We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location can't be beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Time and time again I return to this hotel when traveling on business. The location is awesome with many wonderful restaurants and bars within walking distance. The rooms are kept clean and the maids do a good job of freshening them up daily. I also looked at their website and found a coupon to be upgraded to a suite for free which was a nice plus as the room was more spacious and included a refrigerator and a small couch, chair, and table area. Bathroom was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, can't complain about much. It is a little annoying to navigate as the hotel is in two building and only connects on the 4th floor. Also shower pressure and temperature wasn't great and I found it difficult to get the thermostat on a good temperature and was constantly adjusting. Staff is nice and helpful and parking is free which is a good cost savings if you have a car. The hotel isn’t perfect and the hallways are semi-dated but the rooms are refreshed, comfortable, and clean. I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISellSyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,128 - 2,134 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights with husband and two young children. Hotel very conveniently located, although we did do loads of walking! It took a good half hour to reach various attractions: the Navy Pier, Sears Tower, beaches; which was fine for adults but kids got extremely tired! Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and reasonably priced, and the pool was a real bonus with small children! However, there was no fridge in the room, bring your own or you can hire one for $10 per night. Also, ignorant and mindless fellow hotel guests let down this hotel by being extremely noisy on our second night. The people residing above us sounded like they were having a party at 3am - lots of creaky floor/bed noises, banging around and raised voices above our heads for a good hour or so at 3am!!! And another party were shouting and laughing in the corrider outside our room around that time. I was very annoyed and frustrated but didnt make a fuss as I had two small children in my room. I suppose you get these types whatever hotel you stay in, but it is all very annoying - why are some people like that?!!!. Apart from these mindless people, the stay was fine and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiffymiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Our first visit to Chicago. My husband & I booked this hotel for two nights and were so pleased with it we stayed for a third night. The room, a suite, was very spacious and clean. The bed comfortable. We were in Chicago for sight seeing so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, did use the nice pool one morning. The hotel is an older hotel, but it's what you'd expect in a older building in Chicago. The free parking was a big plus when you find that other hotels charge minimum $48 a night to park in their garage. Staff was very friendly, helpful and eager to please. Complimentary coffee was good. You'll find no complaints here and we do plan on staying there the next time we are in Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired_one_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

1/2 hr to3/4 hr to get hot water , if some one walks the halls you hear it .street noise the pizza sucks

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvtolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Let's go over the good things about the hotel 1st. The rooms are clean, the location is superb, the free parking is great, & that's all. Bad things are: the water pressure for the sink & shower go from low pressure to normal pressure every min or so, and when it does in the shower, the water gets scalding hot. The most important thing in a hotel to me is the bathroom & it was just beyond terrible. They have a soap/shampoo dispenser too, not even actual shampoo bottles & ect. Crazy. Skip this place, pay for parking elsewhere. You won't have people blocking you in where you cannot get out & you won't have these terrible bathrooms. Oh, we also booked a 2 bed room & when we got there, they said we did a 1 king bed, which was BS, & then we had to get a 2 bed smoking room because they didn't have a non-smoking (even though we reserved one). Fail.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houseofkrazees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Nice suite and very comfy and clean. Conveniently located in downtown Chicago. Parking spaces were tight however the good thing was it was free. It was hard to find our room because the structure of the building wasn't ideal. No air conditioning in the halls or elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YeeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed for 3 nights. The staff was so friendly and helpful. If I ever come back to Chicago I will be staying at the Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovingChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing