We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western River North Hotel
Ranked #92 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are kept immaculate and I can't say enough good things about the staff. They made a great trip even better! They make you feel so welcome and go out of their way to be helpful. I will definitely recommend staying here to all my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,926 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this BW. The primary draw being the free parking and location. We parked the car and took the bus or walked everywhere. The front desk has directions for either of these options (also for driving). The room was up to date. We were on the 5th floor and there was still quite a bit of road noise, so it may be louder on lower floors. The elevators were slow. Ice machine is not on the 5th floor, so being impatient I tried out the stairs. The stairs are a bit creepy.
The worst part of our stay was the bed (too hard) and the pillows (too full). We exhausted ourselves running around the city so slept good anyway!
I would absolutely stay here again.
Oh - no complimentary breakfast. But considering the savings on parking - not a big deal!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank P-twink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing you feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to see you appreciated the value that our hotel offers. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The rooms were up to date and immaculate, the staff was very attentive. The location is good, saved a lot of money catching taxis to navy pier and the field museum instead of parking my own car. (about 7$ and 10$ for taxis). The stairwells were not attended to and you catch a chance of tetanus. The hallways were hard to navigate if you're put in the wrong wing. As some floors don't traverse both wings. The pool was large and warm. Very nice stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveNicolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

When I read that National Geographic said this hotel was "The Best Hotel in Chicago" I decided we would stay there. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights, then went to Missouri planning to stay at a different hotel when we returned to Chicago for the rest of our vacation. However, we were treated so well, and we found the location to be so perfect that we went back to River North for the rest of our trip. The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond what you would expect. Michael Jackson (that's really his name, he showed us his driver's license!) was incredibly kind and helpful, as was Jonathon.
I had booked our reservation on line and there was a miscommunication over what I had reserved, however, after about an hour Jonathon called our room and said he was moving us to a suite! He even sent someone to help us with our bags, wonderful customer service!
We enjoyed the coffee service in the room, a Cuisinart coffee pod machine, 1 cup at a time in a recyclable cup! Clean and sanitary! There was a newspaper outside our door each morning. The workout room is small but air conditioned, it looks out at the pool.There is a cozy roof top terrace too.
We had a delicious breakfast every morning downstairs at Pizzeria Ora, and a nightcap in their bar every night. We had pizza at a couple places but found Pizzeria Ora was the very best. In fact while we were in the bar order after order for pizza delivery to other hotels were phoned in. We really enjoyed Froid and Ariel.
The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is the window coverings. This is downtown Chicago, at night it's lit up like Christmas! The Best Western sign is huge and bright. The issue is that the black-out shades are too small for the windows! A small complaint considering the value of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverNorthHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for the great comments! I will make sure the staff knows of your feedback, I know they appreciate it when guests recognize them! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We followed Route 66 from Chicago to Santa Monica over 23 days. We started off by staying in the BW River North and stayed in several others along the way, all of which were really quite good. The rooms were always clean and it was only the complimentary breakfasts that varied, from ok to non existent, but then it isn't difficult to find somewhere to eat in the States so that was never a problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, then you don't have people stomping around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sueandsteveNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I choose Best Western because of the hotel's location and the free parking. We stayed overnight over spring break. I reserved on-line on their website and got a very good price. We arrived around noon and our room was already available. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff were very nice and helpful. We purchased discounted tickets to the Shedd Aquarium, which was a great value and we didn't have to wait in line at the Aquarium once we arrived there, double plus! Our room was very clean and so nice! We had a king sized suite. The kids loved it, they called it their apartment! I loved the large windows. The only comlaint was the indoor heated swimming pool was ice cold. I called and confirmed that the pool was indoors and heated, but the pool was so cold all the kids were shivering and their lips were turning blue/purple. The front desk said they had added some water and it hadn't heated up yet, but a lot of the other guests said it had been ice cold for their three days they had been there. The next day the pool was still ice cold, so we didn't get to swim which was dissapointing. They have express check out and allow you to leave your car in their parking lot until 5 that day. They do double park, but if you call in before you will be taking your car, you won't have to wait. We did not eat at the on-site resturaunt, but I'm sure it would have been yummy and it's so convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a suite which had plenty of room- couch, 2 chairs, 2 TVs, fridge, etc. Free parking was a plus and they let us stay till 5 pm the next day.

The one issue we had was with ordering a movie in the room... we had an issue with our TV and I spent 45 minutes on the phone talking to 3 different employees who tried to re-set the system and they finally sent up maintenance. I was assured the charge would be taken off our bill ($17 for one movie) but it was on the next day. I had to fight a little to have it taken off which was a little ridiculous after all the trouble we went through just to get it ordered!

One thing to note is to be sure to ask which "tower" your room is in... we took the wrong elevator and walked around aimlessly for quite a while- study the map first or ask :)

Again- overall we liked our stay- great room, good location, quiet, etc but the movie issue put a little damper on our "stay in" night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and see if you can be upgraded to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachGirl711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654-4410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $89 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing