We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #111 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of great shopping, bars, and restaurants on the Magnificent Mile. It maintains the elegance of the 1920s with all the contemporary comforts of a newly renovated hotel. Nice breakfast (though not many vegetarian options) and friendly service. No pool is a bummer. Small but beautiful rooms.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank BJDJW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay. We are very glad you enjoyed our convenient location and proximity to the city's best shopping, dining, entertainment and more! We hope to see you again soon and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for three days in this hotel. It was a very good experience and the location was excellent. Though the rooms were a bit smaller (considering Chicago Downtown property, I wouldn't complain). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends travelling to Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM_WP_YEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review, we're so glad you had a great experience with us and our hardworking, friendly staff. We try our best to ensure our guests have the best stay possible with us. Please visit us again soon and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel last month. Two people really should not be allowed in a room that small. Hardly enough room to walk around the bed to get to the bathroom (tiny, too). Want to read, there is a small hard bench to sit on next to the window. The hotel was convenient and in a good neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettycasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your time. While our rooms are cozy in nature they are comparable to similar sized hotels in the metropolitan Chicago area. Thank you again and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've stayed here before and for the price it's great. Rooms are a bit small as it was an old hotel that was refurbisehd. But they are very clean and comfortable. Walking distance to a lot of tourist sites and restaurants. Staff is very friendly and know the area well.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mhartler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and friendly, hard working staff. We're happy you had such a wonderful experience and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this charming boutique style hotel this past weekend. Everything was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Because I had read the reviews, I was not surprised by the room size, but the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is good sized and it has evverything we needed.

The hotel is walking distance to everything....shopping, on the Magnificent Mile, Trader Joes (for snacks and wine!),bars, the Redhead Piano Bar, Excaliber, restaurants, Harry Carey's, Bub City, M Burger, Petterinos, Starbucks and theaters...the Goodman, and Chicago.

The staff was very accomodating and the continental breakfast was a very nice addition. We will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank childsvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our charming hotel, convenient location and hardworking staff. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The former "Cass Hotel", artfully updated by the Holiday Inn group in 2007, offers the perfect location at an affordable rate! It's an easy train trip from O'Hare (blue line to Monroe, transfer to red line to Grand) and is situated right across from a Trader Joe's, Pizzaria Uno and Due, and near by many other restaurants, museums and shopping options.
The staff is very knowledgable about the city, courteous and professional. The room, while a bit small, was carefully arranged to make it seem a little bigger. There was a nice sized fridge in the room and I especially loved the full size bath tub. The hotel has a workout room that features a treadmill, eliptical, bike machine as well as free weights.
I felt safe there and in the surrounding area - a big deal for a single female traveller. Taxis were also abundantly available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelerfan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location and hardworking and professional staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights last week. Room was small but perfect for just sleeping. It was comfortable and clean. Hotel staff was very helpful. We had the unfortunate experience of our car battery deciding to die on us while we were checking out. The valet (not sure his name, working Wednesday, 1/2 in the morning) helped us find a cab to help jump us. He went above and beyond his duty to help us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay. We're thrilled you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and hard working staff. Thank you for sharing your experience with our valet, we'll pass on your kind words. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#121 of 192 in Chicago
711 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#145 of 192 in Chicago
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $72 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing