We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #122 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very modern and funky vibe. Clean as a whistle. Great bar. Perfect location to Michigan ave and rush street. Don't pass this one up. We booked it through Priceline for 130 per night for a Wednesday and Thursday. Yes rooms are small but who cares, probably not a place for kids but I guess if the room has 2 beds it would be ok. Great place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our modern, chic and clean decor, our fun lounge bar and our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good experience here, good location across from the hard rock cafe. Not in the core downtown but within walking distance to some good restaurants. Rooms can be a bit small, but reasonably priced for Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonbfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed our convenient location and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I enjoyed my two nights at the Hotel Felix. When you walk into the lobby you are surrounded by a fresh modern feel. Most of the staff was nice and friendly. One in particular young man had a very bad additude but I will try to overlook that. On the contrary, the "door man" was fabulous. He was such a nice sight everytime we entered or exited the hotel. He was very vibrant and friendly, always making sure to help in any way he could. Our room was nice and clean, although it was quite small. Overall I was pleased and would recommend this hotel. Also the location is great, easy access to lots of city fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda11984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay with us! We're thrilled you enjoyed our modern decor and welcoming staff. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our doorman. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Slightly surprised by some of the negative reviews, yes the rooms are a bit on the small side however they are perfectly formed with possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I’ve ever slept in!

Fab city - highly recommend; Yolk for breakfast, Jake Melnick’s for amazing ribs and the Ralf Lauren restaurant for a treat. Oh & 'The Joint' for some cheesy fun!

Room Tip: Ask what size the rooms are if worried by reviews, would be a shame to miss out because of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Butterfly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us (and our comfy beds) and also took advantage of all our wonderful city has to offer. We hope you have a great day, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

...because the staff is friendly, the rooms very clean with bathrobes (which I need in a good hotel), but the rooms are tiny. That being said, the beds are comfy and the amenities very nice. The spa is also very nice and you can get deals. We were there in a wedding block. Since we had a post-wedding brunch we asked for a later check out and the front desk was not very accommodating. All in all I believe it is very over priced for what you get.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank kkovach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. We're glad you enjoyed our hard working staff, comfy bedding and upscale amenities. While our rooms are cozy in nature we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

How this hotel was rated a 4-star, I'll never know. It's a 3-star at best. Although we booked on Priceline, and could not choose the type of room we wanted in advance, I called the hotel two weeks prior to arrival to request a king-size bed. The gentleman who spoke to me assured me that it was noted in our reservation. Not so. First, we were sent to a room with two doubles. Second, we were told that no kings were available, and the best we could do was a queen. We settled for that, but were just dumbfounded at how TINY the room was. When we again inquired about moving, we were told that our current room was the largest size in the hotel! The bathrooms are so small that they cannot accommodate two people at the same time. The maid service was shoddy - one day she only left us one "glass", i.e., plastic cup. My husband liked the location, but for me, five blocks off Michigan Avenue is three too many. Never again!

Room Tip: Good luck! There aren't any, from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. We're looking into the issue you raised and are conducting remedial training as necessary. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and amenities. We hope you have a nice day and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice location. Booked on Priceline and paid over $200.00. I feel $150.00 would have been a fair price. Definitely not a four star Hotel! Room was uncomfortably small. Queen beds. Hallway was dirty but the room was pretty clean. Would not stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. While our rooms are cozy in nature we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,123 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#79 of 192 in Chicago
1,663 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 192 in Chicago
3,936 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#94 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#69 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $83 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing