We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Christmas shopping in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #101 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Adrian, United States
1 review
“After Christmas shopping in Chicago”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very nice stay. Within walking distance to magnificent mile and other shopping venues. Clean, nice rooms. Great internet connection. Friendly staff and adequate breakfast. No experience at the pool. Free parking on site was an excellent advantage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the review! We're so glad to see you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    838
    313
    121
    72
See reviews for
801
567
75
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Here is the truth and nothing but the truth about this hotel. This hotel is located just to the north of Chicago's "loop" area. There are a lot of people living in this area so we found it to be a very safe area. Walking around in the evening gave us no worries at all. I'll start with the pros and end with the cons.

There are three awesome things about this hotel that you cannot beat: location, cost and free parking. The location is excellent with many many great restaurants within easy walking distance. For example the Rain Forest Cafe and The Hard Rock Cafe area across the street as is one of the largest McDonalds I have ever seen. Weber Grill, PF Changs and Hub 51 are all close by. Michigan Avenue (the Magnificent Mile) for shopping is just a 4 or 5 block easy walk. Cost wise, this is one of the cheapest hotels in downtown Chicago that you are going to find. Very reasonable. And finally, if you have a car, there is free on site secure parking. Most other hotels charge $50 to $60 per night for parking! I do not know of any other hotel in such an excellent location that has free parking. I also found the wifi to be very good and was able to stream Netflix most nights without issues. There was one night however, where the wifi didn't work at all.

I could stop the review right there but there are some cons you need to know about. First of all this is an older hotel. The rooms have been renovated recently and are ok but the hallways are musty and old. The floors are soft and spongy in the hallways. Getting around the hotel is just bizarre, and on your first day you will likely get lost once or twice. I ended up in employee only areas like closets and the laundry room on more than one occasion. There are 2 buildings and to get to the lobby from the east building you have to go up to the 4th floor, walk across the only link between the buildings, find a special elevator that is kind of hidden and then go all the way down to the lobby. This took us a couple of days to get good at. Also, the area is extremely noisy with sirens going on almost constantly. There is a fire hall a couple of blocks away and a hospital close by. If you are a light sleeper take ear plugs. Also, there is no free breakfast. There is free coffee and tea at all times in the lobby but for breakfast you'll need to pay in the restaurant. There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms. And finally although the parking is free there are not enough spaces so they pack the cars in 3 deep and you must leave your keys with the valet if you are "blocking". I found the parking guys to be extremely helpful so this is not really a con.

Given location and free parking I recommend this hotel any time you are visiting Chicago. Despite the cons it is so handy to everything and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You can get cheaper attraction tickets here. Just ask at the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batdude3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the thorough review of your experience with us and our value, and we appreciate you taking the time to share it with other potential travelers. We hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great location, just a short drive off the freeway and 2.5 blocks from the CTA Red line. Free parking is a big plus. Friendly, helpful staff, clean room and great value made this hotel the perfect choice for this trip to visit family. Bath room is a little small and appears to be recently renovated. Plenty of hot water for showers. Did not use the pool or exercise room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the high praise and for your compliments especially about our staff/service. We pride ourselves on offering guests not only a great value but a great experience as well. We'll see you next time!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton, toronto, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked a suite, really spacious living room plus to bed rooms. Room service was really prompt. Pool area is great, water temperature was just perfect. Got breakfast coupon for all members of the family when they only had to give only for the parents.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sathish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel rooms are clean and the staff is as helpful as they come. Kids love the indoor pool. Close to shopping, dining, trains, and has free parking. The Italian restaurant attached to the hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you sincerely for the review and for your compliments. And we're very glad to see that you enjoyed the food from the restaurant (Pizzeria Ora) and your stay overall. We hope to see you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Beware! Don't use any 3rd party booking site (like priceline) to book here. Will treat you like 2nd class customer. Wouldn't help us because we didn't pay full price. They told me that I could pay full price and then get some help. Even asked for a roll out and was told that they don't have enough for the whole hotel and would have to wait till I got there. Never, never, in my 12 years of coming up to Chicago have I been treated like this.

Room Tip: Don't use a 3rd party booking because they won't help you or treat you well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

When in the downtown or river north area of Chicago we always stay here- free parking, close to Michigan ave shopping, several nightclubs, great restaurants and we love the indoor pool. I've never had a bad experience here. Finding the pol can be a little tricky so be sure to ask the front desk

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and for coming back to see us again and again. We're absolutely Thrilled to hear that you've never had a bad experience with us, and we look forward to adding even more value to your Chicago stays in the future.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing