We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Return of the Cass Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a number of times before it closed for a complete renovation as a Holiday Inn Express establishment. It was a somewhat bare-bones operation then, but I loved its central location and very reasonable rates. It is even better now: the same convenient location and reasonable rates enhanced by tastefully redecorated rooms with various amenities, a friendly and helpful staff, and a substantial free breakfast that included cheese omelets, biscuits and gravy, sausage patties, pancakes, etc. The hotel also has a business center and a fitness center.

Room Tip: The upper floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tudomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our renovation efforts. We work hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and appreciate your kind words. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights in Oct 2012. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive to customers, rooms and hallways were clean, and the rooms were comfortable. For Chicago, the rooms were good sized as well.
Only negatives, and these are fairly minor: continental breakfast was disappointing and the small-sized elevators made for a long wait during busy times. But we would definitely consider staying at this hotel for our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed our helpful, friendly staff and the property's cleanliness. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The staff at this hotel were absolutely wonderful and accommodating. We were always at the front desk asking for directions, restaurant recommendations, and other information. They were so incredibly helpful. The hotel had flooded the day before we got there, but they were handling the situation very well. My only two complaints are: everything was a little dated and the rooms were very small. The hotel smelled (mostly because of the flooding) and there were a lot of stains or things slightly damaged around the hotel. The breakfast was nice and they had great coffee in the lobby. The location is wonderful, a lot of great restaurants and shopping in walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed our hard working team members. We work hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and are so glad you did! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the central location, and in that respect it didn't disappoint. However, the room was excessively small! We don't usually mind small rooms, but when there is absolutely no storage space for the bags of 2 trans-Atlantic travellers, that I find unacceptable; there was literally no space to store bags without climbing over them. Other than that, cleanliness was good although the decor was showing signs of wear and tear in places. Breakfast was fine and wi-fi excellent. Contrary to other posts, the rooms in this hotel are not bigger than those in Europe; of note, we stayed in another 7 hotels during our road-trip, and every room was at least twice the size, and I'm not exaggerating! In sum, helpful staff, great location, clean but tiny room and a little expensive! Recommend it? Maybe, but travel light!

Room Tip: If you have baggage, make sure there is adequate storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed our hard working staff and convenient location. Regarding the size of our rooms, they are comparable to similar hotels located in downtown Chicago. Thank you again and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels all around the world and this hotel was great. The price could not have been better, the breakfast was good with many options, the room was clean and the staff were SO helpful and nice to deal with, going above and beyond. I had read some reviews that the rooms were a little small, are the rooms huge? No. Are they small? YOUR DOWNTOWN CHICAGO, this hotel is so central to everything its insane to hear people complain. These rooms are much bigger than anything you would find in Europe or New York City! If I am back in Chicago I will be back here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a response on our behalf. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind words about our staff will be passed along. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

There were quite a few hotels to pick from, and I was pleased with our selection. It was interesting to see the suburban HI Express transformed into a downtown boutique hotel. Plusses for downtown: the free breakfast and WIFI! Minuses for those who are used to suburban HIX - small rooms, lots of people offering to "help" (tips...) and pricey parking. The $24 rate is a come-on, desk quoted $39 self-park or $44 valet.

The location is very good. There is a lot to do walking distance.

Overall, I give this a very good rating, because it is a good deal in the city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandPotentate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a lovely hotel that has a boutique feeling rather than a chain hotel feeling. Upon check-in, we discovered we were in a room with only one queen bed although I had booked a double bedded room. We were horrified when we opened the door to the smallest room I have ever seen in a hotel. Literally, there was no space where we could put our suitcases down. There was a tiny desk and we ended up storing our luggage under there. My husband had to turn a garbage can upside down to put his CPAP machine on as there were no end tables. (No room). I called the front desk and offered to pay any price to get upgraded to a double bedded room but the hotel was booked up for the night. We were switched the following morning to a double bedded room with more space. The service from the front desk staff was hot and cold. We had two people who couldn't have been more willing to help, and two who couldn't be bothered. Also, the hotel was on the route to the nearby hospital so expect to hear a lot of sirens. They seem to stop after 10 pm though. One other thing, I could hear constant beeping and after two days came to realize that the adjacent parking lot beeps every time a car in going in or out, so be prepared to hear that noise a lot as well during the day. Other than that, the hotel is excellent value for the price and so convenient to MagMile. I would stay here again (but only in the double-bedded room!)

Room Tip: Don't book a single bedded room unless you are a single traveler or don't mind a very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna_B51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCass, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Our rooms are cozy in nature due to the age of the building. Regarding the issue you raised with our team, we'll look into it further and conduct remedial training as necessary. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#149 of 192 in Chicago
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass

Address: 640 N Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $94 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Catch a game with one of the 16 professional sports teams in town. At our Chicago downtown hotel, you're just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Newly renovated, this historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 175 guestrooms and 3 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago
Holiday Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing