yes, the rooms are small, but at that price, I can't complain. The room is well put together, nice bathroom, flat screen tv and a very comfy bed. Our room was close to elevator so we did not appreciate the noise. If you stay there, stay away from rooms that end from 01-04...they will be close to the elevator. They have free wi-if throughout the hotel (nice!), and free coffee/tea from 7-10am in the lobby. We also enjoy LM Bistro, the restaurant at the hotel, as the French food is good and reasonably priced. Also, lobby bar had a good vibe. Overall, good stay, except for the noisy room.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tricky129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit the other weekend. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, comfy beds and complimentary coffee/teas. We too love LM Bistro and we'll pass along your praises to our team members.

Thanks again and come back soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel, was booked thru Price Line. As stated by others the rooms are very small, clean, but small. Bed sits so close to the desk you constantly run into the desk or the bed. Think they only have one room size, during check in I asked for a upgrade, which they promptly did with no extra charge, this put us on the top floor, not a larger room. Also keep in mind the rooms do not have coffee markers, mini bars, or refrigerators. Hotel staff where extremely pleasant. Only complaint I have are the prices in the small cocktail bar area. I know we're in Chicago and you pay a little extra, but really 2 cocktails cost as much in the Signature Lounge atop the Hancock. Go to the Hancock the view is better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thanks for your review. We're glad you had an enjoyable weekend with us. Have a nice day and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

In all my travels in the U.S., Mexico, and Europe, I've never stayed in a smaller hotel room. The bathroom is almost as big as the room itself. I got a great rate of $55 on Priceline and I can see why! The room was clean and the bathroom was actually nice. I prefer a hotel closer to Michigan Avenue. There is a parking garage right across the street that I should have used instead of the $44 valet parking I would not stay here again but I'm not sure how to avoid this if using Priceline as its listed as 4 stars.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bhighlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and amenities. As for the parking, our valet service includes unlimited in and out privileges so it's quite convenient, especially if you know you're going to be using your car often. Thanks again and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A family member made our reservations so we went into this site unseen. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. The room was large compared to the standard "downtown" hotel room. The hotel is located in what's known as River North. The posted rate for the room was $400+. Needless to say, we didn't pay that so deals are available. BUT remember this is downtown Chicago which isn't an inexpensive proposition to begin with. If you're visiting -- bring money.

The facility was clean and well maintained, the shower water hot, the bed comfy and the wireless internet worked well. Out 9th floor room had a view to the south, toward the Loop.

Parking is a bit expensive -- $30+ if you do it yourself or $44 for valet service -- which does include in and out privileges. Despite what the natives say, Chicago's transit works well, and the hotel is equidistant from the Brown line El and the Red line subway. Depending on your Chicago destinations, you may be better off using mass transit rather than driving and trying to park.

We had breakfast one morning at the in-facility LM Bistro. The prices weren't all that exorbitant. The food was hot and delicious and the service quick and efficient.

Room Tip: In general the higher the room number, the further away from the elevators it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and the "excellent" comments. We're happy you were able to stay with us and enjoyed our hotel, location and the beautiful city of Chicago.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#78 of 192 in Chicago
1,615 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 192 in Chicago
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,750 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing