We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are right-Cheap Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #114 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed November 15, 2005

The reviews I read about this hotel were very accurate. If you want expensive towels, shampoos and such, then you will be very disappointed with the hotel. If you want to be downtown right in the middle of all the fun without spending a fortune, and you want a safe, clean hotel with a courteous staff, then you will be very satisfied. I traveled with my two male business partners. One can be kind of finicky so he wasn't really thrilled with the hotel (until he found out how much money we saved, and used on good food and wine later!) and the other has traveled all over the world and is a little more forgiving. Make sure to take your own travel size shampoo and conditioner, and taking your own towel isn't a bad idea. Or just buy a Chicago souvenir beach towel on your first day and use that. The towels definately need replaced. The beds are small, but the linens are clean and the beds are comfy. My remote control didn't work great, I think it needed a new battery, but I didn't come to Chicago to watch TV, so I made do. The rooms are small, actually tiny. If you ever traveled to Europe during college on a budget, then you probably stayed at hotels just like this one. But the best thing about the hotel is it's location. You are only a block or two from some of the best food, shopping and nightlife in the US. Go with VERY low expectations and you won't be disappointed. The neighborhood is safe, the hotel is well maintained overall, and I felt very safe there. The staff was very accomodating. My purse was stolen (be careful...Chicago is a thief/scammer paradise...don't put your purse over the back of your chair, do NOT stop for anyone offering a shoe shine, and don't set your purse at your feet) and the staff was so helpful with calling the police, letting me make calls and use the internet to get all my cards cancelled. I will stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank asingerkeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2005

My wife and I stayed from Nov. 4-7. We had a great time in Chicago and a great stay at the Cass. I made reservations directly since my online booking experiences of late have left me a little skiddish (ask for one thing get something totally different). The staff was friendly, the room was clean, no problems with housekeeping. Much better than at other far more expensive places we stayed at. We stayed in room 702 and were very satisfied. Plenty of hot water, enough TV channels. As others have mentioned bring your own shampoo, we brought towels but what was there was acceptable, to each his own. The bed was OK, the room size was OK. We were there to see Chicago, not hang in the room all day.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. As others have noted you can not beat the location. Short walk to Navy Pier, Water Tower, right around the corner to Michigan Ave. Restaurants, shops, public transit, both El and bus, was perfect. Very safe feeling, if you've been to Wash. DC you know what I mean.

The Cass Hotel website is very informative with good info. We flew into O'Hare took the El just like the info said, no problems.

If you want to save the big bucks to spend elsewhere, stay here.

Stayed: November 2005
17  Thank Kpthook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lincoln, England
17
Reviewed November 8, 2005

The Cass hotel is just what it claims 'Clean room, comfortable price'. It is in a fantastic loctaion, in this beautiful city. We were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go, even the Lincoln Park Zoo (although it is bit further, but well worth going too). Go up the John Hancock Centre if you get the chance it is just a short walk from the hotel and you get amazing view of Chicago. We really enjoyed our stay, good sized clean rooms, with room for clothes, a desk, bedside tables, televison (great range of channels) and nice bathrooms. Internet in the hotel loby, ice machine, there is also a bar attached although I can't comment on it as we didn't use it. Hotel is in easy walking distance CTA station which is a cheap , quick and easy way to get to O'Hare airport. Overall a very enjoyable stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2005

For less than 80 dollars (including tax) you get... a hotel room about a block from the Magnificent Mile for under 80 dollars. You don't get a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron or alarm clock - not even shampoo. (Since my last visit, they've also stopped leaving pens.) Also, I doubt anyone has ever stolen the rather small, rather rough towels. The furnishings of my room seem shabbier than I'd recalled, and this place may have the slowest elevators of any hotel in Chicago.

So much for negatives. One doesn't go to Chicago to stay in a hotel room, and I've always had a decent night's sleep here. The cable TV service is actually pretty good and includes at least one station where you can always get a local weather forecast quickly. There's a cheap coffee shop on the main floor where you can get (only) breakfast without paying for a dinner, and a coin laundromat. The desk help does what little it can in terms of info and advice. The original Pizzeria Uno and Due (the first "branch") are within a block, buses and the Red Line El within two. Note: the immediate area can seem deserted and spooky at night.

If you demand creature comforts, look elsewhere. If you want a cheap room where you can sleep and keep your stuff, this could be your place.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

My husband and I have stayed at the Cass Hotel on 2 occasions in the past year and have to say that overall we agree with the reviews on this website. A good, cheap, no frills hotel in an excellent location. The rooms we stayed in were reasonably clean (except for a couple of bug bites which we suspect came from the beds), the bathroom was basic but adequate and the staff in the cafe and the front desk couldn't have been more helpful.

The location of the hotel is definitely it's selling point, even as UK tourists new to the area we felt safe walking back to our hotel late at night.

Stayed: August 2005
4  Thank tobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2005

We stayed on the the thirteenth floor, room 1412, and it was exactly what it said it was "downtown location without the downtown price". Room was clean and was cleaned every day. There was a fridge in the room which was good for drinks etc. Friendly staff and excellent value and if you intend to be out of your room every day and do not need all of the extras for which you pay double in other hotels (pool, gym etc.) then this is the place. A few minutes from Michigan Ave. Get a CTA pass for $20 for the week and get all the trains and busses plus your trip from O'Hare and back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2005

We were looking for somewhere basic and cheap to stay in Chicago since we would only be staying a couple of nights, and our priority was sightseeing and being out and about.
Having said that, while all we wanted was something basic, we assumed a certain bottom line - like having your bed made and rubbish emptied daily. Nope. Our room was never cleaned. Despite calling this to the attention of reception, not even an apology was forthcoming. The response was 2 no. clean towels. Not a set. 2 towels. And no cleaning.

The hotel is in a good locaiton. It's a bit rough around the edges and would probably be a lot more pleasant with a lick of paint here and there and more modern furniture. But with all the best will in the world... it is a little bit grotty. Even for a cheap hotel. It just isn't clean (or cleaned!!!), and doesn't add to an enjoyable experience. The staff, while not blatantly rude, are definitely not friendly nor helpful.

If you are anyway sensitive to these things, or generally expect a certain basic standard, then don't waste your money. You'd be better paying that little bit extra for a slightly nicer place. If these things don't bother you; and you would sleep anywhere with a roof, then you'll be fine.

Bottom line: yep, great location. But, conspicuously, that's the only thing even the hotel itself promotes. There's more to a hotel than its location, and there are plenty of good value hotels in this general area. Don't be fooled.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shellmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 191 in Chicago
732 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
FieldHouse Jones
FieldHouse Jones
#91 of 191 in Chicago
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $70 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing