We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Downtown Chicago Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #101 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Harrison, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Chicago Hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff are very accommodating and helpful. Room was small, but clean. The hotel is old but they do a good job of maintaining the quality. Rooftop pool and patio was nice to sit around and talk with others traveling in our party. Across street from Hard Rock Cafe, Rainforest Cafe, and Rock and Roll McDonalds. Few blocks from free trolley to Navy Pier (hotel ad makes it sound like they offer one, but it is actually approx. 2 1/2 blocks from hotel). The Chicago double deck trolley stop is across street and the L is a few blocks away; numerous options for transportation. There may have been a leak in the hallway before arrival because fans were set up and there was a funky, lysol, mildew smell in the hallways but the rooms smelled fine. Having free parking was a MAJOR plus. We left our car in the lot the entire stay and used public transportation which was VERY affordable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    830
    308
    120
    72
See reviews for
790
560
74
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my second stay at the BW River North. The location is perfect if you're looking for a place close to public transport, good eating, a grocer (2), and a drug store. All are within a one to three block radius. I am extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness. The room we had was absolutely spotless right down to the carpet fibres. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful, especially when we were first mis-routed to our room by the front desk. They actually walked us personally to the correct hallway. WiFi was very handy. Pool was refreshing after a long day of walking, walking and more walking. Next time I am in Chicago, I will be staying here again. No need to "shop" any further.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had a view of the backdoor of a restaurant (?). Pretty noisy well into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of us and sharing it with other guests on TripAdvisor. We're really glad to see you were pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel - something we greatly value. It looks like you took advantage of our convenient location and could find what you needed near the hotel. Though I'm sorry about the initial confusion with directions to your room. We look forward to seeing you again!

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm in sales and stay in many places around the central U. S. and one place I always stay in downtown Chicago is Best Western River North. it is the only hotel downtown that I know as free parking. The hotel is situated just blocks from Michigan Ave. and many different sites. The hotel staff treats you with kindness and friendliness that's rare now a days. The rates aren't bad, the hotel is a little older, but they are clean and very comfortable rooms. If you're staying in downtown Chicago and want to enjoy some great service, free parking, and a soft comfortable bed, I would only stay at the Best Western River North.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Chicago for a soccer game and stayed overnight. The building is a bit older than some of the other places I've stayed at in Chicago but that doesn't make it any worse than those places. Service is top notch. The valet guys (free parking by the way...) are great. Hotel is a stone's throw from Michigan Ave. Great place. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wallace was awesome! The other staff were good as well. But Wallace made my mood better when it was bad. It was cost efficient, great location, located in an easily accessible area. You could walk to Magnificent Mile in no time. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We really value the honest feedback. Thank you for the compliments on our location and our staff, including Wallace. We're glad to see it made a difference in your stay in Chicago. We hope to see you again in the Windy City.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is one of the cheapest places you'll find in downtown Chicago. You are only a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile and public transit. The nightly rate may seem higher than some other hotels, but this place includes parking! Cheaper places per night don't tell you up front that they charge $40 to $60 a night for parking! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a road trip to the Windy City. It's not the fanciest place in the world -- but it's clean, comfortable and an overall great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Awesome location. Within walking of Michigan Ave. Received a free upgrade to a suite upon arrival which was appreciated. Staff helpful and nice. Guest room updated and clean. Overall a fantastic stay and will stay here again when we come back to Chicago and will recommend it to others. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing