We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveler rating
284
503
236
82
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
503
236
82
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallthe magnificent milegreat locationfree breakfastyogurttwo blockstrader joesdowntown chicagothe breakfast areamag mileplace to sleepnavy piermichigan avefront desk staffwalked everywherean older hotelself park
Filter
Updating list...
978 - 983 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2004

It has no ammenities and looks a little sketchy when you first enter but the rooms were immaculate and the location is prime. Don't be scared off this place will work nicely if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vacation15250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2004

After reading the reveiws for the Cass Hotel, I was a little worried that we were going to stay in some kind of crack den, bum hotel with cockroaches the size of small dogs.....far from it....the room was clean, spacious and bath was recently updated. Was it the Drake or the Four Seasons, no, but for the price it was perfect...the location was close to everything and i will stay there again. As for the itchy towels, ours were big, clean and fluffy. If you are a big snob, go to the Drake, we won't miss you at the Cass.

8  Thank Relax30809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2004

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little leery about staying at the Cass. Having stayed there about 6 years ago, before renovations, my memory of the rooms was not so great: dingy overall, with stained up carpeting and an ancient sink in the bathroom. However, I need not have worried. For $84 a night on 4th of July weekend in the heart of downtown Chicago, the room was fine! Everything is updated and fairly new, and we even had a little fridge! The staff was friendly and the cafe was reasonable. Even the towels were not that bad! :-) For the price and location, I certainly can't complain. I would definitely stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lilspinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2004

We stayed at the Cass June 2004 (we just arrived home). The rate was good for the location. You definitely get the dorm room feel of the place. The rooms are small and the beds a bit uncomfortable we didn't sleep well there. The bathrooms were clean, but no frills so bring your toiletries and hair dryer if you stay. I agree with the other reviewers on the towels, very thin and scratchy. One of the best parts was the location. Next to Bloomingdale's, Uno's and Due's pizza just down the street. A couple blocks from Michigan Ave where you can catch the free trolley's to take you all over town. Not sure I would stay here again, but the price is definitely right for the location.

9  Thank felinefine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2004

FOR ALL WHO READ THIS…HEED THE WARNINGS!

After finding the Cass hotel online, we knew it would not be five star accommodations, but the location looked good and the hotel was cheap ($94). We saw some of the negative reviews but gave it the benefit of the doubt. The rooms are tiny, dirty and disgusting. And yes, the towels are very thin and scratchy. To elaborate here is an account of the nine horrible hours we stayed at the Cass Hotel:

After seeing the rooms, we complained and were moved up to the “suites” on the 16th floor. They will not tell you that they have the suites…they are reserved for the manager’s family in case they come into town. The suites were actually nice with remodeled bathrooms. The pictures on the website are of suites and not the regular rooms.

When we arrived one of the two elevators was being worked on. Later that evening, after it was supposedly fixed, it dropped five floors when we were in it. Shortly after someone else was stuck in it. Yet, we stayed on…

Even later that evening, as we got ready to go out, we noticed the fire trucks pulling up in front of the hotel. However, the smoke alarms were not going off, and we assumed it was for the person stuck in the elevator. Luckily, one of the girls went out in the hallway and smelled the smoke. After walking down sixteen flights of stairs we found out the water heater in the basement caught fire.

We may have given the hotel one last chance if the situation was not handled so poorly. The management did not address the situation, no one said, “We are sorry, but the fire has been extinguished, you may now return to you rooms.” The front desk proceeded to check in other guests through all of this.

After returning to our room, to pack up our belonging, we checked out the smoke detectors, which lacked one important item…a battery. This is the point we relocated to the lovely Holiday Inn – Navy Pier ($149). Paying the extra $50 was definitely worth it for piece of mind.

IF YOU VALUE YOUR LIFE, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!

21  Thank Seaside4676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews