We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - short stopover in chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #112 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great hotel - short stopover in chicago”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were only visiting for 2 nights, however the hotel was great for what we needed.

Hotel is in a fantastic location - lots of little deep dish pizzeria around and close to shopping and major sights.

The staff at front desk were fantastic and went out of there way to organise specialized transport to fit our large amount or luggage for a trip to the airport in the early hours of the morning.

The rooms are small, but have recently been renovated and were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review 233255093! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our helpful staff was able to accommodate you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Windy City. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    469
    213
    76
    31
See reviews for
173
322
122
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a lovely hotel with really helpful polite and attentive staff in a great location 5min walk away from the Magnificent Mile and many other Chicago tourist spots. Ok so the rooms are on the small side but when you are visiting a city you are not in the room much (or you shouldn't be) so wasn't a problem at all. It was clean had a comfy bed clean towels in room safe hairdryer , iPod charger alarm clock what more could you need. Included in the price is a self service breakfast (coffee tea milk juice cereal eggs sausage bagels cinnamon rolls pancakes pastries and fruit. This is a great start for the day it is basic but all you need. I would highly recommend this hotel as its great value provides excellent customer service and is close to all Chicago tourist spots. When i visit Chicago again i will be sure to visit and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Kay O! We're so glad you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago, comfy beds and complimentary hot breakfast. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to our city! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass for 3 nights recently. The hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly, and the rooms were comfy. The rooms are not huge but I am not here to hang out in the room. The hotel is located two blocks from Michigan Avenue and convenient to everything. A great hotel with a wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor overlooking Wabash Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Mark R. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary hot breakfast and convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is located close to the Magnificent Mile and many other downtown Chicago sites. The service was exceptional. We were on a girlfriend get-away weekend, so appreciated the great tips on attractions to see, where to eat, and tours that were worthwhile.
The rooms were small, but well-appointed. This more like a boutique hotel which makes sense once you learn that it is an historic hotel, featuring 1920s Beaux Arts architecture. We were mostly out and about sightseeing so the size of the rooms was not an issue.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello SueSchlicht, thank you for your review! We're so glad you chose to stay with us on your girls trip and that we could be of service to you and your friends. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel Cass is a great place to stay near by Magnificent Mile. I went there to run Chicago Marathon. The hotel is just 1,6 miles from the start/finish line, not bad. You can go walking within 15 minutes. And you are just 2 blocks away from subway station,Michigan Ave (Niketown, Garmin,Apple), 4 blocks away from John Hancock Center (The Cheese Cake Factory, The Northface). The room is kind of small, but is very clean, and remodeled. It is included on the rate a self service breakfast (coffee, tea, milk, juices, yogurt, cereal, eggs, sausage, pancake, cinammon roll, different kinds of breads, apple, banana). All employees were very kind and polite.
A great value for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamatsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello Clamatsui, thank you for your review and congrats on running the Chicago Marathon! We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and convenient location. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The location is good but the rooms are too small, the lobby is upstairs, and doesn't have ramp for strollers or wheel chairs, for 300 dollars a night you can do better. The parking was really expensive. The breakfast is ok, but nothing special

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulinamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your review paulinamm. Our parking is consistent with prices in downtown Chicago; due to the space constraint and dense population of being in heart of the city. Thanks again and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This property was originally Cass Hotel that Holiday Inn took over. They did a complete rehab and did it well. However, rooms are still TINY. Bed and linens all great. Bathroom sink doesnt have sides to put anything. One slim small shelf to put your stuff. Hard to fit two people in same room. It was a great redo but again very small. Employees all very nice, attentive and helpful. Location is excellent. Valet parking$$. Noise level with heater NOT on in our room but in other rooms--you can hear them cycling on and off all night. And, i wore earplugs! Love the blackout curtains. Probably would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello margaretmarie, thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our historic renovations and attentive staff. Thank you again and we hope you have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#145 of 190 in Chicago
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing