We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western River North Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$189
The James Chicago
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$187
$167
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$595
$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$373
$315
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$194
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,432)
Filter reviews
2,432 results
Traveler rating
944
929
348
137
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
929
348
137
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest cafepizzeria orahard rock cafegreat locationparking attendantwithin walking distancedowntown chicagoohio streetrooftop deckriver northindoor poolnavy piertop flooran older hotelfew blocksstreet noisethe magnificent mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,828 - 1,833 of 2,432 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from a 4-day stay at this hotel. I was very impressed by how helpful and friendly the staff was. True, it's not a swanky, luxury hotel like you can find on Michigan Avenue, but it has everything that you need or want and very good quality for the money. My friend and I stayed in a suite, and my friend wanted to sleep on the pull-out couch. Well, the mattress was too lumpy, so we called the front desk, and right away they provided a roll-away, which worked perfectly. You also can't beat the location. I also found the staff to have a great sense of humor and provided service with a smile. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaMinnetonka_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were told the room was going 199$ than when we checked in we were told it was 229. When we finally got to our room, we got a text message from our bank saying we were overdrawn. We found out that without telling us the hotel charged 319. They never mentioned they charge 20% just in case we get room service. we were not planning on room service. They charged us 90$ more than they said they were going too. 90$ more than my husband signed to pay. I do not understand how they could charge and not tell us the actual amount. It ended up making it so we could not go to the Willis Tower because the money was being held. Very disappointed. Also, the lady checking us out forgot to ask us for the room keys. we didn't realize so we had to walk all the back to the hotel since we could not afford a cab. Location was great. The room didn't even have a fridge. The vending machines were right outside our room so we got woken up a few times by other hotel visitors during the night. For the price, I think it was an awful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor. We read every review and every guest experience is important to us. We were disturbed to read that you had a different rate checking in than the one quoted at the time of booking. I encourage you to call the hotel - 312.467.0800 - because if this is the case there will be a way to look up the original rate. It is all electronic and any changes to the rate will be digitally logged, and so should be an easy fix if there's been a mistake.
The 20% for incidentals that you mention is a standard practice for hotels - similar to CC authorizations at gas stations. I'm truly sorry if you used a debit card and this was not explained to you. Also, unless a guest is paying in advance, there are no "charges" until the time of checkout. We simply "authorize" the CC when guests are checking in, which I think is what you're talking about. Whatever amount is not used for incidentals though is simply released at checkout and goes back on your card.
Again, we apologize for the confusion and for the inconvenience this caused you. If you should see fit to come to Chicago again, we'd love the chance to earn back your trust.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice each time for a week. Besides being the absolute best value in downtown Chicago because of price and free parking, it is also clean and the staff is very considerate and helpful. The hotel is older and a little dated, but you can't beat the location. It's just a few blocks from some of my favorite restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget minded individual or family that wants to experience this great city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pros: Reasonable Price for Downtown, Free Parking, Location to Good Food and Attractions, Helpful Recommendations from Front Desk, Clean Room and Smells Great, Fun Rooftop Deck with View, Comfy Bed Linens with Firm Bed, Easy to Use In- Room Safe Easy, Free WiFi

Cons: Parking is Tight, Air Conditioner is Loud but Drowns Out Street Noise, Small Elevators and #3 Elevator Closes Way to Fast, Layout is a Little Confusing and Only 1 Out of 3 elevators reaches the top floor (pool) and lobby floor, Pizzeria Ora breakfast is poor quality, Bathroom Pretty Small, Vending/Ice Machine not on Every Floor, Speed of WiFi

Room Tip: Let the front desk know if you plan to use the pool/rooftop deck a lot. It is a lot easier to get to on the west side. Southeast corner had a lot of music from the blues club at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsdokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed there based on the other reviews and I have to say they are very accurate. Staff is great, rooms very well maintaned and the location is fantastic. Please, go to ginos east on your first day!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanManuel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences both with us and other travelers. We're happy to see that you had a great stay with us! And we're glad you found the vast majority of reviews on here to be a fair depiction of our services and that it accurately predicted your pleasant stay. If you come back to Chicago, please come see us again! We'd love to have you back and show you even more of the Windy City.

Sam
Assoc. Marketing Mgr.

p.s. Great tip about Gino's East pizza! It's a great choice for Chicago deep-dish and some of our staff is headed there for a dinner next week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews