We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Advertised”
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #119 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

How this hotel was rated a 4-star, I'll never know. It's a 3-star at best. Although we booked on Priceline, and could not choose the type of room we wanted in advance, I called the hotel two weeks prior to arrival to request a king-size bed. The gentleman who spoke to me assured me that it was noted in our reservation. Not so. First, we were sent to a room with two doubles. Second, we were told that no kings were available, and the best we could do was a queen. We settled for that, but were just dumbfounded at how TINY the room was. When we again inquired about moving, we were told that our current room was the largest size in the hotel! The bathrooms are so small that they cannot accommodate two people at the same time. The maid service was shoddy - one day she only left us one "glass", i.e., plastic cup. My husband liked the location, but for me, five blocks off Michigan Avenue is three too many. Never again!

Room Tip: Good luck! There aren't any, from what we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. We're looking into the issue you raised and are conducting remedial training as necessary. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and amenities. We hope you have a nice day and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice location. Booked on Priceline and paid over $200.00. I feel $150.00 would have been a fair price. Definitely not a four star Hotel! Room was uncomfortably small. Queen beds. Hallway was dirty but the room was pretty clean. Would not stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. While our rooms are cozy in nature we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

While I was concerned after reading several reviews, I must admit, the hotel is quite wonderful. Granted, per American standards, the rooms are small. However, the hotel more than makes up for that in other ways. My room was very clean and the housekeeping staff sincerely take pride in their work and ensuring that you have a well kept room. The bed was very comfy.

The hotel staff is truly the foundation of Hotel Felix. Every person I encountered was kind, respectful, courteous, helpful, and very personable in the way they deal with guests. They greet you upon entry every time. The bell and valet staff are equally as delightful to deal with. The only exception would be the gentleman who works the Midnight shift. He is curt, somewhat rude, and too busy playing with his cell phone to really be helpful.

The hotel offers a nice lobby bar as well. The LM Bistro in the lobby offers wonderful food and the butter lettuce salad is awesome. The staff there is also very accomodating and courteous.

Quite frankly, you will sacrifice the size of a typical American hotel room, but the quality of service you receive tips the scale by far. I am in hotels 15-25 nights per month on business and have stayed at more elaborate and pricier hotels in Chicago but did not receive the level of guest service I did at Hotel Felix. I will choose it again when in Chicago. Great service trumps the size of the room for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottHSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay with us! We're thrilled you enjoyed our hardworking staff, we work hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience and we're so glad you did. We're also happy you enjoyed our new neighbor, LM Bistro, the fantastic restaurant that is adjacent to our hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'm writing this as I sit perched on the edge of the bed, which happens to be just inches away from the desk in my closet, I mean "room", that I purchased through Priceline at Hotel Felix. I didn't realize until I read another review on TripAdvisor that Hotel Felix likely saves these microscopic rooms just for Priceline customers. The size of the room is a joke - I feel like I'm at a budget hotel in Europe, except that I'm not ... so the fact that I can barely walk around the bed and the "desk" is 12 inches deep with no desk chair is unacceptable. The bathroom has a pedestal sink so there is no counter space. Anyone with a tendency toward claustrophobia should steer clear. Priceline should NOT represent this as a four star property if this is the type of room that Hotel Felix provides its guests.

Room Tip: Don't book through Priceline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. While our rooms are cozy in nature, they are consistent with room sizes of hotels in major metropolitan areas and we're proud to be Chicago's first LEED certified hotel. Thank you again and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My mom was able to book three rooms at this hotel for a very reasonable rate. The lobby is very modern and funky, and we had a wonderful time having cocktails by the fireplace before we went out for the night.

The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, and the bed was comfortable. However, the room was EXTREMELY small. We didn't have a very convenient place to store our bags and the sink was not a full vanity so it was difficult to set anything on the sides. It was a little difficult for my husband and I to walk around at the same time without bumping into each other or furniture.

So would I recommend this place? If you're staying for a night (maybe two) and you just want a comfortable bed to sleep in, then yes, I think you'll be happy at Hotel Felix for the price. It's in a great location just a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and steps to many great restaurants. But if you are staying longer or you plan on spending a lot of time in your room, you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed some quality time with your mom by our cozy fireplace. We're also thrilled you enjoyed our clean, chic rooms and comfy bedding. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I just got back from Chicago where we stayed at the Hotel Felix for 7 days, 6 nights through Priceline. We were concern about the quality and size of the rooms after reading people reviews. This hotel will not work if you have a big group of people sharing a room or a family with teenagers. However, for us, this was perfect since our children are 4 and 1 years old. Easy for us to keep an eye on them. Plus, my wife prepared herself with the lack of storage space by purchasing over the door storage bag for our toothpaste and she used the ironing board as another table for the kids snacks/bottles.
When we arrived at the hotel we specifically ask the front desk for a room with a bathtub since we needed one for our children (one other reviewer on here recommended that upon check-in and that worked). We got Room 203 which is slightly bigger in comparison to other people photos on here. We had no view except some big vent/machinery outside (doesn't make a noise). But we couldn't care less since we were only going to sleep in the room at night and be out during the daytime. By the way, in case you sleep past 9 am M-F, be prepared for some drilling and hammering by the construction people. This didn't bother us since we wanted to start the day early, but this WILL NOT WORK for those that sleep until noon.
Overall, we had a good experience with Hotel Felix. The doorman were nice and the location was great for the subway system. We actually walked all the way to Navy Pier, Hancock building, and the Sears Tower by foot. Walgreens is great if you need any late night snack/souvenirs.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, ask for one with a bath tub! It will be slightly bigger (but you may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GZLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay! We're thrilled you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we're very happy we helped give you a great experience. We hope to see you again soon! Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Priceline SCAM, Bait & Switch – After submitting a Priceline bid over $250 for a 4 star hotel the Priceline systems responded with message for a one time opportunity to bid $348 which I did and got a room at the Hotel Felix Chicago, 111 West Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60654. There is no way this hotel and room was a 4 star. I am extremely disappointed and feel that Priceline took advantage of me on this purchase. The room I stayed in was exceedingly small; the closet was a small cubby hole with a curtain rather than a door and a bar that came straight out for hanging clothes so the only visible item on a hanger was the first one. The bathroom was exceedingly small no counter, a shower that was like that in a high school locker room. There was almost no desk space for working and no chair for relaxing.
Looks to me like Hotel Felix has regular rooms and separate one for Priceline...
The room I was not at all like how the Hotel Felix describes rooms on their website: “We offer three exceptional and unique types of room accommodations designed to provide the ultimate escape from the everyday hustle and bustle. All of our downtown accommodations are equipped with plush furnishings, contemporary flair and upscale amenities. If you have work to do, efficient workstations with comfortable seating provide the productive solace you need.”

I rate this as horrible because it was a bait & switch for $348. The Room was not even up the standards of Rd Roof Inn.

Room Tip: Don't fall for Priceline SCAM, Bait & Switch when they give you an opportunity to bid a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BizTravelerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay. Regarding the size of our rooms, we're proud of our eco-friendly efforts and amenities. Regarding reservations, we book our guests in rooms based on what is available at the time of booking. As Chicago's first LEED certified hotel, we work hard to give our guests a wonderful experience. In the future, please communicate your concerns with one of our team members are we will do our best to help you. Thank you and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#78 of 192 in Chicago
1,615 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#61 of 192 in Chicago
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 192 in Chicago
1,750 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $95 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing