We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Felix was clean,affordable,good location,and professionable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #116 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Felix was clean,affordable,good location,and professionable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

When searching on line for hotels I found them very expensive. Felix was perfect for vacationers on the go. Very clean, professional,great location for walking,and affordable. Don't let the name influence your decision-if your looking for a quiet hotel without all the bells and whistles this would be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us while you were in the Windy City. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our top-notch customer service and convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    594
    324
    143
    118
See reviews for
223
587
156
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I wasn't as bothered by the size of the room as some, but I did feel super cramped in the halls. Passing a housekeeper with cleaning supplies or another traveler with luggage is definitely a tight squeeze...but the halls aren't where you spend your time, so no big deal. The bathroom was a good size, but didn't have an exhaust fan. Every time we used the shower the entire room became stuffy/humid. The sink looked nice but wasn't very deep, which might not have been so bad if the spout was taller. Overall, the hotel was OK. It was nicely decorated, clean, and in a walkable location close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and for staying with us while in the Windy City. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and our chic, hip, urban decor. We're also happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Thanks and please visit us again the next time you're in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

As some reviewers have said, the rooms are a little small, but not, as some people say, tiny. My wife and I were quite comfortable in it. Although we were easily able to walk over to Michigan Avenue or the red line subway, it would have nice to have been a bit closer to Michigan. It was quiet, well-kept, and very clean. My wife would have preferred a coffee-maker in the room, but that's what husbands are for--hunting and gathering. I believe we got it through Hotwire; for that price it was a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us in Chicago. We're pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your time with us. To keep in accordance with our green standards, we offer guests complimentary local Metropolis artisan coffee in the lobby. We hope you have a wonderful day and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Overall the hotel is OK. The rooms and public areas are clean. My biggest complaint was everything felt cramped. The rooms are SMALL, which at first I didn't think was a big deal since we were hardly in the room anyway.... but then I kept hitting my knee on the bed frame and OUCH! Also, the bed was "queen" size, but it must have been some sort of mini-queen because I'm 5'3" and my feet were hanging off the edge. Other than everything feeling small, everything else was fine. Location is good; plenty of dining options nearby. Paid $23 for overnight parking at the garage across the street. (which is cheap by Chicago standards) I got the room on hotwire for $75 so over all, we were satisfied with our stay. We spent our 2nd night at the Hotel Sax which we enjoyed a ton more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKatChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and for staying with us during your visit to the Windy City. We're thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the Mag Mile and the exciting Gold Coast. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we pride ourselves on our eco-friendly standards and amenities. Thank you, please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I don't want to sound like a broken record but I will agree with everyone. I Pricelined the Hotel Felix and I called the hotel and they would not guantee a room with two beds till day of. Of course when we checked in they told us the Hotel was sold out and we got a room with only one bed. It was a nice little hotel and clean. It had everything we needed for our two night stay. I would not choose it again because of the bedding situation. It was close to everything (bars, restraunts, shopping, ect...)

Room Tip: Hopefully you get two beds if you are requesting them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review following your visit with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps from the city's finest shopping. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we pride ourselves on our eco-friendly standards and amenities. Regarding room availability, we place guests in rooms based on what is available and what they booked. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Felix hotel is a boutique hotel, silver LEEDS-certified, right in downtown.

Pros:
good and friendly customer service at the front desk and room cleaning
nice bed with quality linens
very hot water and pressure (especially considering it’s a green building)
nice black out curtains
nice free toiletries (H2O+)
good location about 4 blocks from the “L” (metro)
good and friendly customer service at the front desk and room cleaning
décor was modern, chic, urban
right by a Walgreens and Whole Foods for convenience
certified green...stay with good conscience

Con:
TINY ROOM (there were only very narrow slits on each side of the bed to move around and really no place to sit except the bed...hotel calls it "cozy")
sink was very shallow and water splashed everywhere
TV was small, very few channels, and 4 of them are sports
no free coffee maker in the room
no mini fridge
only one type of pillow and it’s quite firm
no night light switch option on any of the lamps
alarm clock wasn't working
no trash can (fixed when we asked for one at front desk)
valet is $42/day and garage across the street is $30/day (very expensive)

We found this deal on Hotwire where they didn’t tell us the name, location, or reviews. They only revealed to us the number of stars and approximate neighborhood. Seeing that it was 4-stars and located in downtown, and that it was super cheap, we booked it.

Overall, it wasn’t too disappointing since all our needs were met. But this is NOT a 4-star; maybe 3 or 3 ½.

The main concern was how TINY the room was. Good thing we only used our room to sleep. We came home from our trip and were so happy how much bigger our home bedroom was that we will never take it for granted again.

For $61/night, we may book again…but not for any higher.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cieuxclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Chicago. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our exceptional customer service, upscale ~H20+ amenities and convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we take pride in our environmentally friendly hotel features and amenities. On your next stay, please let us know if you have questions about the hotel during your visit. We offer complimentary local Metropolis artisan coffee in the lobby. We hope you have a wonderful day and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel. The rooms are indeed smaller than one would expect from typical American hotel rooms, however if you are coming from Europe the size will not be an issue. Everything was perfect - the maid service, the staff were courteous and kind. We needed to move our room because the HVAC was loud in our first room and the front desk readily accommodated us. I think the majority of folks who have an issue with the size have incorrect expectations that this will be an enormous Holiday Inn hotel. Of course it isn't, however it is very nice and certainly deserving of the 4 stars it receives from this website.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverush000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and they will be passed onto our staff. We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Godfrey Hotel Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#62 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#102 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: 111 W Huron St, Chicago, IL 60654-8706
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Chicago
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-star boutique luxury hotel in hip River North district, steps to Mag Mile / Galleries / Clubs. Sophisticated Accommodations; Relaxed Rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing