We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, clean, friendly staff, good service, very rich complimentary/free breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, clean, friendly staff, good service, very rich complimentary/free breakfast.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and really liked it. We arrived a bit too early with our luggage. But we just could leave our luggage in the hotel, where it was stored for free in a locked room. So, it was safe and we could go for a walk. The room and bathroom were neat and clean. Only the air conditioning was a bit too loud during the night. The free/complimentary breakfast was very rich. It included, among others, warm muffins, sausages, spread, bread, cornflakes, milk, coffee, tea, several juices, pancakes, yogurt, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is very good, because the hotel is very downtown and just a few meters from the magnificent mile (shopping street). Public transportation is also just a few meters away. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arbus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Arbus86! We appreciate it. Thanks also for choosing us during your stay in Chicago. We're very glad you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    454
    199
    73
    30
See reviews for
166
308
118
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is definitely the best Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed at. The kept the feel of the previous Hotel Cass and it is more boutique hotel than corporate. Rooms are very small, reminiscent of New York and Europe rooms. This is not a problem for me as I never plan on spending much time in my room. They are very clean and well appointed. Very good value in the center of Chicago.
Location couldn't be better. Just a couple blocks from Michigan Ave. and near many restaurants/bars in River North. Just a couple blocks from Trump Tower as well.
Hotel service was good and the breakfast was impressive compared to usual hotel fare. Coffee, tea, and cocoa available 24hrs in the lobby as well.
I go to Chicago 3 or 4 times a year and will definitely stay here on my return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stringman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi stringman25, thank you for your review! We appreciate that you acknowledged our efforts to keep the feel of the previous hotel's charm yet update it to modern standards. Thanks and we're looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip back to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is the perfect location for restaurants and shopping, but holy cow, the rooms are teeny tiny, and the toilet is the loudest I have ever heard. Loved the location as it was close to all our favorite haunts, including Trader Joes just around the corner, but would look to stay elsewhere, as I just couldn't deal with the room size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1cabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello 1cabin, thank you for your review! Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked my room in Feb 14th, and the price was 129 through booking.com ( 1 Standard Room - Non Refundable) Now the price is $99 in booking.com for the same type of room and date with free cancellation!! Can you imagine that!! You book the room in advance to get lower rate and before a couple of dates the price want down with free cancellation!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammasnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello ammasnad. We cannot control the prices of third-party booking sites. If you have a question about your reservation please call us at 877-834-3613. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Sharing Poor Customer service experience: I had to cancel my reservation for 3/14 for an emrgency procedure -which was 2 weeks prior; I noticed they took full price oof stay for deposit . ( please look at small print before booking) I called to see if the hotel could help me with this and refund the deposit ; I called twice; both times wouldn't tranfer me to a manager and the second time they said "sorry your out of luck" and hung the phone up! very highly unprofessional. I guess this is why when I travel for work all year I stay at Marriots- should learn from this..

Room Tip: Read the small print or they will take full deposit without even knowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesclg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Regarding the issue you raised with your phone experience, we're looking into the issue and will conduct remedial training as necessary. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Hotel Cass is perfectly located right off the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. The room was good (if not the largest room I’ve ever stayed in), staff friendly, breakfast the usual and the whole experience enjoyable. Perhaps the best part was the price. I stayed 3 night and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review James! Safe travels back to Australia and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As other's have mentioned, the location is ideal for a tourist or business trip as it's centrally located near all shops, restaurants and other larger hotels in the North Loop.

However the rooms are very small, even by Chicago standards. Additionally the walls were stained and the carpet had something stuck to it. I didn't feel that comfortable in the room from a cleanliness perspective. Half the channels on the TV didn't work well and the remote was sporadic as well. The hallway's seem to have a loud echo so when someone walked and was talking, it was like they were in your room.

On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the internet connection worked great.

I'd recommend other hotels when staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntheRoadAgain917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your review OntheRoadAgain917. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have the best stay possible and anything less is unacceptable. We're looking into the issues you raised. In the future, please don't hesitate to call or speak with us about anything you have questions about during your stay. Thanks again and we hope you have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing