We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms but great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #108 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very small rooms but great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

By God...we were shocked. On a vacation to US and we came from LA tired. We went to Holiday Inn Cass Hotel in Wabash Avenue. Initially we were very happy to find accomodation in the magnificient mile area. But as we entered the room, we were surprised and breathless. My goodness, it was a 10×10 room with the bed occupying the major portion, room no. 1006. There was no room to open our bags. No place to dry our wet clothes..courtesy the weather in Chicago. We contacted front desk but they said sorry for tonight as the hotel was full. We thought of checking out, but it was raining really hard that evening. So we put on for the night. The next morning we went to the front desk and spoke to Mr.Corey. A fine person, Mr. Corey tried his best to solve our problem and gave us room no. 1000. This was a room with a slightly bigger dimension and we were relieved.
Rooms are ok and clean but very very small comparing to American standards.


Location wise, hotel is situated in a very nice location. There are many restaurents in Ontario street a block away. Major attractions like Hancock tower, Navy Pier and the lake beach are close by and within $ 10-15 by taxi.
Breakfast is usual and good. Complementary Wifi is fast. No fridge in room, no irons or rack to dry your clothes.
Service is good. Concergie is avaiable. They were kind to bring the luggage to the rooms.
It is a hotel which is good if you plan to use the room for a night's sleep. Great locational advantage for the low price for the room. Bus and CTA trains to OHare is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utpaljeet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Utpaljeet B,

Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear Corey was able to help you find a room that suited you during your stay. I will pass on the positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our location right in the heart of downtown Chicago steps away from shopping, restaurants, and entertainment,as well as the CTA. Thank you again for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    442
    192
    72
    29
See reviews for
158
293
116
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The best two things about this Holiday Inn Express (housed in the old Cass Hotel) are the location and the price. It is just a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue and multiple bus lines, as well as about 3 blocks from the Red El line. There's a Starbucks and a Trader Joe's across the street and many restaurants and shops a half block away. The rooms and bathrooms are very very small. Upon seeing our room (and I'm a longtime Platinum member), we asked for a larger room and were told we had one of the largest. It was smaller than many European hotels, with a tiny dresser inside a small closet and a super-small bathroom (the tub was full-size but old). The bed was a bit too soft and could stand a new mattress; the room was a little dusty, as though nobody had stayed there in awhile. The included breakfast is the typical HIE type; nothing special, but it's nice to grab yogurt and fruit without having to pay Chicago prices. The cost of this hotel was significantly less than others nearby. Valet parking is available but very expensive ($49); but who needs a car in Chicago? The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The top floors have (slightly) larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AttorneyMom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

A first class location for a Holiday inn Express. Accommodation in Chicago can be very expensive, especially so close to the sought after Magnificent Mile. The hotel rates are not in the usual budget bracket, but in this locality can be seen to be relatively competitive. Whatever price you negotiate, it will include a buffet breakfast, one with many choices.

The Cass is a very old hotel, somewhere around a century or so, and the Holiday Inn chain have, where they can, maintained features. The lift shafts are smaller than present day ones, so, will not be so fast in use. The rooms are based on original structure

The rooms are very compact, you need to be clever in your use of the space. Storage is limited. Every room has a capacious personal safe box. The top of ours made additional shelf space. The equally compact ensuite has all the necessities, and a low level bath/shower. Reasonable quality towels and wash flannels were supplied.

Rooms have air-conditioning. We tried not to use it to keep noise in the room down at night. this may not be possible in the Summer months when temperatures will be different to those we experienced. Our bed was quite comfortable. However, you could feel a bit of a dip in the mattress. The rooms have a tea/coffee, hot water machine with supplies. Being on a higher floor, street noise was minimal even though we were in the heart of a major city.

The Cass is used by many varied groups of people, weekend vacationers, business people and, a few like us, having a longer stay. In particular, at weekends, it can be a very busy place, especially at breakfast. The hotel breakfast staff take it all in their stride. There is a super pancake machine. Press a button and a minute or so later, two beautifully formed and cooked pancakes appear.

City transport is very good. There are buses, underground trains and the metra ( they're like suburban trains). Best to get a transport card if using local transport. The latest one is called A Ventra Card, which you top up at machines found in any station. The Hotel Reception staff can advise on this and most other tourist travel queries as well.

Hotel staff were excellent, reception were efficient, housekeeping was good and staff were friendly. The hotel was maintained to high standards of cleanliness and presentation.

Room Tip: If you don't mind waiting a bit longer for an elevator sometimes, rooms on higher floors are le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi ZAC_ZACL,

Thank you so much for your thorough review. We are a fully renovated historic hotel in the heart of the Loop, and our rooms are comparable in size to similar hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We have amenities that accommodate all travelers including free wifi and a hot complementary breakfast. Thank you again for your review, and I hope to see you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Came back after a few years and everything was still on par with the last stay. Small, but well priced and perfectly located. Staff was great. Breakfast is basic, but good enough. The elevators can be a bit of a problem with as many people that ride them, but I just take the stairs on the way out. Walked all the way south through the parks to soldier field one day, walked north up Michigan to the beach the next. Best value in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi BuckeyeStu,

Thank you for writing a review, and thank you for staying with us again even after all that time. It is a to know that our service and amenities live up to your previous stay and expectations. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in downtown Chicago, and took advantage of the great parks in Chicago. Thank you again for writing a review. Hope to see you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Fran at front desk is exceptionally helpful and informative and provided many valuable tips to make our visit a joy. We would recommend the Cass to friends for it's great location and staff. The rooms are small (very European)...but affordable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMac128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TODD V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi JonnyMac128,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I will pass on the positive review to Fran, at Hotel Cass we pride ourselves on a helpful and friendly staff. I am thrilled to hear that you would recommend the Hotel Cass to friends. Thank you again, and I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Since it's an older hotel, the room I stayed in was quite small (comparable to a dorm room). However, it was conviently located near many CTA connections, Miracle Mile, the river/ Loop area, and a plethora of shops and restaurants. Clean, with a variety of complementary breakfast options. Only issue came when I asked the "best" way to get to Toyota Park and the desk printed off some confusing Google directions. Besides that, the staff was friendly; overall, good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear bloom25,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. It is nice to read about your overall good experience. It is great that our location was beneficial for the purpose of your travel and I thank you for your comments about our friendly staff. On the other hand, we are very sorry the size of the room did not meet your expectations. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again on your next trip to Chicago.


Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms.
I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. Just beware of the extra charges done to your room.

Room Tip: There is no room service/restaurant in the hotel. However, breakfast service is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prizwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear prizwis,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience. We are glad that you chose our hotel for the expo you have recently attended. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you had experienced at check-in. It is nice to know that after some initial issues, the Manager on Duty was able to sort this out and allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. Should your future travel plans bring you back to Chicago, we would love to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#110 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 North Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing