We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, United States
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great Value, Great Service, Great Location!!! Will definitely stay here again when we return to Chicago. They had discount tickets available for area attractions which was very handy. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again the next time around.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    847
    318
    126
    72
See reviews for
815
574
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Socks were dirty from walking on carpet in hotel...Needs some carpet cleaning. Otherwise everything else was average. I like the idea of free parking since there is not many others in Chicago that offer this. Saves some money at $50 a day to park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We've noted the need for a carpet cleaning and have cleaning scheduled. We hope to see you back another time.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had asked for a view of the city of Chicago and got the street and noise and could not reach the window to look out it was over my shoulders this is just a bad room to rent to anyone and could not even get a few extra wash cloths without rudeness no help with luggage upon arrival or leaving and no offers of anything

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank shela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and I apologize that no one went out of their way to offer to assist you with luggage. We hope you will come back to Chicago again, even if you choose not to stay with us; it's too great of a city to miss.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a great location within walking distance, or a quick cab ride, to most Chicago attractions. The kids love the indoor pool and roof deck any time of year (we have stayed here several times). I love the free parking and wi-fi! Despite this being an older hotel the rooms are always clean and the staff is wonderful. I would love to see the rooms modernized and updated but only if that doesn't increase the nightly rates! The front desk staff are cheerful, knowledgable and responsive to guest needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank calinena89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and for all of the great compliments about our staff and services! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the hotel. The staff were very kind. Rooms very clean, small, but very clean. Had 5 rooms booked for the trip and everyone in the party was very satisfied. The location is perfect. Easy walk to just about anywhere along Michigan Avenue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments, especially the ones about our staff and service. We hope you'll come back to see us again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston IL, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is centrally located, well-run, and a good value. I have recommended it to friends, and they were pleased with it. A good place to stay.Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay, and a special thanks for the recommendations you gave friends. We hope to see you and some of them back here again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just completed a 3 night stay in this hotel and I have mixed emotions about it. There were more positive things about this hotel than negative by far. Let's start with the positives.

1. Free parking
2. Price
3. Very Good Sized Rooms
4. Comfortable Beds
5. Nice Clean Pool
6. Pleasant Front Desk Staff
7. Nice looking restaurant and bar area even though we didn't get to go use either.
8. Free coffee in lobby

Now for the negatives

1. Room had very dirty carpet. So much so that when I went into the shower the bottom of the shower looked like I had mud on my feet and this was after walking barefoot on the carpet for only 10 to 15 minutes. Give them a good shampoo please.
2. Old looking bathroom's. The rooms themselves really could use an upgrade but the bathrooms really need it. Our toilet leaked a bit and the heat lamp didn't work at all. Wish the bathroom had a fan to clear shower moisture.
3. Elevators are slow slow slow.

So when comparing the good to the not so good this place screams good value. We paid around 125.00 per night INCLUDING TAXES AND FREE PARKING and were within a 20 minute WALK to navy pier. Check around and compare.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsean0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay on the whole and thank you for giving us suggestions for improvement. We hope to see you again on a future Chicago trip.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing