We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location. Nice hotel. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #97 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, good location. Nice hotel. ”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Located a few minutes from a train station that take you straight to the city, about 10-15 minutes. Lots of restaurants and cafes near by.
HUGE room. Front desk staff were very helpful in meeting all of our needs. Great experience would suggest this to others.

Helpful?
Thank Jess542
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    860
    322
    128
    73
See reviews for
833
590
75
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
muncie, in
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

If I had seen this hotel before I booked, I probably wouldn’t have. The room was clean, which surprised me because the hallways getting to the room were stinky and dated. They stay was uneventful. Breakfast in the morning was just edible, not really very good. Overall for the price, it was an OK place to stay for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank adcrnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We strive to not only offer a great place to stay in the heart of Chicago but to go out of our way in offering excellent customer service. I'm sorry that this was not your experience. We would love another chance to show you how much we do care though, and we hope to see you back in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

In the past I have chosen to stay at Best Western River North in Chicago because it was the only hotel to offer free parking. During my most recent stay, however, the "suite" they offered (at $250 per night) looked like some place out of the 1950s. The furniture was very dated and drab, the rug was dirty, the tables looked like they came from a thrift store. When I asked for a microwave, they said it would be $10 extra. How chintzy! The free parking is no long worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not only was the location the BEST and free parking a priceless perk, but I had mistakenly left an expensive belt on my prior stay the week before, and upon my return the next week I asked if they had found it-and lo and behold-it had been discovered by the Housekeeping Staff and returned to me! The honest and friendly staff can't be matched!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank M2922DHkarenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are a little dated, but certainly very clean. The location is ideal for visiting the near north part of Chicago. Only about 5 blocks north of the river and just a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue. Tons of great restaurants in this neighborhood. Street side is a bit noisy (as is the a/c), but for the price and location it is worth it. The staff are awesome and (strong) coffee/tea are provided all day in the lobby with granola bars. A pizzeria is attached to the hotel that offers good eats for starting the day. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of a lot that we offer. We love making a difference in people's stays in Chicago and we hope to see you again in the future!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Chicago . . . in the heart of everything. Walkable distance to events, shopping meals. We stay here nearly everytime we are in Chicago...only time we don't is when they are booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, WI, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My two girl friends, my 3 years old daughter and I are first time visit Chicago. The hotel has really convenient location and free parking. If you have baby or little kids in your family. The location is easy to walking around in the city(in river north area) and walk to take subway or bus. Free parking is easy to carrying all kid stuff to hotel and save your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Yu-Chun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities convenient. The next time around, be sure to ask our Front Desk about kid-friendly attractions in our area and we'd be happy to help you get the most out of your time in the city.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing