We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Best Western "Minus"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #100 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“More like Best Western "Minus"”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Was very disappointed with this hotel and would not stay there again.

The building feels very run down and in desperate need of a refurb or overhall. I was very surprise that this is a Best Western hotel.

There was a lot of noise from a busy road outside. The cleaners left their carts in the corridor outside our room and it generally smelt like bleach.

The staff themselves were friendly and helpful. I felt bad that they have to work in such a run down hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We're sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our property has been here for a number of years but our interior and all our guest rooms were renovated in the last 2 years. We do appreciate the compliments on our staff, and we hope to have another chance to improve on your experience with us in the future.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    850
    319
    127
    72
See reviews for
821
575
75
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We choose this room to stay in downtown Chicago to take grandsons to Shedd Aquarium. This was a great location. McDonald's right across the street. Free parking until 5:00 p.m. on check out date so we left our car at the hotel and took bus to Shedd. We got a king room with a pull out single bed. The room was HUGE. King bed with a nice bench at the end, large desk and chair, dresser with tv, mini-fridge under a counter, single-bed pull-out couch, chair, coffee table. The sink was outside the bathroom which is great for several to get ready in the morning. Adorable black and white tiles in the bath. The decor was wonderful. There was plenty of room for the 3 & 5 year olds to run around without getting in our way. Just a great place to stay. We will definitely look at this again for another Chicago trip. Oh, Hard Rock Cafe and Rain Forest Cafe are also across the street and down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was good for the value and location. However, housekeeping took my dslr. This is the first time i have ever had this happen at a hotel. Exremely disappointed with staff helping me locate my lost camera.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very sorry about your lost camera. You contacted the hotel to inform us it was not with you and we have searched for it but we did not find anything either in the room or in lost & found, which echoes the conversation you had with our staff over the phone. We, of course, hold our staff to the highest standards of integrity.
We do hope you locate it and we're sorry we couldn't help further.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful! We had a really nice, clean room. The staff accommodated our every need, without nickeling and diming us. The free parking is a total plus. And the pool and workout room were great. If we vacation in Chicago again I'd definitely select this Best Western.

Room Tip: Loved the sixth floor corner king suite. Had 2 rooms - one with a king size bed & tv, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

You know how you book fancy hotels and then you realise that it's just a small bed in a small room? With no breakfast, expensive mini-bar and uppity staff?...well we've done that before in Chicago. Never again!

Everything was great about this hotel and we raved about it to everyone when we got home. It's in a great location, has free parking, vending machines on each floor, free coffee and biscuits in lobby and also our rate had full breakfast included but this might be for foreign tourists don't know, and best of all the staff are amazingly helpful and polite.

The room was very big with plenty of space for a travel cot. TV was boring but hey you're in Chicago...go do somethin'! The trick with the shower is to run it for like 5-10 mins (sorry climate!) before you use it, then it's actually really hot. Our room faced the street and we slept fine.

There was a pool which was 2 elevator rides away and cold. I noticed there was a rooftop solarium and gym too.

Thank you for such a pleasant stay-I can't recommend this hotel enough it was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowtraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your honest review! We're very pleased to see that we provide a comfortable stay for our international guests as well as domestic ones.
You give a comprehensive overview of our services, different hotel areas, and your room - thank you. We're glad we could help you enjoy your stay in Chicago and we hope to see you on a future trip.

Samuel
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bremen, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel fit our family with two little ones perfect. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and all of our questions exploring a new city. So nice to have parking on site so we didn't have to worry about walking several blocks to a parking garage with two kids in tow everytime we wanted to leave the hotel. The room was very spacious and very clean. The pool was nice. Breakfast at the hotel was nice and kid friendly. A perfect fit for our family!

Room Tip: Go with a suite if you have kids. TONS of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Property: Best Western River North Hotel
Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing