We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #99 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Service was rude, the lay out of the rooms weird, elevators confusing!! Noisy room, very small. All the vending machines were empty of water and most were just broke!! No one at front desk to help. Besides being close to everything it was a pretty negative hotel and we ended up moving to another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1hellcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of us. We really do appreciate the feedback. On behalf of our entire team I want to sincerely apologize for the problems during your stay. We never want guests to feel that they are unwelcome or uncared for by our staff in any way, and we don't want our services to fall short, such as with the vending machines. I hope you will give us another opportunity to meet your expectations as I promise our own standards for customer care are much higher.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
There are newer reviews for Best Western River North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was in town for business. I can't say this too many times FREE PARKING!! It is not easy to find in Chicago! I have paid in excess of $30 a day on other visits. Yes this is an older property with the quirks (older decor etc) but it is clean. The rate was very reasonable, the staff was friendly and helpful. It was very easy to just leave my car in the secure free parking and go to work and explore the city. There are plenty of good restaurants near by. Michigan Ave is just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in the front. I did not want to back up to an alley etc.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at the River North Best Western with my wife and 2 daughters (8 and 5) recently. Our stay there was fantastic! Clean, updated rooms were very nice, hotel staff was very kind and helpful. With good rates and FREE PARKING the choice of a hotel in Downtown Chicago is a no brainer for me from now on. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

AC unit was noisier than most but not bad. I liked the free parking-no surprises and easy to use. The pool was great but no hot tub which was a bit of a surprise. The room was extremely large and worked great. Overall I was extremely impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jasonsX6888KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of us. We're very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the compliments. We hope to serve you again the next time you're in Chicago.

Samuel
Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Super thin walls -LOUD garbage truck outside our window two nights in a row at 5 am for 15 minutes taking care of Best WEsterns garbage (room 323). Manager Michelle didn't seem to care about how terrible our stay was. Took housekeeping 45 mins to bring towels to pool area. Air conditioner sounds like a JET all night long in the room. Take EAR PLUGS if you have to stay here you hear EVERYTHING- not that cheap when you consider you don't get any sleep while there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My stay at the Best Western River North Hotel in Chicago was great! The hotel personnel (including valet and restaurant) was very friendly and helpful. They offered professional service upon request. My room was comfortably large and everything i needed was made available. The hotel location is close to the heart of the city with walking access to most tourist sights. Valet parking is available and the restaurant in the hotel very convenient. Although this hotel is not considered a 5 star hotel, I found that it exceeded my expectations. I will return for sure!

Room Tip: Corner suites are very large and will give you a "home like" feel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, walking distance to most attractions in chicago, close to a supermarket and also great bars and restaurants. The price was cheap so I didn't expect much, so when the hotel was quite lovely I was pleasantly surprised. I would recommend this hotel to all travellers heading to Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $99 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing