We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and fair price fir downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and fair price fir downtown Chicago”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel location is very good. Close to Michigan Avenue.
Close to business sites Like McCormick place. Close to Navy peers and Chicago River.
The area is safe to walk around.
Price was considered fair fir a downtown hotel.
There is a free breakfast (continental).
Rooms are tight though but they were clean!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your review Bravo1982. We're glad you enjoyed our location in the heart of downtown Chicago, steps away from the city's finest dining, shopping and attractions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    454
    199
    73
    30
See reviews for
166
308
118
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in on a whim when planning my trip to see the Rolling Stones in Chicago. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. The service was great. I was able to check in early on my arrival date which was great. The room was tiny but it was sufficient. I did not find it noisy at all. The beds were comfortable. When I arrived back from the concert late Friday night, the front desk person was able to recommend a local pizza place for late night delivery. Travelling by myself made me very nervous but the staff at the hotel helped make my stay in Chicago very nice!! Going to be back in July for the Bon Jovi Concert at Soldier Field. Can't wait!! The only complaint I have it the door seemed hard to open at times. But that was not enough to spoil my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYTRAVELFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review KYTRAVELFUN! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Between the Rolling Stones and Bon Jovi you're having the ultimate summer! Fantastic. We look forward to seeing you again in July. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights end of May 2013.
Good points: location, staff and WiFi (it works well)
Average points: price, buffet breakfast, cleanliness
Bad points: room too small and noisy (stayed on 3rd floor and could hear next door's shower), not enough electric socket in the room, very basic furniture, tiny bathroom.
Would stay here because of staff and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROS23AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review Alvaro_R_G! We're glad you enjoyed our hardworking staff and convenient location in downtown Chicago. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Room tiny, one- person bathroom, lumpy pillows, no bar, no restaurant, expensive parking. Staff was pleasant but sparse. Best thing is location- walk to Mag Mile, etc. For $349 per night I should have made a different choice! Live and learn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klinggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Klinggoddess, thank you for your review. We offer guests a complimentary full breakfast, consisting of hot breakfast offerings and featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. It's available daily from 6:30am to 9:30am Monday through Friday and 7:00am to 10:00am on Saturday and Sunday. Our valet parking is $49 with unlimited in & out privileges, which is consistent with downtown Chicago parking prices. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good : It was very clean, neat, newly renovated hotel in downtown adjacent to magnificent mile. Many attractions are achievable by walk. Staff was very good and friendly.

Bad: parking is a big problem as this hotel doesn't have their own parking space. Rooms are really very tiny.

All in all, good to stay here if you are not spending much time in room.

Room Tip: Get the higher floors to have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gul53156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review Gul53156. We're glad you enjoyed our hard working staff and our renovations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on recommendation of Trip Advisor. Excellent location only 2 blocks from "Magnificent Mile". (Michigan Ave.) Walking distance to shopping, restaurants. Clean, cozy (rooms are tiny but you don't spend much time there). Staff is friendly and efficient. Continental breakfast definitely a hit. Pancakes too! Three computers available for guest use with a printer. Would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your review djbas! We're glad you enjoyed our location in the heart of downtown Chicago and our hot complimentary breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Downtown hotel rooms in big cities are notoriously small and overpriced. This one was small, but the price was very reasonable given the excellent free breakfast (warm cinnamon rolls, eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereals etc.). As others mentioned, the staff was warm, friendly, helpful. The location is great--2 blocks from Mag Mile and a tour bus stop. We were in 1605--a 2 dbl bed room behind the elevators. We could hear the elevator (CONSTANTLY) but after awhile, it wasn't a problem. The long wait for small elevators during busy times was more of a problem. I agree with the lack of firmness in the pillows and the size of the bathroom. You had to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper, and there is no counter space. There is a work area with extra outlets. The free wi-fi was a nice bonus. The beds were comfortable; the tv was great; there is a full length mirror on the inside of the closet door (not close to an outlet for appliances). The only other small mirror is above the sink in the bathroom. Seemed like a safe area--even at night. Bottom line: would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dskibg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you dskibg for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our delicious hot breakfast spread. The cinnamon rolls are our favorite! We hope to see you and your family again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing