We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"worst" western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Ranked #102 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
chicago,illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"worst" western”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Lets say this is definitely the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. The horror began when we got to our room. We found they had sent 4 adults to a room with one double bed. We called down to the front desk and they proceeded to explain how our 2 double bed reservation on hotels.com had changed to 1 double bed due to the fact we hadn't checked in between 3-6pm. We had checked in at 1 pm and then went to the whitesox game at 2:55pm. Well that didn't count because it was before 3pm - Nobady had told us at 1pm that we would be left high and dry if we didn't check in exactly between 3-6. So they had given away our room and left the only choice being this room. They would bring in a single rollaway though. Wow!. Now we would have a single room with a double bed and rollaway for 4 adults.

So we tried to get our money back. no deal. We were totally stuck because we had booked through hotels.com. We called hotels.com and they proceeded to ask us questions for about 1/2 hr then called the hotel manager. Well that went nowhere quick as they said they couldn't refund us our money and couldn't help us.

Beyond the customer service issues and policy the hotel was just bad. It was split into two buildings and the rooms were across a parking lot from the pool. the elevators were a joke. Barely fit a stroller and 3 adults into it. The hallways smelled like somekind of cleaner they hadn't gotten all the way out. The sink in our small bathroom didn't have hot water. The sound of the city at night with the drunks around the hotel (happening part of town, with hard rock cafe and dance clubs) all loud. Luckily the air conditioner was equally loud and drowned some of the noise outside out.

Just bad bad bad. Never use hotels.com or a best western again in our lives. Don't you do it either. Stay away!

  • Liked — free parking
  • Disliked — service, room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jlrm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    830
    305
    118
    70
See reviews for
785
553
74
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WINNIPEG
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

There are two good things about this hotel: the location and the free parking. Otherwise, it is just not worth it to stay here to save a few bucks. The hallways smell. Our room was very small and dark. The mattresses were not very thick and the sheets kept coming off of them during the night. The place just seems very run-down. There was some peeling paint in the room and in the pool area. The place just seemed to give the impression that the owners don't really care about making it look nice for the guests. We really regretted staying here and wished we'd spent a little extra money to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — run-down
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tableau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in May and had would certainly come back and stay here again. The location is great in the centre of the city and a 2 minute walk from the magnificent mile. The rooms were clean and spacious as was the bathroom.

I didn't have a chance to check out the pool and was we were travelling by train didn't use the car park. The price for the area was very good and felt safe even when going across the street for a McDonalds at 2am. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

We did have one issue which could of happened at any hotel I guess. When we made the reservations online we were charged for the first night, however when we arrived and paid for the room we were charged again for it. When we noticed and told them they advised us it would be refunded, three months later we are still waiting for this to be done.

  • Liked — The price for the location
  • Disliked — Being charged twice for the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyddd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We would stay here again because the location was fantastic for the price that we paid for the room.
Our first time to Chicago and thought this hotel was good for what we needed as we were not in our room very often.
The staff were all very friendly and answered any questions that we asked them.
Right across the road from Mc Donalds and Hard Rock and there are plenty of other eating places in the same vicinity.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — They were having problems with wireless internet at the time, so this was annoying as wanted to be in touch with family back in Australia
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We went to Chicago to see Wicked and stayed at the BW River North . We had an awfull experience. Not only do their hallways and rooms smell awful, they are very run down. They gave us a smoking room when we requested non smoking and would not change due to the "hotel was full" eventhough my daugther suffers from asthma. We tried to save $$ on the parking and now are sorry we did. Stay Away.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesstaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

We had just returned from the Best Western River North Hotel and we liked it. A few things I liked is the room was nice and big and had a great bathroom (we stayed in a suite). I especially liked the all in one shower and the soap, shampoo, and body was all in one dispenser. One last thing is its in a great part very close to the museums there. Some things that needed improving is in the bathroom there was some chipped paint on the crown molding around the door. 2 more things that needed to improve was the pool, the pool was too small (probably because the pool was on the roof), one more thing is the elevator was too small and took too long to come. Overall I liked it.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — How small the pool was
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yeegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed four nights in July with husband, one preteen and one teen. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. Room was large, clean and well decorated. The room had one king bed and one sofabed. The King was very comfortable. Didn't sleep on the pullout sofabed, but didn't hear any complaints from the kids. Hotel lobby, hallways, and pool area were clean, well lit, and modern. No noise from nearby rooms. Sundeck off the pool area was an extra bonus with a great view. Staff members were attentive and very FRIENDLY!! Room was impeccably cleaned each day.
Great location and free parking were also bonuses.

Only negatives were the water temperature and pressure. The temp. would change many times from very cold to hot and pressure would drop as well. All four of us experienced this so beware when taking a shower.

This is one the best hotels I've stayed in for a family on a budget. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Chicago. Thank you, River North Best Western, for an enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — value, location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — water temperature and water pressure
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joojoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River North Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing