We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fabulous hotel!”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I dont usually use tripadvisor to write reviews but felt i needed to recommend this hotel!. It is in an excellent location, a very short distance from mag mile, bearing in mind i stayed there when it was -8 degrees, short distances were very important. The rooms are big enough for a weekend break, they had a huge bed- i stayed in king size with tons of pillows and very warm. Air conditioning and heating was very good. The room was very clean with free wi-fi which was a definate plus!. had a big enough wardrobe with a safe inside - very handy. Bathroom was very nice, not the biggest but had enough space. The hotel offers free breakfast which was very nice, it also offers a very well organised luggage storage room before check in and after check out. The lounge is very pleasant and a nice area to relax after the stress of travelling. the staff are very helpful and cant do enough to help. As with any american hotel the cleaning staff are very prompt so if you like a lie in, i recommend the do not disturb sign!. This is an EXCELLENT hotel, i would recommend to anyone, certainly at a bargain price for the facilities it offers. ps. It is well worth visiting Giardanos the italians down the street, AMAZING food!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    454
    199
    73
    30
See reviews for
166
308
118
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Needed three rooms with two beds each, none available, also no rollaways available. We had to reserve three rooms with one bed each and were told we could use air mattresses. When we arrived in the room, we understood why no rollaways were available, there is no room for them! In all my traveling I have never seen a room so small. Disappointed in front desk staff, as we all stood in the lobby, they knew there was no way two adults and two teenagers would fit in each room. Also should legally not be allowed. It was extremely noisy all night long, dirty and old feeling.
Gives the franchise a bad reputation. Shocked at the other reviews, it is not a nice property, there are much better options for the same price!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mtkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Considering its downtown location and free hot breakfast, this hotel had a decent rate. The decor in the renovated rooms is... interesting. Different than the usual Holiday Inn format and not over the top. I guess this is a boutique hotel?

However, don't expect much storage area. My room had no dresser or place to put my suitcase. The closet lost part of its space to a small 3-drawer cabinet about the size of a 2-drawer file cabinet. That was the *only* drawer space in the room. Even the desk doesn't have drawers. The room sleeps 2 but I was glad I was solo on this trip. The contemporary squarish sink didn't drain too quickly. And I have yet to stay in a mid-priced hotel with decent toilet paper.

Otherwise, this was a great place. The staff was very friendly, especially the doormen. The room was clean. Free Internet worked fine although I had fewer problems using the wired connection than the wireless (so bring a LAN cable). Lighting and desk space was good. A/C was adequate although it needed some time to cool down the room when I first arrived. I was about a 15-20 minute walk from the buildings around the river which is where my conference was located, and maybe 30 minutes from several museums. The Go shuttle to Midway Airport arrived within a couple minutes of the planned time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkhPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a business trade show Oct 4th and 5th - originally planning to spend just one night. The staff was extremely accomodating - the door man was exceptionally pleasant & the place was clean and well maintained. The building itself is old, the rooms are nothing fancy, but the service was great and there was a full breakfast buffet included in the price. A great location & a great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was nice enough, nothing special. Rooms were very small but we knew they would be going in. The location was the selling point. Very close to John Hancock, shopping mall, and bus lines. The breakfast was pretty good, alot to offer. If you can get a good price (we paid $79.00) it is a good place to lay your head.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We got a great deal on hotwire for this hotel. The location is perfect for site seeing. The magnificent mile is a few blocks away, as well as the Sears (or Wilson's) Tower. The staff is very pleasant and always greeting and saying "welcome" when you come into the hotel.
The room size is very small though, or as the staff put it, "cozy" but that can be expected for a downtown hotel. The rooms are clean. The breakfast is good, with eggs, cereal, cinnamon buns, etc.
Overall a good deal for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasoned_traveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

At the last moment, I decided to visit our daughter in Chicago. She lives in Wicker Park and has a neatness challenge, Last minute guests are not her strong suit. So I went on a web site and found this hotel for an incredible rate of $59. This included a hot breakfast. The hotel is in an excellent location and is walking distance from museums and shopping, the el and buses. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. The only problem was the size. I was traveling for two days. The chest of drawers consisted of a file cabinet inside the closet which held only five hangers. At checkout, the staff told me that if my spouse came they could put in a rack for additional clothes. This would not have been possible. For the solo traveler this was a great deal. It is across the street from a Trader Joe's. Hot shower was great. I would stay again but not at a traditional Chicago rate. There were many families there and seemed to be doing well. It is not a room for anyone with a cane or walker but all in all, a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMagMile, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 5, 2009
Thank you for choosing Hotel Cass, Holiday Inn Express for your accommodations during your recent trip to Chicago to visit your daughter! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back when you return to the Magnificent Mile. Take care!

-The Hotel Cass Holiday Inn Express Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing