We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed July 2, 2005

Let me preface this review with the fact that I'm used to cheap accommodations. With the Cass, you get what you pay for. Curtains were falling apart, bathroom smelled of a ripe sewer (though it was unseasonably hot at the time), there was a smear of dead mosquitoes on the wall, and when I tried to take a shower, the water was brown with rust. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2005

My 4 night stay at the Cass was great. The room with 2 beds was plenty spacious and included a refrigerator. The air conditioner kept me cool and comfy in spite of the 95 degree days I got to "enjoy." Sure, the bathroom is small and the towels were kind of thin, but good enough to dry me off. The shower had good pressure. My room overlooked the garden of the historic house on Erie, around the corner. And I loved having a drink with the regulars in the Sea of Happiness Bar. If you can find a comparable hotel in the area, go for it, but I think you'll be hard-pressed to find one.

Stayed: June 2005
13  Thank Gawdpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

I have stayed at the Cass twice, once in June, 2002, and just this month; both trips were for nearly a week each. I was pleased overall on both stays. The first year, I booked on line for $69. This time, the internet specials were not available, so I called and got a room with a King bed for $99. Other hotels were renting rooms at no less than about $299 during the same time period. My room was clean, furnishings OK, and even had a refrigerator. The lighting was not necessarily the best, and there was no shampoo. However, for $200 a day, I can buy a lot of shampoo! In fact, with that savings I could also buy a nice bath towel if I had so desired. And, I didn't rent the room to be awed by mood lighting! The location is excellent, with several good restaurants right in the area, and just 2 blocks from Michigan Ave. The room had no view, but it was very quiet since it was not facing the street. I have not ever seen anyone there that would fit the description of "undesirable". I will definitely stay at the Cass again.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank AlabamaTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2005

We had been trying since January to find a reasonably priced hotel for our trip to Chicago in late May. Everything within reason was well over $200 for a convenient location. Since we don't have much room for compromise in the cleanliness category, we were reluctant to take a chance with a more economical two star hotel. After doing lots of research, we decided to take a chance on the Cass Hotel located two blocks off of North Michigan Avenue. Upon entering the lobby, we were really concerned about we had gotten ourselves into. There is absolutely no ambiance, few ammenities, and a very sparce feeling. Our room was pretty much the same and without any view. HOWEVER !!! it was as clean as a whistle. The room itself was fairly roomy, adequate bathroom, not one single odd aroma, freshly laundered bedspreads. The best part of our decision to stay here was that the location relative to what we had planned to do could not have been any better. If you're looking for a hotel with more than bare bones economy, don't waste your time. If you want a clean, convenient place to shower and sleep, this just might fit your needs.

17  Thank gec1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2005

Compared to the surrounding high class hotels Cass hotel is kind of shabby but still the rooms are clean without any indulgence. Make sure you get a room where the windows can be opened, my room was smoky when I arrived, after one and a half days one could stay in it without getting a headache. There's a breakfast café in the lobby but I didn't eat there but the first morning when I was supposed to get a free welcome breakfast (if that's part of your travel offer, too, get a coupon at the reception desk). The location is fantastic, two short blocks to Magnificent Mile, short distances to Navy pier and Chicago river, subway Grand station not too far. If you're outdoors most of the day - why not!?

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Lomea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
113
Reviewed May 23, 2005

My husband and I, plus my aunt and college-age cousin, stayed at the Cass Hotel for three nights in early May, 2005. This is a great location, at a bargain price.

My husband and I had a small room located next to the elevators on the 7th floor. It had one double bed. Although it was very small, it suited us just fine. We pretty much were only in the room to sleep and shower. It was clean, quiet, and had a window that opened. Our towels were a little on the thin and small side, but they were clean. We didn't actually turn on the TV but apparently they do have cable.

My aunt and cousin had a room with 2 double beds, and their room was significantly larger, with two windows (again, one that opened). Again, it was clean and quiet, and they had no complaints.

The front desk staff was friendly, especially the night desk guy. There is a small coffee shop that serves breakfast in the morning, which we didn't eat at. The Sea of Happiness lounge is indeed friendly! I think that they may be renovating the hotel, as we saw workers during our stay. If you stay here, walk around the corner to see the amazing and historic home that's right next door.

Again, the price was right, the location was great, and it was clean and safe. It's not the Park Hyatt, but it's easy on the budget. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Orleans
112
Reviewed March 7, 2005

When we vacation, we like to spend more $$ on outdoor activities than our room. This was the perfect place to crash -clean, comfy bed. We've stayed here twice, and the 2nd time they already had newer, softer towels and some renovated rooms. I love the authenticity of the building, and of course the LOCATION!! I recommend Cass Hotel if you plan on spending more time and money outdoors than indoors.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#122 of 192 in Chicago
712 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#145 of 192 in Chicago
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $75 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing