We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but probably won't stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #91 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The location and staff were great. The hotel is old, but the furniture in the rooms has been updated. The hotel had a funky smell that was hard to take. The pool was slightly chilly. We did not stay in the pool long. While the free parking and parking attendants were great, not sure it will make us come back. The hotel room itself just didn't seem clean and the bathrooms need to be updated.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We're sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience with us, though we do appreciate your compliments about our staff and their competence. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed for a quick weekend with the family (mom, dad, 8-yr old and 6-yr old boys). Enjoyed our stay greatly. Room smelled clean. Not that overpowering "I'm trying to cover-up a terrible odor" clean; it was actually clean. Room size was also larger than may other downtown hotels. Good location coupled with free parking results in a great value. Staff was very helpful and knowledgable of the surrounding area - even offered a few suggestions for site seeing and dinner options. We did eat at the restaurant/pizzaria connected to the hotel one night. Pizza was classic Chicago style deep dish with good service and a full bar - no compliants. As a seasoned traveler I've gotten used to certain shortcoming of most hotel chains. For the location, the staff service/attitude and the value I may not stay anywhere else again in downtown Chicago. And the kids loved the roof-top pool and outdoor deck! Thanks BW, we'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We're so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We're very glad you found us clean, friendly, and a good value in the downtown area. We certainly look forward to seeing you guys again, too!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The free parking was the hook and the indoor pool was a bonus! Traveled with a six year old and stayed in a king suite. Very roomy and nice to have a separate room for him. The staff was friendly and was clean. We plan on using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your compliments about your recent stay with us. We understand traveling with a child comes with its own set of challenges but we're happy to hear that your stay was pleasant for everyone involved! Thank you, and we hope to see you guys again soon.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the last few months and every time has been better than the last. It is now our go-to hotel when we need to stay in Chicago. Everyone that we encountered at the hotel was super friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, and the the restaurant has very good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AmazingJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

This is the kind of review we love to read :). We're so thrilled you've had several experiences with us recently and that each time exceeded the previous one. That's what we strive for!

We hope to see you again in Chicago, and if there's anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable or help you get more out of your time in Chicago, please just let our staff know.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Clean, very satistfied customer! Room was medium but kept well. Breakfast was just okay.Traveling from Ohio, first time in the Windy City:) Beautiful. St Patricks day was awesome. Will be back this summer.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hv4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your first time in Chicago! It's a great city and we're really proud of it. Almost as proud as we are of our service to guests. We're glad we could help make your trip so enjoyable, and we look forward to seeing you this summer!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

AWESOME HOTEL!!!!!!! Booked this hotel because we wanted to be in a semi-central location to check out neighborhoods we might be renting apartments in, and our stay was amazing. The location is incredible -- steps away from the El and some of the best restaurants and bars in the city, and we could get anywhere we wanted in the city in 20 minutes or less. And the price is unbelievable! For downtown Chicago with free parking and a fairly decent room, we felt like we had scored a major deal.

We would absolutely stay here again in the future (in fact, we probably will when we come back) and absolutely recommend it to others (especially if you're driving into the city.)

The only tiny drawback was we noticed after about 8 PM, they started letting cars double-park behind other cars to cram everyone into the parking lot... but really, you're not going anywhere at 8 PM, and by the time we checked out all the double-parked cars were gone... So, no big deal!

Room Tip: Try to get there early, as the parking lot fills up once people start checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatintheHat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review, and a special thanks for your compliments! We do double-park cars during especially busy times (such as St. Patrick's Day weekend) but we always keep the keys of these cars so that absolutely any guest can retrieve their car at any time.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Cons: Beds were uncomfortable Floors felt kind of sticky in a weird way. Water took forever to heat up Can hear everything in the next room. Had to plug my curling iron in the lamp next to the bathroom because the plug didn't work in the bathroom Pros: Friendly staff, Free parking, hot chocolate in lobby! gym, internet connection for free.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

I'm sorry that you had some inconveniences during your stay. Please feel free to contact the front desk during your stay with any such issues and we're happy to address them! We hope to see you on a future trip to the Windy City.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#108 of 192 in Chicago
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $86 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing