We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is our second stay at the Hotel Cass, this time for the Chicago Marathon. The hotel is very nice, even if the rooms are a bit small. The location is exceptional - within walking distance of many major attractions, shopping and restaurants. The value for your stay is top drawer. The front desk staff are very friendly. When I am back in one of my favourite cities, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Hi Peter D, thank you for your review! We're thrilled you gave us the pleasure of hosting you again and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the former Hotel Cass but it's been updated by Holiday Inn Express. Just a couple of blocks off Michigan Ave. and near Water Tower. Wonderful breakfast with large selection of hot and cold items. Good rates. Had a room with 2 dbl beds, small but sufficient. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodleparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Poodleparent, thank you for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast, convenient location and friendly staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I needed a last-minute hotel reservation somewhere near the Loop; nothing fancy, just a clean and convenient place to sleep for three nights. Given that this was Chicago Marathon weekend, options were limited and and very expensive. I managed to get a room at the Cass and, honestly, I wasn't expecting much; it is, after all, a Holiday Inn Express, not a Ritz-Carlton...or even a Hilton. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the hotel is small...the corridors are narrow, the rooms are small, the bathrooms are small...but everything is clean and comfortable and not at all shabby or run-down. And they get the details right, too: comfortable bed, plenty of towels, in-room safe, large TV, ample free breakfast, etc. On top of that, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful; frankly, I would rate them higher on attitude and customer service than the staffs I've encountered at many higher-end hotels. Ownership/management clearly cares about the guest experience and the reputation of the hotel. I can't give the Cass a 5 rating because it doesn't offer a lot of the services of a larger hotel, but for what it is it is very good. If you need a clean, comfortable, well-located hotel near the Loop in Chicago and don't want to spend an arm and a leg, the Cass is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Gary L, thank you so much for your review! We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and are so glad you did. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Taking the train to Chicago and a cab ride to the hotel, I was very impressed with the location, appearance and welcoming staff. The rooms in this restored old hotel are a bit small compared to the modern Holiday Inn Express but the cleanliness and amenities more than make up for the size. And the location is ideal to experience the beauty and excitement of the Second City. I enjoyed the free morning breakfast in the clean eating area and the front desk and door staff were extremely helpful and professional. I enjoyed all aspects of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi DJHerm, thanks for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including our hardworking staff, convenient location in the heart of downtown Chicago, and restored historic property. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Holiday in express has revived historical Chicago Hotel Cass too intelligent beautiful hotel, although the rooms are small for the value and the location you're just minutes from the Magnificent mile is wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osugrad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi osugrad94, thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our restoration of the historic Cass Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Rooms are small, but well
appointed and very clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast was also
very nice with hot options changing daily. Great restaurants nearby and quick walk to
all the fantastic shopping Chicago has to offer

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review tarynsmum. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, including our friendly staff, convenient location and hot complimentary breakfast. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a spontaneous getaway for a long weekend, a week later we arrived in Chicago by bus at 7 AM. We planned on sight seeing for the day until we could check into our hotel at 3... but after a long bus ride and a night of no sleep, we were cranky and miserable. We called the front desk to see if there was ANY way we might be able to check in around noon?-- they told us we could check in that moment, at 7am! They saved the day! we were greeted by VERY welcoming staff, were not charged extra for checking in early, and were told we could enjoy the buffet breakfast-- which was music to our ears, we were starving! We were expecting coffee, juice and bagels, the usual-- but the breakfast was absolutely amazing. Fresh fruit, omelettes, sausage and biscuits and gravy, hot cinnamon rolls, yogurt, anything and everything, with a large, pretty dining room with plenty of room to sit down and enjoy. We stayed on the 9th floor in a standard queen, it was right by the elevator but noise was never a problem. My boyfriend is a very big guy, but the small rooms were never a problem. They were comfy, clean, and a great place to relax after a long day of seeing the city, which was exactly what we needed. No, they are not luxury rooms. No, you should not bring the contents of your entire closet. If you're traveling with kids, I'm sure the double queen rooms would be just fine, unless you're planning on camping out in your hotel room all day. But with such a great location (we walked everywhere!! longest walk was 20 minutes, but we didn't mind, we just got to see even more of the city!) who wants to stay in their room all day? Overall, we had a great time. We had a comfy place to sleep in the heart of Chicago, with very friendly staff and yummy breakfast to start off our days of exploring. Would definitely stay here again, even if we're not on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBerry1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review Kirsten B! We had fun reading your review and are so thrilled you and your boyfriend enjoyed our stay at our property. It sounds like you two enjoyed your Chicago adventure and we're so glad we could be a part of it. We hope to see you again soon, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#150 of 192 in Chicago
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $96 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing