We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #92 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms are a little dated, but certainly very clean. The location is ideal for visiting the near north part of Chicago. Only about 5 blocks north of the river and just a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue. Tons of great restaurants in this neighborhood. Street side is a bit noisy (as is the a/c), but for the price and location it is worth it. The staff are awesome and (strong) coffee/tea are provided all day in the lobby with granola bars. A pizzeria is attached to the hotel that offers good eats for starting the day. Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of a lot that we offer. We love making a difference in people's stays in Chicago and we hope to see you again in the future!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Chicago . . . in the heart of everything. Walkable distance to events, shopping meals. We stay here nearly everytime we are in Chicago...only time we don't is when they are booked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My two girl friends, my 3 years old daughter and I are first time visit Chicago. The hotel has really convenient location and free parking. If you have baby or little kids in your family. The location is easy to walking around in the city(in river north area) and walk to take subway or bus. Free parking is easy to carrying all kid stuff to hotel and save your money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yu-Chun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for submitting a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities convenient. The next time around, be sure to ask our Front Desk about kid-friendly attractions in our area and we'd be happy to help you get the most out of your time in the city.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been coming to Chicago for many years and stay here when ever we can. The location is convenient to the Loop, Michigan Ave and any place you want to eat. Not the flashest hotel but it is CLEAN and staff is friendly. My wife likes the parking since you car is accessible for putting shoping packages away and not taking them to the room. The bar is friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank PeoriaToyTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location, very clean, comfortable rooms. The best part is the service. The front desk personnel will go above and beyond to fulfill any requests. So a special thank you to Nikita, Michelle and Amanda for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is nothing special. It is a small, older hotel. The rooms are clean but pretty drab looking. Our biggest complaint was the noise from the street below. We were on the 6th floor (top floor) and the horns, sirens, and general traffic noise made for a poor night's sleep. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall this hotel is just okay, but if we travel to Chicago again we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DandDPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your experience with us. We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We understand that noise in downtown Chicago can sometimes be an issue. But we hope that you will return (and be sure to request a room away from the street) and we'd love another opportunity to make your stay in Chicago great.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed there August 2013. We found the hotel to be just perfect, all staff very polite and helpful. We talked every morning with Wallace, he is the conseiure of the of the hotel. Wallace was so helpful and really guided us on when to go to certain areas, and things that we should see and places where we should eat. He was so positive in his approach that everything was just so easy and great.
We used the free parking that is staffed 24/7 with in and out privileges which was a real benefit.
Hotel room was great, nice and clean with great service, no complaints.
We will stay again at this hotel when we visit Chicago again for sure.

Room Tip: get a room on the upper floors as it is quieter from the street noise, this really does make a diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barblgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $89 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing