We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #92 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We come to Chicago twice a year for a trade show and stay at this hotel. It is Super Clean, friendly staff, free parking and close to everything! The hotel is old but like I said it is Clean! The only thing I wish is this hotel would allow small dogs :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We're so glad to hear that you stay with us regularly and continue to enjoy your experience with us. We strive to provide great customer service and value to our guests, so it's really rewarding to get feedback and see that we are meeting guests' expectations of value. Sorry that we don't allow dogs! Cute as they are, we'll probably remain dog-free in the immediate future. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just spent three nights here while visiting colleges and family. This looks like an older hotel
but the room was clean and updated.

Pros: Large room- this was one of the largest rooms we have ever stayed in with our family. The two of us and two teenage boys, plenty of room to move around, lots of floor space, two beds, arm chair, desk with desk chair...beds were very comfortable.
Separate sink and vanity- My favorite part, there was a full bath with sink, plus an extra sink and vanity outside bathroom. So many hotel rooms that we have stayed in don't even have a mirror with an outlet anywhere in the room for me to dry my hair while someone else is in the shower. It really made each morning go smoothly to have two sinks to use.
Free parking- sometimes they double park to fit cars in, but we had no trouble getting our car when we needed to get out; attendant was very friendly and helpful.
Good location- centrally located, McDonalds across street, grocery store one block away, lots of restaurants nearby.
They sold Shedd Aquarium tickets in lobby, saved us waiting in long line when we got there.

Cons: no free breakfast- coffee and granola bars put out each morning
no microwave or refrig. in room
a little noisy, could hear other rooms and noise from street.
small elevators/lobby elevator didn't go to part of the 3rd floor/had to use elevator outside

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are fine with a basic, clean hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights primarily because of its location. It is right off the expressway, so we were able to park our car for free and walk to all of our destinations. We were pleased at at the combination of location and price. Two different subway lines are within 5 blocks, and an easy walk. The staff was friendly and most accommodating to our requests. We intend to stay there again the next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_LaFleur_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is very close to many restaurants & bars. Free parking & fitness area/pool are other perks. However, this hotel is very shabby in my opinion. Considering it was only $50/night less than the Hotel Burnham (Kimpton Hotel) we stayed at the first two nights of our trip, I'm not sure where they get off charging so much for such a dilapidated hotel.
I realize it's only a Best Western, but I've stayed at other Best Western's in far better condition than this one. I suggest a serious renovation is in need for this hotel to be more than just an average place to lay your head.
The bathroom had some bizarre fake-tar texture on the floor & the walls were tiled with psychedelic black & white squares so you felt a little spacey after a shower.
The bed was lumpy and had a large dip in the middle, so a new mattress is definitely needed.
The room fan/heating/cooling system was INCREDIBLY loud and difficult to adjust to find the right temperature.
There was no entrance foyer to the room, so you heard EVERYTHING going on in the hallway outside our room, as well as the hall lights constantly illuminated our room throughout the night.
Better soundproofing is needed, as we could hear every noise from the street too, but the giant whirring fan in our room did block out the sirens & honking cars a bit.
Despite the free parking & decent location, I wouldn't stay at this average, over-priced hotel again while in Chicago. There are FAR better hotels with more character & ambiance to stay in (and at a price not much higher than what this hotel charges).

Room Tip: Ummm, away from everything? Not sure if that's possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for telling us about your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you found the rooms weren't to your liking. We actually did have a complete renovation in 2011 and have had positive feedback from it. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations but if you'd care to stay with us again, we'd love another opportunity to earn back your business.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay on Marathon weekend. 6 blocks from magnificent mile. Lots of great restaurants surrounding it. (Yolk, Wildfire, Uno, Due, Ginos East, Eggcitement). Greeted by Micheal, (a stand out!!!) the staff was friendly, helpful and offered fantastic options for our stay. The room was great!! Comfy beds, clean, well appointed. The pool was good to cool our tired legs after running. Only negatives would be poor wifi, small slow elevator, fire station 4 blocks away, & mediocre restaurant. Would stay there again in a second, however.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was one of the more reasonably priced options during the marathon weekend! We only stayed one night but it was a perfect location! Only a few blocks to the blue line train station, Michigan Ave, etc. Normally I choose a place with free breakfast but since my sister had to be at the starting line rather early, we wouldn't have time for breakfast anyways! The marathon route was next to the hotel so I got to watch my sister...and then I hit the McD's that was across the street for breakfast! I would definitely stay here again even if I'm not there to watch the marathon! Just be aware that the elevator near the parking garage is SLOW SLOW SLOW! Don't be alarmed, just be prepared!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsrus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We check our reviews daily and really value guest feedback. Thank you for the kind compliments about our rooms in terms of comfort, cleanliness, etc. and for the compliments to our staff. We'll certainly pass along the note to Michael! Your restaurant list is also a nice tip for future travelers so thank you for adding it. We're sorry to hear that elevator #2 was particularly slow during your stay. You're right not to be alarmed! It is operating safely and reliably but, like all machines, requires regular once in a while maintenance. Thank you for letting us know about the issue - we've contacted our maintenance service for the elevators and have scheduled maintenance for this month!

Thank you for staying with us and please come again!
Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were extremely pleased and very impressed with the professional, courteous and helpful service provided by the hotel staff. From our arrival through our departure, Michael at the front desk could not have been more friendly or helpful in assisting us (first time visitors to Chicago) find our way around the city. Our room was comfortable, neat and clean. The top floor pool and exercise room were a real plus, and the views from the rooftop garden were spectacular. All in all, it was a most enjoyable stay thanks primarily to a staff that could not have been nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozart52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 191 in Chicago
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing